Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Robert E Lee Elementary School

Public | K-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 18, 2013

The new Principal is a complete jerk. His staff is on the edge of a mutiny. Parents can't stand his phoniness. Bring the bald guy back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2012

I know there were some unhappy parents with the previous leadership of this school. However, Lee Elementary has a new principal this year. He is awesome. He truly believes in what is best for kids. I called to talk to him about a concern and he resolved all my concerns. He is very visible and is very committed to making our school successful. The teachers seem really excited about his leadership. He started a new rewards/consequence system that is school-wide and seems really successful. My children have had 6 teachers at this school and I have always been impressed with their commitment to my children. They have communicated well with me and worked hard to help my children grow. Even when my kids had some challenges, the teachers were really approachable and helpful. The PTO has lots of opportunities to contribute and the PTO leadership works really hard. I have been extremely happy that we moved into the boundaries for Lee Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2011

I am a former student, attending kindergarten to half of 2nd grade from 1997 to early 2000. While kindergarten was not a problem for me, I was bullied frequently in the 1st grade, and even more frequently in 2nd. I was bullied by a young boy who was not in my class, having my dresses pulled up, my pants pulled down, or just simple bullying and name-calling a regular occurrence on the playground. My parents tried everything they could to hold meetings with the principals, my teacher, his teacher, and/or his parents (whom could not speak English, so conferences were not an option with them). Nothing was done to separate the boy from me, despite how it was affecting me. Although I greatly benefited from the speech program, having a speech impediment as a child, I have always found their inability to protect their students from simple bullying inexcusable.


Posted November 17, 2011

If you have a kid that suffers from ADHD the staff here is totally unsupportive and low quality. Accomadations made specifically because children with ADHD and other learning disabilitys (which are not indicators of INTELLIGENCE) are not given the resources required so they can achieve academic sucess in the a learning system with a tremendous amount of contraints. Their tactic at not dealing with the matter at hands was a.) Ignoring the fact he has been diagnosed and given accomadations to begin with b.) Not responding to calls concerning the 504 accomadations afforded to kids. My son, though very smart, developed a negative self image of his learning abilities while at this school. Because he was not passing this particular test he was restricted from participating in free time with other kids. Where do these people get their degrees? I must only assume they come from Cracker Jack's boxes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2011

I had very poor experiences with this school. Not only with one child, but both of our oldest had difficulties at this school. I cooperated fully with the school - including any time they wanted to meet with me. I even asked for more meetings to keep communication open and brainstorm ways to help my child(ren). Yet when I had suggestions, like more frequent communication between the teacher and I, or having my child sit closer to the front of the room, those requests weren't honored. When one of my sons was struggling with behavior problems, we tried everything to help. When I asked during a meeting about an IEP for my son, the Principal laughed at me and told me that those don't help at all. The final straw was that the principal was just unwiling to listen to my concerns or be an advocate for my child at school when I couldn't be there. So much more was involved then just what I mentioned, but that is the general summary. I finally took my child out of school and began homeschooling him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2009

By the end of Kindergarten last June my daughter was reading, writing a three sentance paragraphs with puncuation and solving math problems. The teachers are compassionate, caring, yet give a firm voice when needed. I strongly recommend this school to any other parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2007

Our daughter will be in Mrs Spry's first grade class this year, we are so excited! Our daughter had Mr Blaylock last year for kindergarten and it was a great year she loved her teacher and is happy to get started this year!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students68%
Female67%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic56%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income62%
Not low income85%
Special education40%
Not special education71%
Limited English24%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students77%
Female80%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic71%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Low income70%
Not low income96%
Special education30%
Not special education82%
Limited English53%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students63%
Female55%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Low income57%
Not low income76%
Special education8%
Not special education71%
Limited English20%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students91%
Female92%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic90%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Low income89%
Not low income97%
Special education83%
Not special education93%
Limited English80%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students72%
Female78%
Male65%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic78%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Low income69%
Not low income79%
Special education17%
Not special education81%
Limited English70%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 60%
Hispanic 45% 20%
Two or more races 3% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 119%N/A8%
Special education 110%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 274%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 16N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 13N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 68%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • David Woods

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1455 North Baker Ave
East Wenatchee, WA 98802
Phone: (509) 884-1497

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Cascade Elementary School
East Wenatchee, WA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT