Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Horizon Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 780 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2013

I was a bit concerned about this school based on the rating it received on this site. My son started Kindergarten this year and I was upset that he would be going to a school with such low marks. But after the first few months I realized that the curriculum is wonderful and the scores on this site reflect the population as a whole. And with the majority of the school speaking English as a second language that understandable reduces the overall grades the school gets. My son had a phenomenal teacher whom he adores and I am actually very excited for the fall and how his education will be expanded with an entire day's instruction!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2012

Do you guys can please put a link to the message that is going to be sent back by email?


Posted December 4, 2011

First year with a child at this school and at first i was worried, but now i'm more aware...my child's teacher is wonderful but could really use help in class with troubled kids its alot of stress for her. very few parents help out and the head pta members are very disorganized at meetings...some administration still seems to be learning but when problems arise they really deal with it i think the best is yet to come from this school, :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Horizon Elementary has had it's ups and downs and lately it seems more downs. Parent involvement is very low, and part of that is due to the group of PTA parents that run everything. They have done it so long that they seem uncaring and unmotivated. The staff has been changing so much in the last few years that it seems all the wonderful teachers who made Horizon a great school are all gone now and the atmosphere is lacking excitement and encouragement. The school needs a make-over in the PTA most definately and more involvement within the community in general.


Posted March 10, 2009

I am very disappointed in Horizon Elementary, I am a parent that can not understand why the lack in sports! Yes they handout the fliers for community sports. In which you must then pay for if you want your kids involved! They are not very involved with the kids in the community at all! The teachers are divided, half are friendly and upbeat. The other half are rude and intimidating! I am sure you can only imagine what a child must feel like! My encounter with the principal wasn't much better. I wasn't even meaning on meeting the principal on my drop in at the front office, It wasn't pleasant.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

I have children attending Horizon. The teachers, principal and staff are all wonderful and very involved with the kids. Kids get extra help if they need it. Parent involvement seems somewhat low but it is up to parents to get involved. The PTA does a super job of putting on extracurricular activities. Math night had a huge turn out and was super fun and informative. The principal knows many of the kids by their first names. Horizon is a friendly school and it's principal, teachers, office staff and volunteers are very knowledgeable. I'm glad my kids are going to Horizon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2007

I have two children attending Horizon. Luckily both of my children have GREAT teachers who have made an effort into students who are excelling by providing them with a more challenging curriculum. It is my understanding that resources are available for children who need additional help; however, what about the children who are doing extremely well...what resources are made available for them??? You would think the school would want to also invest in these children especially since it promotes improved WASL scores. We are very active with our children and their academics. I feel the school should also be supporting programs to challenge ALL children as well as help them excel and keep motivated. As for school activities, I don't know if things would be any different if they offered some on evenings other than Thursdays. My children are involved in other activities, so Thursdays aren't good for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2007

My child goes to Horizon and this is the first year I have had a teacher that has kept the parents aware of what the kids were learning in the classroom. Parent involvement is very very low. The school puts on some activities and when they do they don't get a lot of turn out from the families. We go to a a lot and we see the same families involved. I have nieces and nephews in other school districts and they are learning more interesting things and excelling farther. The principal is not that friendly either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2007

My son has been going to this school for 3 years. There are no challenge courses only courses for those who are behind. The PTA this year is the worst since we have been here. I feel my son is not being challenged. His teacher this year is really good but does not have the resources she needs to provide challenging material.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 7, 2006

I found Horizon a very unsatisfying school. The principle was very nice & cordial, the office staff was too - but they had NO energy. My daughter attended kindergarten and LOVED her teacher (who left this year for some of the same reasons I took my daughter out) but the rest of the school was seriously lacking any excitement. I felt that things were only going to get worse as my daughter got older - so I switched her to Madison.The only extracurricular activities were selling things for the school and going to skate deck. The carnival was lame, the kindergartners didn't get to participate in holiday stuff (& they had No K graduation ceremony, other than what the teacher did). We had 1 field trip &, despite the fact that the k's sold more than ANY other classes, they didn't get to participate in ANY events with older classes!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2005

The teachers are great! The music program seems good. They have the reflections program for art, which is awesome! Parent involvement is low, but they're working on making it better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2005

I think Horizon is an overall good school but there seems to be alott of launguage barriers for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2004

I am new to the state and was very cautious about picking a school. I definitely made the right choice with Horizon. Horizon has a friendly, hardworking, and knowledgeable staff. I feel confident that my child is getting a very good education in a safe and nuturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2003

Horizon Elementary is a great place for kids and parents to be involved,my children love this school! They have the very best teachers here.I have four children ages 14-9 they all have been at this school and have very good attitudes towards school and homework...I can't say enough great things!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
50%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
33%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
8%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students52%
Female59%
Male47%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic45%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income51%
Not low income70%
Special education18%
Not special education59%
Limited English41%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students52%
Female59%
Male47%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic44%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Low income51%
Not low income70%
Special education9%
Not special education61%
Limited English33%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students68%
Female67%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic66%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Low income66%
Not low income83%
Special education23%
Not special education81%
Limited English48%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students58%
Female64%
Male53%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic57%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income55%
Not low income92%
Special education10%
Not special education72%
Limited English33%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students54%
Female64%
Male45%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic54%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White54%
Low income52%
Not low income83%
Special education10%
Not special education67%
Limited English33%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students66%
Female78%
Male58%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic65%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Low income64%
Not low income80%
Special education25%
Not special education71%
Limited English32%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students67%
Female76%
Male61%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic61%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Low income63%
Not low income93%
Special education33%
Not special education71%
Limited English23%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students57%
Female69%
Male48%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic55%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income54%
Not low income80%
Special education25%
Not special education61%
Limited English13%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 64% 20%
White 21% 60%
Two or more races 5% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 7%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 146%N/A8%
Special education 113%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 285%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 16N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 10N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 57%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Leslie Clauson
Fax number
  • (425) 366-3002

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

222 West Casino Rd
Everett, WA 98204
Website: Click here
Phone: (425) 366-3000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Special Services
Everett, WA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT