Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fords Prairie Elementary School

Public | K-3 | 404 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 30, 2011

Good school. Public schools can only do so much to pay attention to each kid and family. But I am impressed with the effort that the teachers and faciltiy put forth. If you are going to go public, this is a good one in Centralia.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2011

I love this school. They work really hard to make sure to keep you up to date on everything that is going on and they work hard with the kids and no one gets left behind!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

Ford's Prairie has strong academic based programs in reading and math. The focus now seems to be on science. I believe that hands on education for all ages is the best model for schools.My grandson is in the 3rd grade and is reading at 5th grade level. This school gives all children a great start to their educational future.The staff and administration goes above and beyond to make sure all students acheive.


Posted April 16, 2010

Ford's Prairie has very strong programs for children with learning disabilities, and for reading and math skills! My oldest daughter has made enormous progress in math since we transfered her there, and my 1st grade youngest daughter is reading Little Women! I'm confident that my children have received the best start they could have gotten for their future educations!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

My Daughter has Attended FPE for 1 school yeah and is about to enter into her 1st grade school year. The one thing that I love about this school is that the teachers and receptionists all know who I am when I walk in. Everyone is so willing to help my child succeed and they encourage her to always do her best as well as keeping me informed about any triumphs as well as area's where we need to work some more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2008

I would agree with prior review, although how this school is a 4-star escapes me. No music, no performances, resistant to parent involvement/observation. Try another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

My daughter started kindergarten at this school last year. I was quite impressed with both her teacher and the school as a whole. I do wish there had been more opportunities for parent involvement/observation. There were no 'recitals' or performances which was kind of a bummer.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students73%
Female70%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic63%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Low income69%
Not low income81%
Special education27%
Not special education78%
Limited English60%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students70%
Female66%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income68%
Not low income77%
Special education9%
Not special education78%
Limited English60%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 60%
Hispanic 27% 20%
Black 3% 5%
Two or more races 2% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 18%N/A8%
Special education 118%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 282%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • David Roberts

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1620 Harrison Ave
Centralia, WA 98531
Phone: (360) 330-7633

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT