Advertisement
Advertisement

Our Lady Star of the Sea School

Private | PK-8 | 170 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Bremerton

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $135,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $940.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 22, 2013

We have three kids in attendance at OLSOS. The priest gives phenomenal Friday homilies that educate, inspire, and meet kids where they're at. The principal is outstanding, and the teachers really seem to care while providing a quality education. OLSOS also provides a one of a kind PE program which we believe helps our kids perform better in the classroom and in life in general. Our family has had a very good experience and find the size of this school perfect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2011

We have graduated our 2nd child from this school. The academics and religious standards are unbeatable. The teacher, parent and parish involvement is huge and unmatchable. The students are respectful and intelligent leaders of today and tomorrow. We get very good communication from the pastor, faculty and staff and always feel heard. It is a very close-knit community that values superior education and holds the school to that high standard. We have a beloved retiring principal this year and are excited about the qualifications and fervor of our new principal for the coming year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2011

Our Lady Star of the Sea School is an excellent opportunity for children to receive a quality education that is integrated with the teachings of the Catholic Church and has a tuition structure below any other private school in Kitsap County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2011

I have found Our Lady Star of the Sea Catholic School to be excellent in the following areas: 1. The Catholic Faith is part of the curriculum, the school prays together several times a day as well as weekly Mass geared toward the school children. 2. Excellent WASL/ITBS test scores for all grades 3. Outstanding review & Accredidation by the Northwest Assoc. of Accredited Schools 4. Current textbooks published by the same company so there are no gaps in learning 5. Dedicated & accomplished Staff 6. Family oriented school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2009

We are thrilled with our decision to send our child to Star. The teachers, principal, and staff are wonderful and are genuinely interested in the well being of each student. Teachers are able to meet the needs of individual students and challenge academically gifted students. Extracurricular opportunities are available even for the youngest students in the school and the peer mentoring and small school environment fosters friendships across grade levels. Parent involvement is high and it is wonderful to know that other parents care about your child's school as much as you do. My child wakes up every day excited about school--she loves Star and so do we!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2009

This is a wonderful school. I did not realize how well our school did on the WASL and the ITBS tests until we found the scores on all the schools in general. Thank you Star for having wonderful teachers. I really liked Mrs.St.Hilaire as our home room teacher. She taught us extremly well on respect and many other things.Mr.Keally is also a wonderful teacher. I have to admit that we need to give more respect to the Junior High teachers. Our teachers all care about us. I am glad.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 24, 2009

I disagree with the parent who said that the junior high teachers do not teach. Although I know what the parent is talking about, the math teacher, Mrs. Rising, does an excellent job of teaching math. However, I agree with the parent about the other junior high teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 28, 2009

I have been going to Our lady star of the sea for 9 years and will graduate at soon. Though those years it has taught me great values such as faith, WASL/ITBS prep, respect, and more! Our lady star of the sea has served Kitsap County since 1926-2009 and will continue to do so. It has done a lot to prepare student for the future. The teachers are wonderful, kind, and they really care about the students. Overall, going to star has done a lot to prepare me for my future.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 25, 2008

We were highly disappointed in this school. Faith education is adequate but the academics are much higher in the surrounding public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2008

I have 2 children in the school. My oldest started in kindergarten and is now in his last year. He has had his ups and downs but has received tremendous peer and teacher support. The school is very small and everybody looks out for each other. His teachers from earlier grades continue to follow his progress and comment on his growth and maturity as a person. I disagree with the last parent regarding the perception of disrespect. I would take anyone of these kids to be my own. They are caring and sensitive. They show respect for themselves, their school, and their teachers. My children are much closer to their Catholic faith and identity as a result of Star. Our principal, Mrs. Merriwether is open and proactive. The lessons my children have learned from this school will stay with them as they become caring, compassionate, and constructive adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2007

The teachers in the 6th - 7th grade do not teach. They simply give assignments out of the book. There seems to be little classroom management and students are often disrespectful to the teachers. Christian values expected and taught are questionable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2007

This parish and school were amazing to be a part of. The school staff had excellent communication between each other, as well as parents. The education my children received while we were there was first rate. The parents were active and welcoming. Parish itself? Traditional! Loved it. MsJessica
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

I am a grandparent raising a grandchild, Marryssa, difficult and rewarding. The principal (at that time), Mr. Glen Lutz, the Kindergarten teacher, Mrs. Panuco, and her 1st grade teacher, Mrs. Kathy Lofstedt made the transition smooth and all were so understanding and made my granddaughter's personal and educational well-being a priority. She has been involved in Spanish, music, sign language, French club, and the necessities of life. Her best friends parent's made me feel welcome and warm. She is now facing open heart surgery as she was to enter the second grade. No words can express the care of the staff, parents, and children in her class. The new principal, Mrs. Merriweather, was the angel that I needed at the time I needed it. Would I change Marryssa to another school? NO! Polly Bandy
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 64%
Two or more races 16% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 6% N/A
Asian 5% N/A
Hispanic 3% 16%
Black 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (360) 616-4727

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Seattle
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1516 Fifth St
Bremerton, WA 98337
Website: Click here
Phone: (360) 373-5162

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Alliance Academy
Bremerton, WA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT