Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Bremerton, WA
Students enrolled: 455

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


West Hills Elementary 5

Posted September 21, 2014
- a parent
I cannot say enough about the quality of education my children are receiving at West Hills STEM Academy. Principal Lisa Heaman leads with care and believes every student can have success. The teachers are passionate about what they are doing. They are innovative and teach with enthusiasm. After struggling at two other elementary schools in Kitsap County, my kids are thriving. There is nothing better than seeing your children excited to get up each morning, picking out their uniform with pride, and talking non-stop at the end of each day about all the exciting things they want to do when they grow up! They are being exposed to engineering and hands-on science, with monthly career excursions that ignite their minds. My son is a 7th grader with world views and enjoys in-depth discussions in History. He is exposed to graphic design and project planning, which has him considering school leadership. My daughter is in a 1st/2nd split Montessori class (available on the same campus) and is proud of her engineering and math abilities. I love that at 6 years old, she already talks of becoming a doctor. They are being taught how to make their dreams achievable.

West Hills Elementary 5

Posted August 22, 2014
- a parent
We love this school!! I wish the rating on this site worked differently since there are so few reviews. Even though in the last 6 years, all were very positive except one, the score is low. The program is exceptional. Its very well rounded, but of course has a focus of STEM principles. The work is superior in comparison with their peers from other schools. I highly recommend this school.


West Hills Elementary 5

Posted June 04, 2014
- a parent
Excellent programs and dedicated teachers. I am sorry Greatschools scoring works the way it does because it doesn't tell the whole story of this amazing school

West Hills Elementary 1

Posted August 19, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has been at this school since kindergarten. This coming year they have decided to cut the inclusion special education program. I guess they don't want to lower their test scores or something. This is clear discrimination!

West Hills Elementary 5

Posted October 23, 2012
- a parent
My daughter has attended West Hills S.T.E.M. (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math) Academy for 3 years. She is currently in the 7th grade and we LOVE it! This is the first school in the Bremerton School District and one of a few in the state to be a S.T.E.M. school. The school is currently expanding to be a Pre-K through 8th grade. There is already development to add a wing onto the building. The staff are highly qualified and the principal is top notch. They have great academic curriculum and a fabulous after school robotics club. I chose this school for my daughter because I believe that careers in the S.T.E.M. field is our future, and because I trust the staff and the principal at the school will give my daughter the skills she needs to succeed as an adult. I also know that they will treat her with respect and will take care of her when she is at school. I would, and do, recommend West Hills S.T.E.M. Academy to every parent in the Bremerton School District!


West Hills Elementary 5

Posted August 30, 2011
- a parent
This is a great school my son learned a lot and was excited to go back each day. There is a lot of opportunity for the students there! The staff and teachers really care about the students. I would definitely recommend this school!!

West Hills Elementary 0
no rating

Posted September 22, 2009
- a community member
I love West Hills because we (preschool) are made to feel like part of the big school.We participate at lunch and West Hills students are great examples for the preschoolers to aspire to.

West Hills Elementary 0
no rating

Posted September 19, 2009
- a parent
We have the best teachers in the district.


West Hills Elementary 5

Posted September 18, 2009
- a teacher
It's school that is dedicated to the education and well being of their kids!

West Hills Elementary 0
no rating

Posted September 18, 2009
- a community member
New administration is tops and new direction of Library is great.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Hills Elementary
520 South National Ave, Bremerton, WA  98312
(360) 473-4600
Last modified West Hills Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
West Hills Elementary Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top