Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mountain Meadow Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 426 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

Mountain Meadow Elementary has an outstanding team of caring professionals. Their communication is great. They take the extra steps to make sure the children feel welcome and safe.


Posted September 26, 2013

I have nothing but positive things to say about Mountain Meadow. The teachers and staff truely care and want to help your child succeed. Im a very happy parent and will be sending my second child there in 2 more years when he is old enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

Most importantly, my daughter loves this school. I love that we've felt welcome. They have great programs like early kindergarten for the young and eager learner, and recently instituted all day kindergarten for all because it's what benefits the children best. My daughter's first year at this school was such a wonderful experience thanks to her great teacher and all the staff at Mountain Meadow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

My three children have gone to Mountain Meadow. I love this place! Excellent teaching staff, lots of parent volunteers and a positive atmosphere that encourages our children to do and be their best. The school facility itself is very nice as well. I feel very blessed that my children were fortunate to begin their educational experience here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2013

My son loves Mountain Meadow Elementary! The teachers and staff are truly committed to the students. They have a good balance of compassion and accountability and hold their students to those same standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2013

Mountain Meadow is an outstanding school. The staff is very caring and hold students accountable for their behavior and give opportunities for all kids to learn. I waivered my own children into the district so they could attend. Mountain Meadow is a school with many children waivered in. It is a top school in test scores and professional development. It truly is a Great School!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 2, 2013

Mountian Meadow is a wonderful place for our children. The staff is very committed to our childrens learning and overall school experience. The parent support, through classroom help and our PTA organization is also amazing and a wonderful benefit to our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2006

Great school! The staff and teachers really care about the kids in all the grade levels at this school. My youngest daughter has attended Mountain Meadow since KG and we have been very happy with her education and care she receives. I will be sad to see her move onto the middle school next year but know that they given her a great learning and social foundation to suceed. They have a wonderful drumming program that our daughter is involved in and we really enjoy the concerts and how it has enriched our lives. The staff at Mt. Meadow always encourages parent involement with the school and I was a litte taken back when I volunteered for the last field trip and the teacher had to relay the new to many of us that she had too many chaperones, you don't come across that everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2005

Great playground in comparison to other schools
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2005

The principal is awesome and she has hired wonderful staff. The only change I would make is an extra curriculum spanish program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2005

This is my childs second year in MM, we moved out of district and started this year at another school but after much frustration we went back to MM. The principle is amazing and makes each child feel very speacial. The Staff really strives to encourage all children to do there very best and helps them every step of the way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2004

Myself and my children have gone to this school. It is a wonderful school for kids to grow up in. I think that with all the learning that my children do they will gorw up to be doctors or lawyers.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 14, 2003

My childern have been going to this school for six years. I would not chance a thing. The staff is very nice and polite. The principal goes into the classes to help the kids. The way the staff treats the kids and family is the best I have ever seen. I would recommened this school to anyone who ask about it.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students65%
Female60%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Low income52%
Not low income72%
Special educationn/a
Not special education72%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students86%
Female83%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Low income84%
Not low income87%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students89%
Female87%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Low income72%
Not low income94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female94%
Male66%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Low income61%
Not low income86%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students87%
Female96%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Low income78%
Not low income89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students80%
Female70%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income60%
Not low income85%
Special education40%
Not special education86%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students93%
Female95%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Low income93%
Not low income92%
Special education70%
Not special education96%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students81%
Female78%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Low income60%
Not low income86%
Special education50%
Not special education86%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 60%
Hispanic 7% 20%
Two or more races 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 7%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 11%N/A8%
Special education 119%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 230%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 21N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 13N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 65%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11812 Mundy Loss Rd
Buckley, WA 98321
Website: Click here
Phone: (360) 829-6047

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT