Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 80 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


West View Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2012
- a parent
Patience is a virtue. I have two daughters who are English experts enrolled in this school. For the first Primary years of school (K-3) it is expected that the English will not be the primary focus (thus the Dual Language program). Students who's 1st language is English need to gain a firm grasp on the new language they are learning (in order to learn fluency). Yes, tests done in English may show the grade scores as lower, BUT the English speaking students will develop much quicker in the Upper grades as they progress rapidly in their 1st language, English. It is an 8 year commitment to bringing your child to complete Spanish/English fluency. I believe that Dual language schools should not be tested in a State Standard way. Immersion schools should develop a different type of Universal Bi-lingual Test in order to demonstrate that the program is not failing.... It is in fact progressing, beyond one language. I recommend this school if you want your child to gain knowledge beyond one language. The commitment involves the parent being supportive to the school, teachers, students, other parents, and most importantly to their own child's new embarkment of dual language proficiency.

West View Elementary School 1

Posted September 17, 2011
- a parent
This is one of the three poorest performing schools in the state of Washington, based on testing data. The school's enrollment has been in steady decline for the past several years. The district has been propping up enrollment at this school by allowing out-of-district students in its "dual language" program. There has been slight improvement lately in test data, as a percentage. But this is largely because of a very low baseline.


West View Elementary School 2

Posted September 13, 2010
- a parent
My experience with Westview started in 1996 when I was researching schools in town for my son. Westview was recommended hands down because of its great teachers. Both of my children attended Westview from Kindergarten to 8th grade. The changes in the school from 1996 to today are monumental and not in a good way. I don't even recognize the school that my son started in 1996. The Dual Language program is the only emphasis at the school and heaven forbid you should have any questions about it. The principal will suggest you transfer to a different school in the district. There are still really good teachers at Westview but the best keep transfering to other schools and now retiring. I am sad to see what the school has become. I would not recommend it to another parent.

West View Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 10, 2010
- a parent
The dual-language program is awesome!

West View Elementary School 2

Posted May 07, 2010
- a parent
My Child has been at west view since kindergarten and they are now in 5th grade. I feel that this school is doing a commendable thing for the Hispanic community. However the primarily English speaking children at the school are loosing a vital part of their education. I am going to be pulling my child at the end of this year due to continued low test scores, and the inability for my child to learn the subjects that are taught in Spanish. I understand this program was started due to a need for the Spanish students to learn English. However I do not think My child will be ready for high school since they have not learned what they need to be ready for high school. I feel that the idea of the school is great, and that it could be a very positive thing. However at this time, its not.


West View Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 06, 2010
- a parent
West View Elementary houses some of our poorest children in our community. It is major need of a new playground that is safe and clean for our children to be able to play and be active. Also, West View provides an envioronment for all children and families. They have an excellent dual-language program for children to grow and learn two large cultures in our community. This opens doors for many students in their futures.

West View Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 05, 2010
- a community member
A tremendous caring attitude for their strudents. A commitment to provide a good education despite many barriers. The students are terrific!

West View Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 05, 2010
- a community member
West View connects with the children, parents, and community in a deep and vital way. I am with the ESL and GED program at the local Community College so I work with the parents of children at the school. Many of these parents don't yet speak English but they already have a comfort and trust of what West View is doing for their children and the community


West View Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 05, 2010
- a parent
West View provides a great learning environment to students with many barriers to achievement. They deserve the support of the commnity for the tremendous job they are doing in providing a nurturing and caring place where students know they are valued.

West View Elementary School 5

Posted May 03, 2010
- a parent
West View has great teaching & the teachers always have time to help a student out. They do all they can so their student can have a good education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West View Elementary School
515 West Victoria Ave, Burlington, WA  98233
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 80 reviews. (360) 757-3391
Last modified West View Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top