Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pioneer Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 209 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 14, 2014

I felt as though the teachers were more concerned about kids getting the right answer compared to really comprehending the material. My son liked the school and made friends easily.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2014

We have had such a great experience at Pioneer MS! Mr. Stout, the current principal, has been exemplary. He has been instrumental in making Pioneer a top school in the area. Since being hired, he has raised the bar in so many ways, encouraging and inspiring the students to reach their full potential. My 3 children have loved their teachers at Pioneer. Each have had different interests and talents; each had teachers that inspired and challenged them. From Project Lead the Way (a computer engineering course) to Choir, from Creative Writing to advanced Mathematics...and everything else in between...my children became better people and students because of their talented and amazing teachers! Team coaches have been excellent as well! Things added to Pioneer: Spanish, Algebra I and Geometry are offered to students who test into it, sports for 6th graders, and a Football program returning this coming year. The office staff and counselors have been top-notch also. We are moving overseas this next year and they went the extra mile in compiling documents and proctoring assessment tests for admission requirements, always so helpful and friendly no matter the inconvenience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2014

I have been very impressed with the school. The leadership here is outstanding and the principals have excellent discipline and reward policies. They always make my children feel more then welcomed, knowing them by name. The staff is constantly revising and rethinking what they are doing to best fit the students. At this school I know my children are safe, getting a great education and are surrounded by adults who sincerely care for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2014

Pioneer Middle School is located at 1750 Bobs Hollow Lane in DuPont, WA 98327 phone number is 253 583 7200 it no longer is located in Steilacoom. The old school building is now the District office for Steilacoom historical School District #1
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 17, 2013

Pros:They have a 100% club for students who turn in their homework for the whole quarter.No more Wednesday academy. They have sports for 7-8 graders such as baseball,soccer,volleyball,basketball etc. They have after school activities for everyone including builders club,woodshop,robotics,GSA etc They also have study hall. Fitness is the best subject there is you can actually do stuff instead just sitting there. They have help for special ed students and speech therapy students. They also have help for reading and math. There's also band and choir. Cons:There's no gifted program. Lockers are small. Some teachers are rude for some apparent reason. But over that pioneer is a great school. So I would recommend this school to you!


Posted October 13, 2012

My child has been at this school for 7th and 8th grade, they offer many extras such as Builders club which is Key Club at the middle school level, sports, (wrestling, basketball, track, etc) wood shop, chior, band, yearbook to name a few. My son was challenged in his 7th and now 8th grade year with projects, papers and difficult assignments. There is a skyward system which allows you to check all of your childrens grades and even what they have bought for lunch. When I have needed to communicate to his teachers I have gotten a response within 24 hrs. The school has several events to include a monster bash, bingo night and other dance/open gym nights. I volunteered within the school for a year and I think the school is great! The principal was changed last year and there are several new teachers this year as well. Love Pioneer!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2012

These people change the Principal almost every single day when will this school be stable. Chloe Clark was an amazing school but going here puts that school to shame! Horrible Principal to they will suspend you for sneezing.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 20, 2012

Very bad school. Especially 8th grade teachers! Very rude and Principal is Horrid! Needs to fire all staff and restart! This school is trying to restart with the new Principal, but his Vice principal is horrible when the Vice Principal because the Principal this school will fall apart litterlly! And every single person up there is always acting exhausted or tired! (Besides lady at front desk)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

Apathetic teachers that punish students when their parents make inquiries about missing assignments, no intramural, gifted, or summer programs, average at best curriculum. Loved Chloe Clark but really disappointed when my daughter graduated to Pioneer. Hoping her high school experience is an improvement. Will be transferring her to UP if it is the same b.s.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2012

My son just completed 6th grade here. We are a military family and my son has attended schools in several states. Pioneer, although a very nice facility, was a disappointment to us this year. Several of my son's teachers seemed burned out and lacked enthusiasm. There are few frills - no gifted program, no summer school. There has been an AR reading program at some point but apparently there is no money in the budget to continue to fund the program. There is something called Wednesday Academy for students to attend when they are missing assignments but no teacher leadership is present to make sure the students actually accomplish something when they attend. Lots of half days that count as full days in the calendar. The curriculum seemed lackluster and not terribly challenging. Very little writing is done. Very, very disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2012

I am an 8th grader in pioneer. The curriculum is not challenging. The teachers only focus on students passing their class. I take algebra, and many students don't understand half of what the teacher says. There's this thing called the Wednesday academy, where students missing 2 assignments in 1 class have to attend to finish them. At least 30 people from 8th grade attend, and there's probably more.


