Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-8
Public
Covington, WA
Students enrolled: 635
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mattson Middle School 1

Posted November 05, 2014
- a parent
Mattson has some dynamic, awesome teachers and some really lousy teachers as well. The 8th grade honors English teacher is an example of one of the lousy teachers. She swears in class, has attendance issues and is disorganized and will punish students for alleged missing assignments when she is the one who cannot keep track. When you try to talk with her, she retaliates by giving the student a bad grade on assignments where she can be subjective. The principal defends the teacher and does not support the students. I wish the school system was like every business out there where bad employees can simple get fired. During parent-teacher conferences, she has the biggest line of parents waiting to speak with her and none of the parents are happy. She should stick to her true passion of teaching dance and leave teaching academics to teachers who truly are there to teach and inspire kids.

Mattson Middle School 2

Posted May 28, 2013
- a parent
My daughter attends this school & has learned more about the personal lives of some of her teachers rather than what she is supposed to be learning. She is in the honors program but the quality of education is mediocre. I work with her on the weekends to supplement her learning. After about a month, the school decided to switch some students' schedules because of enrollment numbers & placed them with different teachers. The kids had to figure out what topics & projects they had missed out on through other students and play catch-up in some cases because the teachers offered no support in the transition. Some teachers didn't accept the transferred grades from the equivalent class and gave these students F's for the 1st month of missed projects. Seriously? The school changed these kids' classes and the kids get punished! There are some teachers who love to give out joint assignments which is great for slacker students who do none of the work yet get the same grade as a hardworking student. Oh, and students with social anxiety don't have a chance for an A with some teachers. There is no tolerance for students who have these & other equivalent issues.


Mattson Middle School 4

Posted March 27, 2012
- a parent
Mattson is a wonder full school with very nice staff members,There are only two things that i think they should improve on... 1) Some students in the school think they are "Gangsters" and disrespects anyone who tells them what to do but all the other children are just charming especialy this child named Brennen hes just a darling a absolutely amayzing child! back on topic now the only other problem the school is the food, its.... very plain..... overall this school is wonderfull.

Mattson Middle School 5

Posted July 15, 2011
- a teacher
Mattson is an awesome place to be! Mattson has a brand new, dynamic principal, Tammy Unruh, who is implementing some important changes at Mattson to help us better meet the needs of our students and families. We are getting supports in place to meet the needs of our struggling learners while also challenging our more capable learners. Additionally, Mattson is part of the 1:1 laptop initiatve implemented in Kent so all students have the use of laptop computer for school and home. The teachers are dedicated to students, often spending many hours of their personal time to plan and create meaningful lessons and work individually with students when needed. There are a variety of activities to join (other than sports) which help build relationships between teachers and students. We care about educating the entire person--not just in academics but in social skills and interpersonal skills, too--so that they can be successful adults and pave their way for their entrance into high school and beyond.

Mattson Middle School 5

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Mattson Middle School 5

Posted December 13, 2007
- a student
I love this school. It may not be the best and it certainly may not seem much if compared to Cedar Heights. But this school has taught me a lot about myself and about the world around me. Yes like I said, it isn't the best but the teachers get involved with fundraising and they also create friendships with many of the students. Some of the students may not like it at Mattson, but thats their decision to not like it. The teachers create fun ways to teach. They use real life examples to help the students understand the lesson. This school may not seem like much, but if you only knew the life lessons I've made. Mattson has taught me things I never knew I would learn. I've made life long friends and possibly enemies. I'll never forget my years at Mattson. I love Mattson. Mattson is the best and I wouldn't trade schools for anything.

Mattson Middle School 1

Posted June 13, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mattson Middle School 1

Posted May 25, 2005
- a parent
Not recomended, Cedar Heights Has been way beeter for my child, and they help him to his needs.


Mattson Middle School 1

Posted June 12, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mattson Middle School
16400 SE 251st, Covington, WA  98042
(253) 373-7670
Last modified Mattson Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mattson Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top