Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Stillwater Elementary School 5

Posted June 05, 2015
- a community member
Fantastic school, fantastic staff. My boys have been enrolled since Kindergarten (now 3rd grade) and they have nothing but great things to say about everyone they're in contact with. As a parent, this school has exceeded all of my expectations. The teachers are approachable, the staff is firm but fair, and community is actively involved. The other review about kids being "forced out" is internet hogwash. The school theme is "kind words and actions," and anti bullying and discrimination is actively taught and enforced. I speak with a lot of the parents, as it's a small community, and I've never (not once) heard anyone have a bad thing to say about the school. It's wonderful.

Stillwater Elementary School 2

Posted January 16, 2015
- a parent
If your child is able to sit through class, tests well, and is socially adjusted, then this is the school for you. But if your child is active, easily distracted, and has difficulty socializing, then be prepared to be 100% proactive in the success of your child, and expect to battle negative reinforcement - not just from other students, but from adults as well. This school, and to a small extent the social culture, does not support students with learning difficulties unless you get someone to slap a label on your child, even when they don't really need one.


Stillwater Elementary School 5

Posted May 07, 2014
- a parent
My daughter attends Stillwater and we have been very happy. She has shown great improvement over the year, and has a very enthusiastic and effective teacher. The principal is very nice and involved in all the events. The events have been great as well, especially the annual STEM night.

Stillwater Elementary School 1

Posted November 14, 2013
- a parent
Very poorly run school, kids who are the race , religion, or different are forces out.

Stillwater Elementary School 1

Posted November 14, 2013
- a teacher
This school practices a systematic program of running out kids who have a handicap or don't fit the mix. . Bottom line, if you have a choice to go to another school, do so because there are very few desirable things about Stillwater. There are a handful of decent teachers but the principle sorely lacks any leadership skills. This school in my opinion would rate about a 2.


Stillwater Elementary School 5

Posted October 10, 2013
- a parent
My middle school aged and 5th grade sons attended/attend Stillwater Elementary. They have been so happy in that school. They have received excellent grades all the time and also in the State's Tests they are always in the advanced scores and high quality standards and programs.

Stillwater Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
My kids love the school and principal! My kids have received excellent grades and test scores.

Stillwater Elementary School 4

Posted April 30, 2013
- a parent
My son is a first grader and he loves going to school every day. Teachers and staffs at Stillwater ES are very dedicated and friendly. You can already feel the positive atmosphere when you enter the front door of the school. I have been volunteering for two years and I see many parent helpers ever time I go to school. I am particularly proud of its school library. It is the place where every student is stimulated and driven to read and learn and relaxed. The librarian and her parent helpers have been working tremendously hard to make the library not just an ordinary library but also a place like a science center/ a museum/ an art gallery where children discover new things and know deeper. I am one hundred confident that students are being well take care of every moment they are at school.


Stillwater Elementary School 5

Posted April 19, 2013
- a parent
My high school aged son and 4th grade daughter attended/attend Stillwater Elementary. All the teachers and specialists my children have had have been caring, hard working and hands-on educators. However I've had some concern in recent years with the lack of involvement and poor leadership of the former principal. Now there is a new Principal (Jack Madigan), things have improved tremendously. Stillwater is (now) a well-run school that provides its students with great learning opportunities, excellent staff and has positive parent/community involvement.

Stillwater Elementary School 2

Posted September 21, 2010
- a parent
After moving out of the district this past year and going to a school that is rated a 10, the differences are incredible. Bottom line, if you have a choice to go to another school, do so because there are very few desirable things about Stillwater. There are a handful of decent teachers but the principle sorely lacks any leadership skills. This school in my opinion would rate about a 2.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Stillwater Elementary School
11530 320th Ave NE, Carnation, WA  98014
(425) 844-4683
Last modified Stillwater Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Stillwater Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top