Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

White River High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 16, 2011

White River High School has a lot to be proud of. Supportive teachers and staff, innovative administrators, a wide variety of class offerings support for students at all levels, various avenues for student involvement, and great coaches and sports teams. Go Hornets!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 15, 2011

I am a current student at White River High School and I love it, every school has its flaws and problems but WRHS has turned around a lot from when I was a freshman. We now do the Rachel's Challenge every school year and I believe that the school's bullying and everything has gone down a lot, there are less fights at school. GO WRHS :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 6, 2011

I don't get why people say this school is the WORST school ever. Every school has it's drug problems, and flaws. You tell me ONE school where EVERY student is a little angel, and EVERY teacher is sent from above. Can't think of one, huh? Most of my teachers are very inspiring academically, and personaly. I've learned many new things this year, and all of my teachers push us to strive for perfection. I'm proud to be a WRHS student and look forward to the years to come. P.S: Our school could use a little more parent involvement. Yes, I'm talking to you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 22, 2008

white river seems to be the best school out there, to me anyways.. the people here are so real and down to earth. i went to bonney lake and i couldnt stand the snobbiness and how much the other students were torwards others. i love everything about my school, flaunts and all. the teachers are great and the clubs/sports are amazing. its a great all-around kind of school but its the students that i will never forget, even after 10 years of graduation.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 28, 2008

This is my 10th year teaching at White River High School. I am very proud of my school and of the education and caring about students that we offer. Every school has it's pros and cons, and you have to look at both in order to give a true rating. White River has, and continues to have, growing pains. We are not teaching to just the town of Buckley any more. Times are changing and we are growing, the community needs to embrace that fact. The administration and teachers at White River work hard for our students and we will continue to do so. As a teacher the most frustrating things for me are student apathy and lack of parent support. Hard work and dedication pay! It is discouraging to read some of the parent posts on this site. Wouldn't it be interesting if there was a site to rate parents???
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 4, 2007

While my high school experience was not perfect, I fondly look back on my four years spent at WRHS. I made many lasting friendships with other students and especially the staff. There are numerous teachers who want to be there and who make a difference daily in the lives of the students. The community is really supportive of the sports programs, but the support is lacking when it comes the arts. There is little college prep at the school but that is due to lack of demand.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 15, 2007

great school they really help the children
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2007

White River has been experiencing major disciplinary and teacher issues. All of which are very concerning. Their special ed math program is questionable, at best. Some teachers more less mature than their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2007

I see that the best scores have all been given by current or graduated students. I think I shall be the one to break the mold. White River High School has major issues with discipline and student expectations. If a student misbehaves, their disciplinary system is far too forgiving and with gaping loop-holes. As a student of White River High School, I do not recommend this school to others. It may look beautiful on the outside, but the inside, the students, are rotten to the core.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2006

White River High School has difficulty in protecting our children and with administering discipline in incidents of bullying. Administrators neglect to follow through or to investigation allegations in a timely manner. My family and I have been thoroughtly disappointed in this process and worry about the possibility of tragedy resulting from the lack of immediate attention to such serious matters.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2005

This high school is one of the better schools in washington because of all their programs available to children. But you have to be a perfect student for the school to work for you. So as long as your child is perfect and does not have a problems it is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 18, 2005

As a White River High School graduate and now a college freshman I would say that this school has a great community built around it. There are also some amazing and inspiring teachers there. On the other hand, WRHS did not prepare me for college. The math curriculum is better than average, but the sciences need to be improved dramatically. It's amazing how far behind I have been at college in physics and chemistry. Students need to read more in their classes and teachers should be better instructed in how to take advantage of block scheduling. Maybe the new administration will correct some of problems.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 13, 2004

I was an exchange student at White River in 2000. I know it has been quiet a while but I'm still thinking about my old school a lot and wanted to let everybody know that White River is a great school! It's wonderful how the teachers care for the students and I don't remember one day of school that I didn't enjoy while going there. Out of 14 years of school (no worries, in Germany it's normal to attend school this long) my WRHS year was the best. The program offered to kids is really good and classes are fun and educating. The best school I've ever been to!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 25, 2004

I graduated in 2004 and have gone all four years. I participated in cross country and track which was a great experience because the coaches were eager to help you in anything you wished. Their teachers are excellent in allowing you to challenge yourself. Actually this gave me the opportunity to participate in the Running Start program which allowed me to get into the University of Washington this fall. Although that could be seen as a downfall because they didnt offer classes that I wanted to take to expand my knowledge in a particular subject(s). The counselors were also great at helping you find your career - thats how I found my love for Marine Biology. Also, this school is constantly growing and helping students get into great colleges. In fact 6 people I know got into the UW and many more got into other great schools.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 22, 2004

