Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sylvester Middle School 5

Posted May 02, 2016
- a parent
My daughter is in 8th grade this year and is incredibly sad to leave Sylvester - it is the place she has blossomed as a student. She was always a good student, but the staff here is phenomenal and has shown her the way to become an outstanding student. The diversity in the school is terrific - my daughter is white, but her 4 closest friends are not; whole new worlds have opened up to her through the students she's met here. Wonderful staff, great students - and a special shout-out to Mr. Shorb who has made science fun and engaging to middle school kids. We will miss his guidance and dedication along with the other outstanding teachers at Sylvester. Only sad that we will be moving and my other child won't attend here - hands down the best middle school in the district.

Sylvester Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 02, 2016
- a parent
In addition to the great teachers, I have to say the office staff has been truly great whenever I needed anything. A special thanks to Mr. Marshall in the counseling office. He's one of the few people in Highline who will level with you and give you the unvarnished truth - a real asset.


Sylvester Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 02, 2016
- a parent
Kids are encouraged to push themselves and try again. I also appreciate the support from teachers when kids aren't completely successful.

Sylvester Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 02, 2016
- a parent
At the MLK Day assembly (short, sweet and to the point - rare in middle school!) students of all ethnic backgrounds were represented - it was an inclusive celebration. 40-some countries were represented in terms of student background, many recent immigrants/refugees. Fantastic.

Sylvester Middle School 5

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
Don't judge this book by its cover: Sylvester's physical appearance is bedraggled, but its staff and academic offerings are terrific. I can't say enough positive things about the people who work there from the principal on down. My daughter LOVES this place and has seen terrific academic success. The student diversity in terms of race, socio-economic status and political/religious background gave her the opportunity to study and truly look at issues from a variety of viewpoints. It has been a very rich experience .


Sylvester Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
The challenge program here is phenomenal - the teachers really care about individual students and will go the extra mile to accommodate requests if it means a better outcome for student learning.

Sylvester Middle School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
Excellent school. I was very impressed with the teachers attention along with the principle for calling me when my son needed to do his class or home work. Had it not been for Sylvester, our son would not have made it out of Middle School and into High School. Great co operation on everyones part. Thank you Sylvester.

Sylvester Middle School 2

Posted July 26, 2013
- a community member
This school is great, if your an honors kid... I went to this school and personally my experience was so-so. Language arts (great) amazing teachers History (basic) teachers are mediocre Science (basic) teachers are mediocre Math (terrible!) teacher was great, but he seemed like he had no teaching experience what so ever! I had asked to move to a higher math class but there was only one algebra 1 class ! How ridicules. Health(basic) Teachers are on also basic Physical education (basic) good teaching,and basic. Electives (great) the teachers are nice if your good, these classes almost seem like the most informative. Overall this school isn't great , it honestly sucks. As a student I'm glad I'm out of that school. They don't even have avid..


Sylvester Middle School 5

Posted August 27, 2011
- a community member
its a nice comfortable environment the staff works hard to give the stu8dents the best education in the world and they have a nice caring strong relationship with the students

Sylvester Middle School 3

Posted May 17, 2010
- a parent
The teachers are caring and smart. The principal is very political and detracts from the learning and good work of the teachers. I would like to see more parent involvement - again that falls on the administration.

Nearby schools

Sylvester Middle School
16222 Sylvester Rd Sw, Burien, WA  98166
(206) 631-6000
Last modified Sylvester Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top