Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kentwood High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 28, 2013

This school is one of the best schools in the Kent district, and they do a good job with the whole system. what i love about this school the most is the School spirit. Every Friday you always see somebody decked out with green, silver, and black Some things that i don't like about kentwood are some of the teachers and staff, a lot of teachers do a terrible job of teaching. My math class last year had half the students fail. They also rank the students, and if your GPA is not good, you don't get to do the things that more educated kids are able to. There can be some really annoying kids, like kids that swear just cause they think its cool, or kids that just stand in the middle of the hallway. overall, kentwood tries to keep you motivated, and up to date on everything, even though school is harder than it was 14 years ago. (there was no laptops, no junior or senior projects)


Posted September 11, 2013

Kentwood High School should implement a parent-teacher relationship as this forms a solid platform for students to succeed. Big talk sounds good but we all know that actions speak louder. I feel we hold ourselves responsible and forthright in our communication, do what we say we will do, we expect this from our children don't we? Lets communicate effectively and honestly without contradictions and double standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2012

Good spirit but lack of diversity. some of the students act ignorant/racist and i'm considering transferring. also, the teachers need to improve their teaching. the material they present is not understandable, and this is coming from a 3.9 GPA student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 17, 2012

We found Kentwood to be a great and enjoyable experience for our sons. One son took enough AP exams to enter the UW as a sophomore. For the most part, the teachers are caring and very dedicated to their students. The music and drama departments are awesome as are the athletics. It is a well-rounded school which prepares students for the real world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2011

this school is great and it has a tight knit family community, i love it so much.


Posted September 16, 2009

Kentwood makes you feel like you belong no matter what! You fell like you have a family and its just a really great place to be...
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2009

I love this school!! it is so amazing. it has a kind atmoshphere where i felt extremely welcomed. The students really are friendly to eachother not to mention how amazing our teachers are. They are so great and really are making highschool amazing. The athletics at KW are impecable as well. The coaches are pretty hard core but in the end its so worth it. Being on KW dance is probably the most amazing thing i will ever do. Its great to be alive, its great to be a conk!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 4, 2007

Kentwood High School has an amazingly friendly atmosphere. The students are very welcoming and kind. The teachers are all top class, especially in the AP and Honors divisions. Kentwood extracurriculars are among the best in the state, with amazing sports teams and plenty of clubs to choose from. I am a student, so I do not know the amount of parent involvement. I do know that I am blessed to be able to spend my high school years at Kentwood. I love this school with all my heart, and I actually look forward to going. It is a great environment and you're lucky if you have the pleasure of attending.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2007

Kentwood is probably the best school within KSD with possibly some competition with Kentridge. Located near Covington Library and has one of the cleanest tennis courts around. Teachers are incredibly well especially the AP and honors teachers. Plenty of great clubs and diversity. Only factor I would say is possibly the safety (expect this in every high school). The environment around is great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 1, 2007

Kentwood is an extraordinary school, the sports programs are unmatched within the distrcit and the state. The teachers are very involved with assisting all youth regardless of anything. NO set backs at this school. Principal is awesome and safety is not an issue here, the school is very much involved in student safety. this is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2006

Kentwood is a great place to receive an education. The sports at Kentwood High School are one of the best. All the sports are extravagant and they CONQUEROR the competition. Quality of academic programs are high, and there is a large variety to choose from. Overall, Kentwood is a positive learning environment and one of the best schools in Washington State.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2005

From a senior student: Kentwood HS has exceeded my wildest expectations. Growing up in a world where every experience is commercialized on the television, I was pleased to find that high school isn't as nasty as I feared. The teachers - they genuinely care, and I was easily able to befriend them. Most even have a sense of humor. My favorite teacher of all is perhaps Mr. Harrison, the Orchestra teacher. I've been in Orchestra for 4 years under him, and our music program keeps getting better and better. A year ago we won a Grammy (at HS level) in conjuction with the choir and band. Sports - as Captain of this year's girl's swim team and an avid participant in judo, I can say that sports are awesome. Parent involvement I know less about - but the administrative staff are helpful and can make it happen for you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 15, 2005

