Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sylvester Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 592 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

Excellent school. I was very impressed with the teachers attention along with the principle for calling me when my son needed to do his class or home work. Had it not been for Sylvester, our son would not have made it out of Middle School and into High School. Great co operation on everyones part. Thank you Sylvester.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2013

This school is great, if your an honors kid... I went to this school and personally my experience was so-so. Language arts (great) amazing teachers History (basic) teachers are mediocre Science (basic) teachers are mediocre Math (terrible!) teacher was great, but he seemed like he had no teaching experience what so ever! I had asked to move to a higher math class but there was only one algebra 1 class ! How ridicules. Health(basic) Teachers are on also basic Physical education (basic) good teaching,and basic. Electives (great) the teachers are nice if your good, these classes almost seem like the most informative. Overall this school isn't great , it honestly sucks. As a student I'm glad I'm out of that school. They don't even have avid..


Posted August 27, 2011

its a nice comfortable environment the staff works hard to give the stu8dents the best education in the world and they have a nice caring strong relationship with the students


Posted May 17, 2010

The teachers are caring and smart. The principal is very political and detracts from the learning and good work of the teachers. I would like to see more parent involvement - again that falls on the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

It's the greatest school in the world, nothing is better! Thank you Sylvester. It even improved my grades alot!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 16, 2008

I teach math at SMS, and I love it. The staff works very well together to ensure that every student has a chance at being successful. The District offers many opportunities to improve teaching practices, keep current on research, and to increase content knowledge. I was also a student at Sylvester; I teach there now, that might speak for itself.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 25, 2008

i went there and it wasn't really that great. some of the teachers were really rude and couldn't control the class. i went to cascade middle school and it not true that it is bad and i wen t there and now i'm going to wetern university.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 15, 2007

I attended sms both years and am heading off to seattle preparatory. This is indeed the best school in the highline school district. This middle school's honors program is amazing. We went to washington D.C. For spring break & learned more than imagined. The memories are gold. There is also an avid program. All the teachers are caring & great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2007

My child goes to this school because it is the best in the district. Before she went to Cascade middle school and didn't like it: not very good teachers and not enough dicipline and education is too easy. This school has much better teachers that are more involved with the students and a good choice of electives, wich everyone likes. I recomend this middle school over the other middle shcools in the district!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2004

We are very impressed with the teacher and staff commitment and willingness to work with the students and parents. We are especially thankful for the extra efforts of Ms. Fernley, Ms. Raney & Ms. Hacker to ensure our child's academic success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2003

Sylvester has some great teachers; they are concerned about their student's education more so then other middle school teachers in the district. I have been consistently impressed by their ability to get through to students that others couldn't. I can't say enough to express the commitment that these teachers display on a day-to-day basis. Extra kudos to Mr. Dennerline and Ms. Leonard as they go that extra step to get involved in their students learning experience. If all or most teachers had the commitment to their students as these two do I am sure that teachers would have much higher esteem and salary base than they do now. I have not been able to meet his other teachers at length yet because the need hasn't occurred. In other words all of his teachers are doing what they are supposed to do and I am impressed! Thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

316 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

316 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

309 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

308 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

308 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

310 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students60%
Female63%
Male56%
Black37%
Asian79%
Asian/Pacific Islander70%
Hispanic47%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander43%
White77%
Low income51%
Not low income81%
Special education9%
Not special education68%
Limited English18%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students58%
Female67%
Male50%
Black37%
Asian79%
Asian/Pacific Islander70%
Hispanic48%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander43%
White69%
Low income51%
Not low income75%
Special education21%
Not special education64%
Limited English15%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students49%
Female60%
Male39%
Black16%
Asian76%
Asian/Pacific Islander70%
Hispanic36%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander50%
White59%
Low income42%
Not low income65%
Special education9%
Not special education55%
Limited English10%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students35%
Female34%
Male36%
Black23%
Asian56%
Asian/Pacific Islander54%
Hispanic24%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander46%
White47%
Low income28%
Not low income50%
Special education2%
Not special education41%
Limited English16%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students64%
Female69%
Male60%
Black69%
Asian81%
Asian/Pacific Islander75%
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander55%
White80%
Low income58%
Not low income77%
Special education21%
Not special education71%
Limited English23%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students55%
Female54%
Male56%
Black45%
Asian71%
Asian/Pacific Islander63%
Hispanic39%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander36%
White77%
Low income44%
Not low income78%
Special education28%
Not special education60%
Limited English3%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 94% in 2011.

29 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 100% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
81%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
96%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students90%
Female87%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White93%
Low income82%
Not low income100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Students97%
Female93%
Male100%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White100%
Low incomen/a
Not low income96%
Not special education97%

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 38% 20%
White 28% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 13% 7%
Two or more races 9% 6%
Black 8% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 115%N/A8%
Special education 113%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 270%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 17N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 11N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 61%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Vicki Fisher

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16222 Sylvester Rd SW
Burien, WA 98166
Phone: (206) 433-2401

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ancillary
Burien, WA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT