Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Rainier Christian Middle School

Private | 7-8 | 75 students

Our school is best known for excellence in education with a Christian worldview.

 
 

Living in Covington

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $234,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,310.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

Amazing! The staff at RCMS is a special, caring group who love the students who attend! They give so much of themselves daily. Students can come in early or stay late to receive extra help from their teachers. We are also blessed with great kids and families who support our mission: The mission of Rainier Christian Schools is to educate and develop the whole person for the glory of God!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 15, 2013

This school is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am a student at RCMS and the teachers here are amazing! The class sizes are small here. We are the best school ever GO Mustangs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Posted October 15, 2013

This schools is AMAZING!!! I wouldn't want to go anywhere else :) I love the small class sizes and the awesome teachers. They love to interact with us and they make school fun and exciting. I love being in a small school because we get to know everyone and build amazing relationships. If there ever is a problem it is taken care of right away. I love that if something doesn't make sense during a class the teachers will take the time to explain it to us and make sure we understand it. We can also come in before and after school and at lunch time for additional help. GO MUSTANGS!!


Posted January 1, 2013

All of our kids went all the way through Rainier Christian Schools. They had great times at RCMS and developed life-long friends that they still stay in contact with. Academically, RCMS did a great job of preparing them for Rainier Christian High School which thoroughly prepared them for college. (They were well prepared for SAT exams, had AP classes and got lots of scholarships!) Spiritually, RCMS reinforced their Christian faith and they grew in their faith and confidence in the Lord. Our kids really enjoyed playing all the sports and were very involved in the music program, especially band and orchestra. It's a great Christian school striving to prepare our children to be godly leaders and examples in the years ahead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2012

This school is wonderful. The staff and principal all really care about the students and parents. They are always available to help. Always greeted with a smile. Impressed with the academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2012

Rainier Christian Schools is awesome. My children love the atmophere and have great friends. Not sure what the other comments are referring to, but I've seen bullying issues come up and the principal handle them with skill and grace. I have never been to a school where kids are perfect. Yes, at times they may pick on each other, but RCS works diligently to handle the problem in a restorative manner. We love the heart and passion RCS has for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2011

Like the writer below, our child suffered horrible bullying and the school would do nothing about it. Being an educator myself, I gave them many suggestions to address the bullying to which my child was not the only victim. THe principal responded that he would bring in a speaker to talk -- albeit 4 months later. The principal was hesitant to even contact the parents of the kids who were doing the bullying even after it was clear there was bulying happening. After numerous converations with the principal and even talking to the superintendant, our child reporting the bullying to staff we were forced to withdraw our child as the school would do nothing. It became increasingly clear their concern was not our child, but instead, making sure enrollment stayed up. The school was not willing to stand up for what is right, but instead was driven by money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2010

Rainier Christian Middle School. Bullying escalated to extent child kept home. Principal finally acknowledged problem, agreed to inform staff what is happening assuring us staff will do everything possible; our child can go to any staff member for safety and everything will be done to not leave them unsupervised. (Requested students not in one building unsupervised during daily staff meeting in different building). Principal emailed us, informing talked to staff and all concerns addressed. Bulling continued, we learned he had not told staff, and nothing changed. At meeting with principal and superintendent, told principal talks to staff daily, but avoids specifics. Informed nobody is available to supervise other building during staff meeting. We were told principal controls school operations including what staff and parents "should be told". As a Christian school operation based on "Faith"; parents must have Faith in the principal or find a new school. WE DID
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2008

I loved it! The staff, and getting to know the others almost like a large family! It's a hard leave though.


Posted August 25, 2003

CCMS is a great Christian school. It helped me to grow in academics, athletics, and personal character.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Glenn Olson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (253) 639-3184

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Music room
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Lunch Program
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
RCS-Maple Valley Elementary
RCS-Kent View Elementary
RCS-Highlands Elementary

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$7000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Rainier Christian High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

26201 180th Ave SE
Covington, WA 98042
Website: Click here
Phone: (253) 639-7715

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Mattson Middle School
Covington, WA



Russell Ridge Center
Maple Valley, WA


Cedar River Middle School
Maple Valley, WA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT