Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
4 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Edmonds Home Resource Center
Grateful to: Student

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
The kids there are really great. It's difficult to see where it comes from but I suspect it comes from the essence of home school: small class sizes and devoted parents.

Edmonds Home Resource Center
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
Many teachers are very dedicated to their educational mission. They're just not very communicative and you often have to consult other parents on how things are.


Edmonds Home Resource Center
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
Not applicable. We parents create the curriculum. The classes they take are arts, PE, etc

Edmonds Home Resource Center
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
No, it's better about encouraging kids to express themselves. The incoherence of the culture would likely discourage determination.

Edmonds Home Resource Center
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
Assuming your kids have enough intuition to see how poorly the adults are treated, I would say the staff does a very poor job of instilling respect.


Edmonds Home Resource Center
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
I suppose the small class sizes are good for interpersonal skills, but that doesn't come from the school, it's an inherent trait of home school

Edmonds Home Resource Center
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
No, it offers academic resources only. Character development doesn't come from them. The staff is polite to kids, no more.

Edmonds Home Resource Center 5

Posted November 01, 2012
- a parent
In this school, he has gained his happiness, confidence, and ability to self-regulate through POSITIVE reinforcement from teachers and peers. The teachers here understand a variety of student disabilities, and base student progress on their own individual growth rather than in comparison to other students in their class. There is no bullying, and the older kids really set a great example of how to treat the younger kids. My son was so unhappy and bullied by students in his previous school. He came home angry and frustrated every day. His teachers relegated him to the back corner of the classroom for 2/3rds of the day there. Academically, we spent so much time after school doing homework yet he still failed his 4th grade Science MSP. This last year at EH he got 4s (A's) in ALL areas tested on MSP! This school offers a variety of classes incl. robotics, legos, computer, diverse music (theater), martial arts, dance, etc. to keep students engaged and motivated to do well in the more traditional subjects. Highly recommend this school for involved and dedicated parents who want happy successful kids who don't (or do) fit into a regular school.


Edmonds Home Resource Center 5

Posted July 26, 2011
- a parent
Edmonds Heights (Homeschool, Alternative School, Cyber School) has been a wonderful experience for our family! It has changed our lives. Learning can be self-directed (or not!) There are fantastic resources from Theater to Mathematics, Music to Latin. Students can move at their own pace and are able to choose and focus on areas of interest. Excellent staff assist in everything from academics to budgeting of time, money and resources. Here, the sky is the limit and kids enjoy learning, living and interacting with people of all ages. Family is emphasized, as are creativity and independence! Hands on & visual learning are always options. It's the best educational set up I've seen in my 25 years as a certified teacher both in the public and private sector. Our children are thriving here!

Edmonds Home Resource Center 5

Posted February 26, 2010
- a parent
EHRC Is esceellent. THe staff students and organization help provide first class education. I am so impressed with the quality. Edmonds has done well!

Nearby schools

Edmonds Home Resource Center
23200 100th Ave West, Edmonds, WA  98020
(425) 431-7840
Last modified Edmonds Home Resource Center is a Public school that serves grades K-12
Top