Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
158 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
44 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 59 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Olympia Waldorf School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
As with any school, it depends a bit on the teacher, but there is plenty of education support here to help teachers learn where they can do better with their class or individual students.

Olympia Waldorf School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
So far, it has been minimal and appropriate. In third grade we have spelling or math fact memorization and reading practice.


Olympia Waldorf School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
Children are taught to address their teachers and others with respect and they help care for the building and its surroundings.

Olympia Waldorf School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
Focus is on the whole child, not just academics. There are buddy programs and other aspects of this school that help the children in their interactions and care. The curriculum even attempts to meet children on a developmental level with what they are currently experiencing at their age.

Olympia Waldorf School 5

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
My daughter struggles with dyslexia. Prior to this school, she also dealt with ADD. Both were diagnosed and she had been receiving private tutoring for some time. She entered Olympia Waldorf School in the 3rd grade after other private schools refused to admit her, stating that her reading deficit would keep her from participating and succeeding in the classroom. This school has been a blessing. For the first time, she is picking up books on her own to read. She is still quite a bit behind but the teacher adapted to her needs and they do have different levels of reading groups (just like at public schools). Because this school focuses on growth of the child, not just academic achievement, my daughter is getting a great well-rounded education that does not focus on her weaknesses but gives her confidence. In addition, much of her ADD inattentiveness has faded away. She participates in class rather than daydreaming. There is lots of movement time that keeps kids' brains AND bodies moving.


Olympia Waldorf School 2

Posted November 16, 2015
- a community member
There are a lot of advantages to a school where classroom sizes are small, parents are involved and charge tuition. This insures that there is little diversity at the school which is the primary reason people are here. The school has strong community, but academics are suspect. This is another example of an 11-year old that could not read AT ALL. Be prepared to shell out additional dollars for private tutoring if you want your child to stay anywhere close to state grade level standards in reading, math or science. They refuse to adopt any use of technology at school, kids will leave middle school without being taught to type or use technology for anything other than Minecraft.

Olympia Waldorf School 5

Posted July 02, 2015
- a parent
Our family has been very pleased with the curriculum, teachers and community at Olympia Waldorf School. Our children have been attending for the past eight years, and I am continually impressed with the quality of work the children produce, the true hands-on learning that takes place, the beautiful music and art that is infused in almost every lesson, the dedication and passion of the teachers, and the joy that my children express each day. I would urge anyone considering Waldorf to visit the school to see first-hand the holistic, engaging and beautiful curriculum that is offered. I can wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone looking for this type of education for their child.

Olympia Waldorf School 1

Posted April 30, 2015
- a community member
This is the worst school I have ever seen. They are more concerned with their program than the students. Our 11 year old grandchild can barely read or write and for the past four years the school has done nothing about it. No plan, no action. Their program believes that a child will learn to read when they are ready. Well, not in all cases. Our other 9 year old grandchild has been suspended three times for shockingly minor offenses: two boys pushing in line - suspension, playing an imagination game and naming a character a "luddite" - suspension, answering out of turn in class - suspension. The teacher has no classroom management skills. They may be caring but for these two boys they aren't nurturing. From an angry grandparent.


Olympia Waldorf School 5

Posted September 25, 2014
- a parent
I would like to point out that most of the reviews from the last many years give the school 5 Stars! The low reviews are from 6-7 years ago. The administration structure has been modified in the last few years and it feels a lot more organized and efficient. I have been really happy about OWS; this will be my son's 7th year there. I love that there is such awareness of each child. 6 of the 8 grades teachers have already taken a class through the years and have returned to lead a new class. The kindergarten teachers have also been there for a long time. The Dean is wonderful. Obviously there is not one school that is a good fit for every family, and the ones who have a problem are the ones who go online and vent about it. Also I have heard a couple families complain about things, but they didn't try to communicate with the teacher or the school. I have had a couple concerns over the years, and by reaching out to teachers or staff, things always resolve quickly, gracefully and completely. It helps to learn about Waldorf education, to make sure it is a good fit for your family. Ask questions; read books. I find it really beautiful now that I understand it more.

Olympia Waldorf School 5

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
OWS is a great school for teaching the whole person. I have two boys and they have been attending school here since before first grade. Waldorf Schools are great for teaching kids through active play rather then training them to sit still in a desk and regergitate facts. I have been very pleased with both my children's teachers, they are very talented and caring.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Olympia Waldorf School
Po Box 130, East Olympia, WA  98540
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 59 reviews. (360) 493-0906
Last modified Olympia Waldorf School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top