Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Des Moines Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 18, 2016
- a parent
While she's in another position in the Highline School District now, Sharon Cuaresma set our daughter in the right path from Day One of first grade. We credit Sharon with creating a love for STEM in Kyan, and know that she'll go far because of that early encouragement.

Des Moines Elementary School 4

Posted February 18, 2016
- a parent
We have a sixth grader who is finishing up her time at Des Moines and a kindergartner who is just getting started. The best things about the school: 1) It's a tiny and close knit community. The staff know everyone by name. The parents feel Very comfortable at the school. The kids treat it like an extension of home. 2) Our sixth grader has had five great teachers over seven years. Why only five? Because she got to loop twice. Looping was a huge blessing for our family - having a multi-year bond with a teacher is incredible. 3) The staff are tied to the community. Looking for DME staff? Check the school auction, the charity softball game, the community concert... they're everywhere. Once the kindergartener finishes at Des Moines, we will have been a DME family for 13 years. This is a special thing. One note: if you're curious about how to vote on the next school bond measure, one quick tour of DME will provide a lot of insight. The building is absolutely ridiculous by today's standards. The boiler is so loud it interrupts teaching time, the water runs brownish, the cafeteria has to be sand-bagged during rainstorms... I could go on forever. That said, the staff do the best they can with what they've got, and the kids benefit from their efforts.


Des Moines Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
me gusta la Escuela porque los profesores por lo general estan atentos al aprendizaje de nuestros hijos. el personal de la officina como las secretarias, la enfermeria, el principal, la traductora son personas muy amables y atentas en su trabajo. me encantan los programas gratuitos que ofrece la escuela despues de clases ya que muchas veces son los unicos programas que un nino de bajos recursos prodria asistir. estos programas les ayuda mucho a los ninos a crear seguridad en si mismos y a socializarse con otros companeros de distintos salones. Los maestros son muy amables, alegres y me gusta que tambien ensenan disiplina muy positivamente; motivado a los ninos a buscar soluciones ante las dificultades que se les presente en su educacion.

Des Moines Elementary School 5

Posted September 12, 2013
- a parent
This school has a very helpful, friendly, organized staff ( Ms. Candy and Mrs. Williams) and the most amiable, together, 6th gr. teacher, Ms. Malmgren. Every aspect of their operation is the old fashioned, back to the basics approach; with teachers who love what they are doing and parents who are involved. Just walking through the halls, you feel so welcomed & comfortable. Family friends have recommended this fine school, from experience. I would highly recommend Des Moines Elementary School.

Des Moines Elementary School 4

Posted July 30, 2012
- a parent
I've been at this school for 3 years now, and have 2 children currently attending grades between K and 4. Great improvement have recently happened at this school and parent involvement is at an all time high. Many after school clubs are being offered for the upcoming school year and the PTSA at this school works hard to improve the quality of education offered here. Some cons are the consistent lack of opportunity for gifted children. With that said, my child was in the gifted education program offered in the Highline School District at Parkside and after a year of participating in it, I chose to bring him back to Des Moines because of the quality community and teaching staff here.


Des Moines Elementary School 3

Posted March 16, 2010
- a parent
I agree with the previous post, 'When it comes to addressing students individual needs many parents are faced with some barriers. Also, communication with parents is often unclear and disingenuous.' From my experience there are several programs for struggling or 'at risk' students at Des Moines but if you have a child who is outperforming and needs to be challenged, there are very few options available and you are very likely left to feel that there is nothing to be done. The principal comes off as a bully and, while I am lucky enough to have not experienced it, she regularly chases parents down who cross the street with their kids illegally and screams at them. I am sure her motives revolve around general safety but her actions come off as embarassing more than anything else and it certainly makes me less inclined to approach her as a concerned parent.

Des Moines Elementary School 3

Posted November 11, 2009
- a parent
Des Moines has an amazing teaching staff who show strong interest in creating a learning environment that is welcoming to both students and parents. Volunteers range from parents, high school seniors and local senior citizens. There is also a strong effort by the staff to assist students with special needs. My child was struggling academically in one subject and the teachers were quick to recommend interventions and testing that have helped improve my child's skills in this area. The administration has it's strengths and weakness's. A great effort is being made by the principal to provide strong academic programs to support all learners as a whole. When it comes to addressing students individual needs many parents are faced with some barriers. Also, communication with parents is often unclear and disingenuous. Overall the staff is amazing, dedicated, and focused.

Des Moines Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 03, 2009
- a parent
I had significant difficulties with the leadership of this school regarding my son's disabilities. Some staff were highly resistant to understanding the individual needs of students, while others worked very hard to do the right things. I couldn't wait to leave this school.


Des Moines Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent
We have been so pleased with this school. Although my son struggles with some slight disabilities, the attention and support they have provided him with has been exceptional! The principal is outstanding and the teaching staff is hard-working, smart and caring.

Des Moines Elementary School 5

Posted September 14, 2007
- a parent
Warm, friendly, organized staff. Arts and Technology are obvious priorities here. High parent involvement, great teacher/student ratio in my daughter's class. The principal is a visible and friendly presence on the school grounds. We're thrilled!

Nearby schools

Des Moines Elementary School
22001 9th Ave South, Des Moines, WA  98198
(206) 631-3700
Last modified Des Moines Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top