I went to white river high school 1999-2003. I just wanted to say that White River High School was the best High school I could have gone to. I was actually on this site to look up email address of some of my old teachers because 1 year and 5 months later I still think about White River. All teachers at WRHS are perfect. They make students feel like they have developed a personal relationship while still maintaining a professional relationship as well. I guess what I am saying is I admire the teachers and the also inspired me to be somebody. Vanessa Granger
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 17, 2004

I am a ninth grader at WRHS. I have gone to WR District my entire life. I agree that all teachers weren't the best but the ones that were are awesome. We have a new principal and vice principal and it has been fun so far this year. I would give this school a thumbs up.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2004

I loved going to this school! Every one of the teachers tried so hard to help every student, even if they weren't theirs. One teacher in particular is Mrs. Campbell. She runs the connections program, which takes high school students and takes them out of their comfort zone and teaches them how to interact with all kinds of people. I was fortunate enough to go through the program twice. I was able to go to an elementary once a week and help some fourth and fifth graders learn new things. The second time i was working with the middle school's special needs students. Out of all the things that i taught them I think they taught me the most important thing. Love everyone. the school is incredible, and I'm proud to have graduated from it!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 17, 2004

For the four years that I went to White River High School, I was sure that it was the worst school in the entire world. I hated being in high school. I felt like a complete loser. Now that I'm an adult and I look back on everything I did in school, I feel pride. I feel honored to have gone to a school that holds the students in such high regard. Every teacher I met knew me. They talked to you as a person, not a mere child. I was given every opportunity to be a great student. I thank those teachers and other staff members for that.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 14, 2004

I attended this school for 4 years. I enjoyed my time here. Every teacher I had worked with me and tried their hardest to see me succeed. I wasn't the best student. But I'm proud of where I went to school, I think they did a great job with me and many of my peers. It was a fun place to be.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 12, 2004

I'm a student at white river HS. I read what one of parents wrote about the school and I just couldn't believe it. I love going to school there, the teachers help in every way they can. Over all, I would reather go to white river then any other school this state has to offer. If any parent out there wants to talk trash about our school, go ahead, I guess we students and our older sports funs are the only ones left with any pride in this town. The one true problem in this school is the lack of parent involvement in the education process, we need more then one or two parents that come to help out.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 54% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 93% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 53% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 96% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 22% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
24%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 66% in 2013.

288 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
76%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 72% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
82%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 28% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 19% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
35%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 35% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
54%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 35% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
38%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 23% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 15% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 34% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 20% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
32%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 18% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students54%
Female54%
Male53%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White52%
Low income55%
Not low income53%
Special education20%
Not special education57%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Geometry

All Students96%
Female96%
Male96%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Low income100%
Not low income95%
Not special education96%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students25%
Female19%
Male30%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White23%
Low income17%
Not low income29%
Special education11%
Not special education33%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Students73%
Female68%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracial83%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Low income62%
Not low income77%
Special education43%
Not special education77%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Geometry

All Students68%
Female63%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Low income59%
Not low income71%
Special educationn/a
Not special education68%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students14%
Female20%
Male8%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White17%
Low income20%
Not low income11%
Special educationn/a
Not special education17%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Students47%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White50%
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education36%
Limited Englishn/a

Geometry

All Students54%
Female50%
Male57%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White51%
Low income53%
Not low income54%
Special educationn/a
Not special education51%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Malen/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2010.

313 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

290 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 50% in 2011.

277 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

287 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the High School Proficiency Exam (HSPE) to test students in reading and writing in grade 10. Math skills are tested by the End-of-Course (EOC) exams. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Reading

All Students85%
Female84%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic88%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Low income75%
Not low income88%
Special education66%
Not special education87%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students87%
Female95%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic77%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low income82%
Not low income88%
Special education72%
Not special education89%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the High School Proficiency Exam (HSPE) to test students in reading and writing in grade 10. Math skills are tested by the End-of-Course (EOC) exams. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 60%
Two or more races 8% 6%
Hispanic 6% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 7%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 10%N/A8%
Special education 113%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 228%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 21N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 10N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 63%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

26928 120th St East
Buckley, WA 98321
Phone: (360) 829-5500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Special Ed School
Enumclaw, WA



Bonney Lake High School
Bonney Lake, WA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT