Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Des Moines, WA
Students enrolled: 425

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Des Moines Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
me gusta la Escuela porque los profesores por lo general estan atentos al aprendizaje de nuestros hijos. el personal de la officina como las secretarias, la enfermeria, el principal, la traductora son personas muy amables y atentas en su trabajo. me encantan los programas gratuitos que ofrece la escuela despues de clases ya que muchas veces son los unicos programas que un nino de bajos recursos prodria asistir. estos programas les ayuda mucho a los ninos a crear seguridad en si mismos y a socializarse con otros companeros de distintos salones. Los maestros son muy amables, alegres y me gusta que tambien ensenan disiplina muy positivamente; motivado a los ninos a buscar soluciones ante las dificultades que se les presente en su educacion.

Des Moines Elementary School 4

Posted July 30, 2012
- a parent
I've been at this school for 3 years now, and have 2 children currently attending grades between K and 4. Great improvement have recently happened at this school and parent involvement is at an all time high. Many after school clubs are being offered for the upcoming school year and the PTSA at this school works hard to improve the quality of education offered here. Some cons are the consistent lack of opportunity for gifted children. With that said, my child was in the gifted education program offered in the Highline School District at Parkside and after a year of participating in it, I chose to bring him back to Des Moines because of the quality community and teaching staff here.


Des Moines Elementary School 3

Posted March 16, 2010
- a parent
I agree with the previous post, 'When it comes to addressing students individual needs many parents are faced with some barriers. Also, communication with parents is often unclear and disingenuous.' From my experience there are several programs for struggling or 'at risk' students at Des Moines but if you have a child who is outperforming and needs to be challenged, there are very few options available and you are very likely left to feel that there is nothing to be done. The principal comes off as a bully and, while I am lucky enough to have not experienced it, she regularly chases parents down who cross the street with their kids illegally and screams at them. I am sure her motives revolve around general safety but her actions come off as embarassing more than anything else and it certainly makes me less inclined to approach her as a concerned parent.

Des Moines Elementary School 3

Posted November 11, 2009
- a parent
Des Moines has an amazing teaching staff who show strong interest in creating a learning environment that is welcoming to both students and parents. Volunteers range from parents, high school seniors and local senior citizens. There is also a strong effort by the staff to assist students with special needs. My child was struggling academically in one subject and the teachers were quick to recommend interventions and testing that have helped improve my child's skills in this area. The administration has it's strengths and weakness's. A great effort is being made by the principal to provide strong academic programs to support all learners as a whole. When it comes to addressing students individual needs many parents are faced with some barriers. Also, communication with parents is often unclear and disingenuous. Overall the staff is amazing, dedicated, and focused.

Des Moines Elementary School 5

Posted September 07, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Des Moines Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted July 03, 2009
- a parent
I had significant difficulties with the leadership of this school regarding my son's disabilities. Some staff were highly resistant to understanding the individual needs of students, while others worked very hard to do the right things. I couldn't wait to leave this school.

Des Moines Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent
We have been so pleased with this school. Although my son struggles with some slight disabilities, the attention and support they have provided him with has been exceptional! The principal is outstanding and the teaching staff is hard-working, smart and caring.

Des Moines Elementary School 5

Posted November 27, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Des Moines Elementary School 5

Posted September 14, 2007
- a parent
Warm, friendly, organized staff. Arts and Technology are obvious priorities here. High parent involvement, great teacher/student ratio in my daughter's class. The principal is a visible and friendly presence on the school grounds. We're thrilled!

Des Moines Elementary School 4

Posted February 14, 2007
- a parent
Very friendly staff;welcoming teachers. Most parents are involved in school activities. Some classes are a little overcrowded.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Des Moines Elementary School
22001 9th Ave South, Des Moines, WA  98198
(206) 631-3700
Last modified Des Moines Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Des Moines Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top