Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 8 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Utsalady Elementary School 1

Posted April 02, 2015
- a parent
What a horrible school! They tell the kids they need to ride the bus on the day they count for funding purposes and try to force kids into assistance programs when its not needed so they receive extra money.

Utsalady Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2014
- a parent
My children have gone to Utsalady Elem. for the past 7 years. I have nothing but great things to say about this school and the staff. They do an extraordinary job teaching and caring for our children.


Utsalady Elementary School 5

Posted January 13, 2014
- a parent
I was very hesitant in placing my son in a public school, but after moving to Camano from a different state, the private school options were very limited in this area. I figured it was at least worth a try being that Utsalady Elementary was rated fairly well. My son has struggled in school, and has recently been diagnosed with ADHD. The principal and his teacher last year and this year have been great. They worked WITH me to help my child, not just tell me that my child is a pain and I need to fix it. My youngest son will be attending Utsalady in the Fall with his big brother, and I am very happy at the thought to have both of my children there. I very much feel that the staff love and care for all of their students. I am not sure I could be any happier, especially considering how hesitant I was to place my child in a public school.

Utsalady Elementary School 3

Posted March 09, 2013
- a parent
This school has really gone downhill in recent years. Budget cuts year after year have led to several program cuts and where there used to be challenging programs and an effort to help every child succeed, now there is only effort to perform on tests to maintain an acceptable rating. The staff and many families are apathetic, the principal shows blatant favoritism to only certain families and students, while neglecting and ignoring those that don't fall on the preferred list. It is a shame that a once great school has deteriorated so much. There are some great teachers that really care and try but even they can't make up for the shortcomings of the rest.

Utsalady Elementary School 3

Posted March 09, 2013
- a parent
This used to be a great school but it has really gone downhill in recent years. Certain staff members are extremely uncaring and apathetic, and the principal in particular shows blatant favoritism to preferred families and students, while neglecting and shaming those deemed unworthy. There are some really great teachers who go above and beyond for the students if you are lucky enough to be with them, but they can't make up alone for the shortcomings of the school in general. Budget cuts and playing favorites have caused a steady decline in quality of education for the students.


Utsalady Elementary School 2

Posted April 30, 2012
- a community member
While there are many wonderful teachers at Utsalady there are a few teachers that unfortunately taint the school and potentially your child's education. If your child is fortunate to get placed with the right teacher you will have no problem. Unfortunately not all teachers in this school remember that they are public school teachers and that all children regardless of their family/economic/social status are entitiled to an education.

Utsalady Elementary School 5

Posted March 07, 2005
- a parent
Utsalady is a wonderful, safe school, full of loving, kind teachers. It has a no bulling policy that is strictly adhered to. I feel very comfortable leaving my children there. I love the staff and the pricipal is always available to listen to comments or complaints. The parents work together to support our school. the music program is amazing with Rich Crouch doing an awesome job teaching all kinds of songs and even teaching the kids some instruments.

Utsalady Elementary School 5

Posted June 08, 2004
- a parent
I have had 4 children attend Utsalady Elementary School and presently have 1 that will attend for 3 more years. I feel they receive not only the best education possible here, but that the principal and teachers really care about the children and helping them learn in a loving caring safe and secure enviroment. This school also has an added spanish program which is optional and is presently a before school enrichment program and enhances the already fabulous ciriculum. I rate this school and staff as 5.

Nearby schools

Utsalady Elementary School
608 Arrowhead Rd, Camano Island, WA  98282
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. (360) 629-1260
Last modified Utsalady Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top