Great school. Highly educated and caring teachers. There's a wide number of clubs/sports to choose from. Parental involvement is always encouraged and recommended.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 18, 2004

Kentwood High School offers a welcoming environment to students, staff, and parents alike. The staff is knowledeable, driven, and nuturing. Many of them consistently go above and beyond what is expected of them. The Kentwood PTA comprises a wonderful, hard-working, group of volunteers! They see to it that the kids and staff have many opportunities that would, otherwise, be missed. Kentwood has an excellent sports program and, in fact, the varsity boys basketball team just won the 4A State Championships! The gals in the front office, especially Gina, are friendly, helpful, and accommodating. The counseling office does a wonderful job, especially Mark Owen, and it offers a myriad of helpful information. The same goes for the career center. A wonderful driver's safety course is available and the elective courses, as well as the technical programs, are varied and interesting. My family is proud to be part of the Kentwood Community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2003

Kentwood is a great school for athletes and students who want to go to good colleges post-high school. However, this school lacks of diversity. The teachers are great and do assign a lot of homework but, they will always explain things clearly so homework should be a snap. Teachers at Kentwood are very kind and always willing to help. Overall, Kentwood is a great school, it just need more of a diverse atmosphere.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 54% in 2013.

209 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
54%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 82% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
43%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 93% in 2013.

227 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
86%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 53% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 96% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 22% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 66% in 2013.

396 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 72% in 2013.

188 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 28% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 19% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 35% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 35% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 23% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 15% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 34% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 20% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 18% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students33%
Female27%
Male37%
Black28%
Asian31%
Asian/Pacific Islander32%
Hispanic34%
Multiracial41%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White32%
Low income30%
Not low income35%
Special education22%
Not special education34%
Limited English21%
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Students21%
Female19%
Male23%
Blackn/a
Asian30%
Asian/Pacific Islander30%
Hispanic13%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White29%
Low income24%
Not low income17%
Special educationn/a
Not special education24%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Geometry

All Students76%
Female80%
Male71%
Black58%
Asian76%
Asian/Pacific Islander77%
Hispanic53%
Multiracial74%
White84%
Low income63%
Not low income85%
Not special education77%
Limited English64%
Migrantn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students18%
Female14%
Male21%
Black13%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic12%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White22%
Low income22%
Not low income13%
Special educationn/a
Not special education23%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Students70%
Female70%
Male71%
Black35%
Asian74%
Asian/Pacific Islander73%
Hispanic50%
Multiracial73%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Low income50%
Not low income81%
Special education22%
Not special education73%
Limited English17%
Migrantn/a

Geometry

All Students75%
Female73%
Male77%
Black63%
Asian87%
Asian/Pacific Islander85%
Hispanic50%
Multiracial80%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Low income68%
Not low income80%
Special education60%
Not special education76%
Limited English71%
Migrantn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students32%
Femalen/a
Male31%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income21%
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education35%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Malen/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2010.

474 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

421 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 50% in 2011.

458 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

401 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the High School Proficiency Exam (HSPE) to test students in reading and writing in grade 10. Math skills are tested by the End-of-Course (EOC) exams. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Reading

All Students89%
Female91%
Male87%
Black77%
Asian89%
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanic82%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Low income79%
Not low income94%
Special education50%
Not special education92%
Limited English37%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students90%
Female93%
Male87%
Black79%
Asian91%
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanic91%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Low income81%
Not low income95%
Special education58%
Not special education92%
Limited English54%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the High School Proficiency Exam (HSPE) to test students in reading and writing in grade 10. Math skills are tested by the End-of-Course (EOC) exams. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 19% 7%
Hispanic 13% 20%
Black 8% 5%
Two or more races 7% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 14%N/A8%
Special education 19%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 235%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 22N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 12N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 73%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Doug Hostetter

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

25800 164th Ave SE
Covington, WA 98042
Phone: (253) 373-7680

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT