Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Skyridge Middle School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted June 19, 2016
- a parent
Everyone in the office seems to be doing their best. It is up to the rest of us now to help create a school culture that represents our values and goals.

Skyridge Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted June 19, 2016
- a parent
This school teaches Common Core. This is a good thing. There is a period of adjustment to the new curriculum but the teachers are doing fine with the transition. It will get smoother.


Skyridge Middle School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted June 19, 2016
- a parent
This school does not give out homework. This is great for the sports enthusiasts. If you want to keep your kid busy expect to be driving them to a lot of practices, lessons, activities of your own devising.

Skyridge Middle School 5

Posted June 19, 2016
- a parent
Yes, if you are a transplant from California there will be some culture shock. There are some rednecks. Even on staff. However. It is what you make it, and there are enough resources for any child to have a positive learning experience. However. This is not a drag and drop school. New families, do not assume that all or most of the students, parents or staff will share your academic goals or attitudes to discipline. Do not be put off from asking questions of your child, his or her teachers or the administration. You will have to do the driving. Do not let your eyes off the road. There are no really rich kids but many spoiled kids. Sports are emphasized far over Academics. In Sports programs I don't see much emphasis on good sportsmanship.

Skyridge Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 26, 2015
- a parent
They were complete,y disgraceful to my daughter and her conditions.... This school is horrible very very bad


Skyridge Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 26, 2015
- a parent
If your mom is apart of the pto, YIU automatically are put up there it's terrible

Skyridge Middle School 1

Posted July 26, 2015
- a parent
Just ruthless mo need to go into HORRIBLE school, principal did nothing to stop my daughters bullying problems, 4 hours of homework per day

Skyridge Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted July 26, 2015
- a parent
This school has brought nothing but tears to my daughter, crying everyday after school because of the overwhelming amount of homework. Am average of 4 hours of homework per night! The kids were awful to her, but not as worse as the principal doing NOTHING to stop it. We will not be returning this year because of what happened last year.... Great job skyridge.....


Skyridge Middle School 5

Posted May 12, 2014
- a parent
I've been a parent of a Skyridge kid now for two years and I am as impressed now as ever, maybe even more so. Not only does the school seem to have a strong comradere among its students, built around programs like track which enrolls something like nearly 300 of the kids, academics remain strong though not at all overwhelming. How anyone could fail to thrive here is beyond me. In fact, what strikes me when dealing with my daughter and the students in her class is the welcome friendships they have for one another. While there are in any group going to be variants, it seems everyone here is given room to become who they are and who they will be. My own daughter is enrolled in pre-AP and will be going to Poland and is also a self-motivated straight A student. Watching her grow up here is nothing short of a joy.

Skyridge Middle School 1

Posted May 11, 2014
- a parent
Skyridge was an absolute nightmare for my son. The principal is egotistical, incompetent, and negative. His attitude is perpetuated from the top down. The majority of the teachers are burnt out and washed up. There is an abundance of bullying, principal to staff, teacher to student, and student to student. For being a top rated district, it's appalling that Skyridge operates in such a manner. I suppose that if the test scores are good, all must be well, is the prevailing mentality. All is not well and it's only a matter of time before things will have to change. I've experienced middle schools in the area that have more socio-economic and cultural diversity that DO NOT facilitate the negativity and bullying that Skyridge does. There is more compassion and care in treating students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Skyridge Middle School
5220 NW Parker St, Camas, WA  98607
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (360) 833-5800
Last modified Skyridge Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top