Posted November 7, 2011

Teachers pretty apathetic. Curriculum not that challenging. Inadequate Intramural activities and enrichment programs. Kids that come from other State's generally have to do self study because they are so far advanced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2011

Well i finally finished Grade 8 and i'm pleased to say that i genuinely think that it was the most fun and the toughest grade I've been through. The Staff were excellent, Curriculum was difficult to adjust to but very necessary, such as Algebra 1 if u got it, and Although we did not have many field trips, actually only 2, they were quite interesting and kept you active. JA Finance was the first field trip and at first i was a little... skeptical of the planned event but as soon as i got there and got into the swing of things it was quite exquisite. i'm going to leave out what you do there to keep it a surprise. The second field trip was our trip to...WILD WAVES!!!!! it was considered to be our promotion gift from the school.it costed about 20 dollars for us, that was the bus ride and ticket in, it was great. so the teachers were set up at a tent by the wave pool and they basically set us free to run and play to our hearts content. there is the testing of MAPS and MSP and the EOC (Algebra), state required tests and If your going into 8th grade at pioneer your in for a wonderful and challenging time, if your child is going into 8th grade at Pioneer your in for a ride as well. -CR


Posted March 30, 2011

What happened to the principal at Pioneer Middle? First, she was there. Next, she was absent without reason. Now, her name is off the school web site?! Hum, Steilacoom SD needs to work much harder on it'sinformation flow to parents. Poor hiring practices, poor leadership, poor education for our students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2011

We've been very pleased with Pioneer Middle School. The 6th and 7th grade teachers have interesting and challenging curriculums and my daughter has learned much in her classes. The building is beautiful and the students are well behaved. We would love to see orchestra offered and a stronger choral program, but feel blessed to be at this fine Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2011

I currently a seventh grader at Pioneer Middle School. Allthough the school looks nice on the outside, seventh grade teachers are terrible. My sixth grade teachers were challenging, creative, and fun, but seventh grade, come on! I am constantly bored, with hours on end and nothing to do. There was a scheduling problem this year too. I was placed in an 8th grade P.E. class. My teacher was awesome and I wish I could stay in her class all year. Tat's pretty much all I have to say that is good. The principal is taking a "break" and has been gone for a month.


Posted July 2, 2010

I don't believe a school could be any better. Excellent teachers who genuinely care about the their students while holding them personally responsible and accountable. Children grow up while at Pioneer becoming young people who are ready for high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

This is a very good school. Though I went there for only one year in 6th grade, I was very impressed. There is no gifted program, and the 'sixth grade camp' was not a good way to spend the week. Those were the only real negatives. The students, even though they're in a 'normal' public education program, were actually fairly kind and smart, especially compared to my current school. The new school in DuPont is great, and new technology is present in every classroom, including Smartboards and computers based on Core 2 Quad processors. The teachers were very good at teaching. Mr. Folmer is definitely the best band teacher this schoool could possibly have, and in fact they have him. There is no orchestra, but the band and choir are both great. A wide variety of after-school activities are availible. This is definitely a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 1, 2009

My son has attended Pioneer for the last two years. He is now in the newly built school in Dupont and we couldn't be happier. The school is absolutely beautiful with state of the art equipment and technology. The teachers and staff are well trained and very involved with the kids. I couldn't be more pleased about the education my son is receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2009

My daughter and I really love this school. Awesome campus, great teachers, very easy to communicate with teachers and staff. Great after school activities to get involved with.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

248 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

247 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

260 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

260 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

227 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

228 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

227 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students67%
Female70%
Male64%
Black56%
Asian91%
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanic57%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Low income51%
Not low income73%
Special education19%
Not special education73%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students78%
Female83%
Male73%
Black69%
Asian86%
Asian/Pacific Islander86%
Hispanic73%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Low income67%
Not low income82%
Special education19%
Not special education86%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students62%
Female65%
Male60%
Black59%
Asian74%
Asian/Pacific Islander73%
Hispanic41%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income46%
Not low income67%
Special education0%
Not special education70%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students76%
Female80%
Male72%
Black73%
Asian82%
Asian/Pacific Islander85%
Hispanic64%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income70%
Not low income78%
Special education7%
Not special education84%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students81%
Female90%
Male72%
Black86%
Asian89%
Asian/Pacific Islander91%
Hispanic67%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Low income76%
Not low income82%
Special education18%
Not special education88%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students59%
Female68%
Male50%
Black36%
Asian88%
Asian/Pacific Islander86%
Hispanic43%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Low income46%
Not low income62%
Special education5%
Not special education63%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female87%
Male72%
Black64%
Asian94%
Asian/Pacific Islander95%
Hispanic79%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income72%
Not low income81%
Special education5%
Not special education86%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students72%
Female78%
Male66%
Black54%
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander91%
Hispanic57%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income63%
Not low income75%
Special education5%
Not special education78%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 100% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
85%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students85%
Female90%
Male79%
Black91%
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic85%
Multiracial81%
Native Americann/a
White82%
Low income79%
Not low income87%
Special educationn/a
Not special education85%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 60%
Hispanic 15% 20%
Two or more races 12% 6%
Black 10% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 7%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 11%N/A8%
Special education 17%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 224%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 19N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 14N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 72%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

511 Chambers St
Dupont, WA 98327
Phone: (253) 983-7200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Mann Middle School
Lakewood, WA


Firwood
Steilacoom, WA





Drum Intermediate School
University Pla, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT