Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kitsap Lake Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
Thank you Mr. Wilson, Mrs. Youngker, Mrs. Matattivi, and Denean Slate! You are doing a fantastic job!

Kitsap Lake Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
I think that they would benefit from weekend and holiday break homework. But, I put them on abcya.com to keep their minds active.


Kitsap Lake Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
Boy! The Highly Capable Teacher Mrs. Jennifer Youngker, is really motivating. She doesn't take excuses from the children and my son is very responsible at home to reading 20 minutes, having me sign his reading log, etc... He wants to stay on task, on target and keep up with his classmates and the classroom expectations.

Kitsap Lake Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
Soaring Eagle Program, leadership examples, Teachers input in the classrooms....I'm a school volunteer so I see it in action!

Kitsap Lake Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
Based on the leadership examples and teacher interactions that I have seen, I would strongly agree that the school is developing compassion, caring and empathy for its students and families.


Kitsap Lake Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
I like the way the school recognizes the children to identify high character traits. They get to be a Soaring Eagle if caught in action.

Kitsap Lake Elementary School 5

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
My children love their school! They have adapted well because of the staff! We just moved to WA this fall 2015, and started school late. My twins fit right in. We were a transfer and the Bremerton School District, Principal, Teachers and Receptionists ALL COLLECTIVELY made my twins transition VERY smooth! My daughter is thriving in the Montessori Program on campus. My son, was tested and was placed in the 2/3 Highly Capable Program. They both love their teachers and school! We love Mr. Wilson, the Principal and how welcoming he is to all the students. He remembers their names and is really cool. Denean Slate, in the front office has really been super sweet and helpful to work with...she is always so calm. The little white therapy dog, that sits at the front desk is a nice feature too. We don't have any problem children in the classrooms. The computer lab is new and huge, and the library is VERY spacious. Even the Librarian are super helpful! We also are enjoying Family Nights, and The Book Fair was amazing! My seven year old completed his first organized book report. He completed a rough draft by sections, and then typed each section on the computer, adding clip art, and coloring a book cover. Then, organizing it all into a binder, in plastic sheets. Other children did creative cardboard displays. Plenty of opportunities to grow and to make learning fun! It's nice the kids can take a bus to the Boys and Girls Club if I need them to, and can walk to the Good News Class on campus on Wednesday's after early out.

Kitsap Lake Elementary School 1

Posted August 03, 2014
- a parent
We did not have a good experiences while going there. I don't understand what people are saying when they say it's so great. It's not. The Kindergarden teacher pretty much rail roaded my daughter, yelling at her on her first day of school in front of other parents. Totally inappropriate. Not off to a great start. 1st grade was better. 2nd grade, the teacher was ok, but the class sizes are so big, she kind of got lost in the crowd. Also also the front office lady, gives a children a hard time for being late when it's not a childs fault. Why don't you talk to the parent instead of lecturing the child? Picking up your child is a nightmare. The principal stands out in the parking lot trying to wave cars through when there's no where for you to go. It doesn't help anything by doing that, just adding pressure to parents trying to pick up their kids. Honestly, it will work itself out. They don't let you park off to the side, out of the way. They want you to circle around like an airport. The school she goes to now, is a much better fit. She loves going to school now, her grades are awesome and is more out going. Leaving Kitsap Lake was the best decision we ever made.


Kitsap Lake Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 20, 2009
- a parent
My son left this school after two years. The teachers and staff were snobby. The learning environment is not very accomodating. It is not as great as everyone says that it is, but because of their test score reputation, and the nice new building, people think that it must be great. It irritates me when people say how wonderful it is because it's really not. If your child doesn't fit in with their 'perfect' expectations, then don't bring your child there. In my opinion this school is by far not the best!

Kitsap Lake Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
Our school has wonderful, dedicated staff and you can see that reflected in our children. They are happy to be here and ready and willing to learn. Glad to be a part of a great school like this!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kitsap Lake Elementary School
1111 Carr Blvd, Bremerton, WA  98312
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. (360) 473-4300
Last modified Kitsap Lake Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top