Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Illahee Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 744 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 16, 2014

Illahee is great school. Full of caring and supportive teachers. The music program is top notch. Several teachers provide enrichment opportunities after school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2012

I have no problem with the Principal, but want to comment her staff in the office. One day I came there, and one of her staff treats me like a Child. But I am parent of the student. And she does not show any respect nor flexibility. She has a problem on how to communicate to the parents seriously.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2012

Love this school!!! Parents are encouraged to be involved and this has made a huge difference with my daughter's way of looking at school. She had an awful experience at her last school and the teachers at Illahee have given her a whole new outlook on learning. The teachers at Illahee are encouraging rather than critical of their students work. They are even supportive and encouraging to the parents of children that may have a learning disability. They always are quick to offer solutions rather than complaining about their students. This is a complete turn-a-round from the school my daughter first attended. Love them!! Go Illahee!!!! You rock!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2010

We recently moved from Vancouver and my daughter was very sad to be leaving Illahee. It is a great school with teachers who care and a principal who is very much hands. I will miss the positive environment that Illahee has created for my daughter and we will greatly miss everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Principal Joel Hauge leads with a gentleness and calmness needed for such a big elementary school. Great staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2009

I love it and my kids love the school too! My children learn a lot and the have many good and nice friends. They want to stay forever. One of them is going to Shahala Middle School. They are growing up soo fast! By the way give the school a ten! They earned it. Please give them a chance. Please?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

This is a great school where the family is part of the schooling community and learning efforts. Love the teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

Illahee is an amazing school with a real family and community feel! We sometimes have as many as 75 volunteers in our building on a dialy basis! Our PTA rocks! Parents are always welcome and kids are treated with respect, and dignity. Mr. Hauge is an wonderful principal who actually knows childrens names and remembers them and even takes time to have a conversation with them. He is always looking out for safety issues, helps out at school functions and is very hands on as a principal! The teaching staff is great and they have given both my children the learning tools and educational knowledge to become lifelong learners. We feel fortunate to have Illahee as our school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2008

The school is excelent! all of my kids go there and have fun and learn lots! excellent school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2008

About the principal... I love that he is out greeting kids every morning as they arrive at school. He is very visible and involved. My 7-year-old told me recently that she really likes the principal because he makes sure that everyone is nice to each other and everyone is following the rules. My 10-year-old came home from school recently feeling pretty jazzed because the principal saw him (and his friends) playing football at recess, and the principal actually stopped and played with them! I was pretty impressed by that. We love Illahee, and the principal is no exception!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2008

I have two children attending Illahee and could have been extremely happy with Illahee. My kids have had seven of Illahee's teachers, and we have been happy with all but one. They have had six excellent teachers! The overall feel of the school is great--parents welcome. The music program is fantastic. I don't know about special needs programs at Illahee, but I think that would be directed by the district, not Illahee itself, correct? Also, everyone should keep in mind that a given teacher or a given program can be a perfect fit for one child and not for another. Still, we have been pleased with the entire staff, principal, teachers, and the school atmosphere. We love Illahee.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2008

Was very disapointed with this school. Lack of discipline
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2007

I have had two kids go to Illahee and it's is fabulous. We loved the staff and the teachers are excellent. We have moved a lot and gone through several school. This is the best school system we have attended. It's nice to have teacher care for your child and care what they learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2005

We've been thrilled with Illahee for the past three years. The parent involvement is incredible and a real testimony to the welcoming attitude of the faculty. The teachers are excited and motivated. We love it here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2005

My daughters first year at Illahee was 04-05 year. She coming from Image, I was excited about the change, but months after she started this school, I'm very upset, and displeased with the fact there class sizes are big. I think 29 kids is too much. My daughter has a learning disability, and I found out Illahee doesn't offer Title 1. Thank God she qualifies for learning disability classes, but what would happen if she didn't qualify? Where is the middle ground, does a student struggle, if they don't qualify for learning disabilities? My son will be starting Illahee next fall. I'm now worrying about him attending Illahee, big class sizes, and what if he needs that extra boost of Title 1. What if he doesn't qualify for Learning disabilities, who's going to help me son?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2004

This school is the best school that any of my kids have ever gone to! The school is brand new, the staff is handpicked to perfection. Even the school secretary is perfect for the kids. It just couldnt be any better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2004

Illahee is a wonderful school. I have one child there and he loves the school and the teachers. They have always made me feel welcome and have invited me to volunteer when I have the time. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2004

We need to be very careful with,'Special Needs' kids/parents. If the school separates these kids to offer them the one-on-one instruction time that they may need, they are called insensitive,irresponsible and disorganized. If they do not they are the same. How are they to deal with this issue? We do not have a 'Special Needs' kid but, we do have a kid who needs to feel special. This is not the responsibility of illahee or any school district. It is our responsibilty. Eric Haynes
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2004

This school may be ok for typical children, but as for their special needs program, it lacks structure and academic instruction. The teacher and principal encourage segregation from the rest of the children. This program couldn't be farther from the word inclusion! Our family is very disappointed with this school and the program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2004

I have 2 children attending Illahee and they both love it. Their teachers are really good and the school seems to encourage parent involvement. Our expereince has been great with Illahee and I would recommend this school to other parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students72%
Female68%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asian91%
Asian/Pacific Islander92%
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Low income57%
Not low income76%
Special educationn/a
Not special education76%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female81%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asian87%
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanic73%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Low income68%
Not low income85%
Special educationn/a
Not special education85%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students71%
Female72%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asian74%
Asian/Pacific Islander75%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Low income52%
Not low income76%
Special education13%
Not special education78%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female86%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asian78%
Asian/Pacific Islander79%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Low income64%
Not low income88%
Special education38%
Not special education88%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students51%
Female66%
Male36%
Blackn/a
Asian63%
Asian/Pacific Islander61%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White47%
Low income33%
Not low income56%
Special education13%
Not special education56%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students65%
Female59%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asian82%
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanic39%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Low income52%
Not low income69%
Special educationn/a
Not special education69%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female79%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asian88%
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanic61%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Low income71%
Not low income82%
Special educationn/a
Not special education83%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students85%
Female83%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asian82%
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanic78%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Low income81%
Not low income86%
Special educationn/a
Not special education88%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 16% 7%
Hispanic 11% 20%
Two or more races 7% 6%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 19%N/A8%
Special education 19%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 224%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 17N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 10N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 78%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

19401 SE 1st St
Camas, WA 98607
Phone: (360) 604-3350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT