Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tolt Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 733 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 7, 2013

I don't know how anyone can rate this school less than 5 stars. My child is thriving in this positive environment with teachers that are fully engaged with their students and passionate about teaching. The new principal is fantastic and is out with the kids constantly talking with them. I wish I would have had as great experience at this age level as my daughter is. I volunteer there and the energy is positive, the kids are polite and happy (for the most part) and I love being there and seeing their smiling faces... Couldn't be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2013

After 3 awful years at this school I am glad to be out. The teachers can be nice, but some can be inappropriate. The (former) principle shows no care in a students learning and does not explain what happens, it just happens, and also does not agree with a student moving up a higher level while the student is in a lower grade. The vice principle is flat out rude. This person treats students and parents like small children and has no care for a students well being unless they are in a sport. All in all, not a good place to be, the only upside is the good teachers and awesome councilors. Sadly, I would say do not send your children here, it is not a good experience.


Posted November 29, 2010

'Wonderful place. My student has really enjoyed all the classes and support. The age group is a tough one but the entire staff there really cares. I've been impressed by how willing everyone is to help out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2010

2 of our kids have gone through TMS and we have 2 more to go. I would say, it's a good, 'average' or 'typical' middle school. The good qualities are the kids - relatively safe environment (rural area) with parent envolvement - when allowed by the admin. Overall, the level of creativity and programs at this school, with the exception of the one Multiage Program, is very limited. The admin. seems afraid to do anything outside the box. For example, your child basically only has 2 choices in 3 years of school for electives, band for 3 years or 'Strand' - which has now been watered down to 3 lame 'leadership/study skills/life skills' classes - which in my opinion are a waste of time. Very little arts and creativity offered! Disappointing since the kids get some much of this (arts) in the elementary level. Leadership - rarely see the principals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

This is our first year at Tolt MS. So far both my daughter and I are really enjoying it. She does say some of the teachers are 'strict', but I'm ok with that. Any thing that I felt was inappropriate has een dealt with immeadiatley. I am ahppy to be there so far!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

My student started there recently and I have to give the office staff rave reviews. They have consistently been available, proactive, kind and sensitive. As a new family I have a very good impression of the adults who will be responsible for my child when they are not in class. The other adults/parents have also been very open and greeted us with, 'You must be new here?'. Generally a friendly greeting and lots of dads around. Parents showed up all over the place to help out on the first day of school too. My student was adopted by a group of returning students and had someplace to sit the first day at lunch. What a relief. Things are going very well so far. My student is excited about the classes and what the teachers had to say about what they would be learning. Well begun is half done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2007

My daughter is entering 7th grade at Tolt this fall. I'm hoping this year will be better. My daughter had hours of homework every night, most of it mindless worksheets and crossword puzzles. She is a gifted student and she was so frustrated - there is no gifted classes available (aside from appropriate level Math) until 8th grade; they do offer 'honors' LA but it's just more homework done outside of class, with no help from a teacher. The so-called electives (one period of 4 rotating options) are only available to students not in band. All in all, very disappointing, especially after the wonderful experience my daughter had at Carnation Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2006

As a former student of Tolt Middle School, I have to say for all the parents, students,and faculty reading this that there are better schools out there. You would think will with all the security cameras they paid for the school would be any safer? As for the teachers, there is a couple great teachers there. The rest of the teachers act like they don't care, or they just don't want to be there. The curriculum there at the school isn't that great either.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 19, 2006

My biggest concern about sending my child to Tolt Middle School was the other children and the cruellness that often accompanies this age group. I was proven wrong because I should have been focusing my worries on the teachers instead! During my first teachers' conference I was in shock to hear his 'team' of teachers, all three of them, complain to me how my son asked too many questions. They infact inferred to me that perhaps he had a 'problem' and was seeking out attention by his questions. This was the fist conference I had ever attended where the teachers did not appauld my childs curiousity and questions!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2005

No program for accelerated learners, just additional homework and some after school instruction.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

242 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

242 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

252 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

253 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

249 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

229 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

229 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

229 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students70%
Female70%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic47%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Low income47%
Not low income75%
Special education12%
Not special education74%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female89%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic63%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Low income65%
Not low income91%
Special education24%
Not special education91%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students76%
Female76%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic52%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income56%
Not low income81%
Special education25%
Not special education82%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students78%
Female82%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic56%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Low income56%
Not low income84%
Special education22%
Not special education85%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students79%
Female89%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic63%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Low income67%
Not low income82%
Special education25%
Not special education85%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students59%
Female60%
Male58%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic30%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Low income42%
Not low income63%
Special education13%
Not special education64%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female85%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Low income65%
Not low income86%
Special education30%
Not special education87%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students74%
Female75%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic30%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Low income54%
Not low income79%
Special education22%
Not special education80%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 94% in 2011.

15 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 100% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students98%
Female100%
Male96%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White98%
Low incomen/a
Not low income98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Femalen/a
Male100%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White100%
Low incomen/a
Not low income100%
Not special education100%

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 60%
Hispanic 12% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 7%
Two or more races 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 11%N/A8%
Special education 111%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 222%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 19N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 10N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 69%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3740 Tolt Ave
Carnation, WA 98014
Phone: (425) 844-4603

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Parade
Carnation, WA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT