Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Immaculate Conception School

Private | PK-8 | 256 students

We offer an outstanding academic program within a Catholic faith community.

 
 

Living in Everett

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $148,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 2, 2014

With children attending IC/OLPH for several years now, we are very pleased with the education, the sense of community within the school, amongst students, staff, parents, and school leaders, and the values that are instilled and reinforced through the educational environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2014

My kids and I love ICOLPH. I am so pleased with the quality of education that my children are receiving. The teachers and staff are kind and committed. They instill a sense of community and morality, which is especially important to me for my middle-school student. The parents and families support each other and I am always greeted with a smile from everyone at the school. I could not imagine having my children anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2014

Not every school will fit everyone. This school works for my family. We love the fact that our children get one-on-one attention from teachers that love what they do. These teachers care about the needs of each child as an individual and it shows in my children. I appreciate you ICOLPH School. I'm so glad you're part of the family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2014

ICOLPH goes way above and beyond that which anyone would consider reasonable when it comes to the children. The level of commitment to these kids is exceptional. The level of parental involvement is undeniably over the top. The principal, while new, is one of the more dedicated and concerned individuals I have known in such a position. She is forthright and fair, upholding school policy and inspiring us, the parents, to be the best Christian role models we can be for our children. Without question, Christ is the foundation this school stands on and grows from. The teachers and support staff love and respect my child as my husband and I do. I could never have expected the level of attention and concern these individuals have expressed in the many years my child has attended. This is a fantastic place for a child to grow as a Christian, an individual, and as a responsible, caring and considerate member of the community. We are very fortunate to be a part of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2014

We love this school. Parents are so involved and there is such pride in their eyes. We have been so welcomed into this close knit community and I couldn't imagine my child anywhere else. Before choosing ICOLPH we visited many private schools. We only chose this school over the others because of our "gut feelings" . Give the principal some time. It's her first year and with the experience of the staff and devoted parents, this wonderful school will succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2014

After sending several children through ICOLPH we are heartbroken at what has become of the school this year. The new first year principal has stumbled the school into a total mess. The culture has gone from supportive and kind to negative and accusatory. Don't be fooled by the splashy website, Facebook or videos, the school is not what the principal is trying to portray. Many family's are leaving for other Catholic and public schools. If you want your child to have a Catholic education in a positive school where faith formation and academics are at the center, ICOLPH is currently not that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2013

We have 2 children in the school currently and one to begin preschool in the future. Our kids have gone to school there since they were 3, and I could not be happier with our choice of school. The teachers and staff are great, the principalis very dedicated to making the school the best it can be, and we feel such a sense of family and home with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2012

We have loved our experience at ICOLPH. it is a great learning community starting with a strong principal, excellent teachers and a great platform for parent participation that generates new friendships and supports the strong community of the school. More importantly, our children appreciate their school, are getting a great education and are excited for school every day. Very gratifying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2012

Our kids have learned to work hard at this school and will be well-prepared for their next level(s). Course work can be similar to public schools, but major differences lie in greater emphases on broader concepts of reading and understanding complex materials, completing regular substantive research reports, meeting deadlines, developing strong communications skills, and respecting authority. As parents, we believe these are real-world issues that matter most. This school is a very good value in that regard, with close-knit parents who have similar beliefs. Downsides include underwhelming playground and infrastructure, lack of bus system, limited classmate pools due to smaller class sizes, and early hours of operation (8am-2:30pm daily and early 1:30pm Wed releases). Otherwise, great school for academics and work ethic in a structured Catholic educational environment with lots of worthwhile functions and events to develop friendships and close relationships with other fellow parents and alumni.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2011

We feel we've made the very best decision in choosing ICOLPH for our son's education. We live in Kenmore and make the commute to Everett every day, with no regrets. The staff is fully committed to providing the best education and spiritual growth in an environment that allows special attention to each student as an individual. Students are encouraged to work together and treat one another with respect and care. The parents' involvement is important here and something we are proud to take part in. We cherish the friendships we have made with other families and look forward to enrolling our daughter as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

Don't expect all pretty and shiny like the brochure shows. It has the same challenges and shortcomings of all schools. There's an insidious cultural chasm that needs as much reformatting as the class setups.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

ICOLPH School is great! The teachers are experienced and committed. The principal is excellent. The parents are involved. We have had a wonderful experience in our 2 years so far and will have 2 more children attending in the next few years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

More than worth the money for my daughter's education, moral growth and socialization. Very satified and like that parents are encouraged to participate actively in many facets of school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

IC-OLPH is a wonderful school. We have an amazing new principal and a quality educational staff. Great parent involvement with a small community feeling
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

IC-OLPH is the most amazing school. The staff, teachers and parents are dedicated to educating our children and nourishing their souls. My daughter is a better human being thanks to her education at IC-OLPH.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2009

This school has wonderful parent and family involvement!! A real sense of community. The teachers care about the success of their students. Our new principal is amazing. Great things are happening at our school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2009

This is an excelent environment for all students. Class sizes are small which gives their staff more opportunity to be in tune with each child and their individual needs or skill level. Parents are encouraged to be involved beyond 'issues' and makes the whole family welcome. My husband and I both feel we've made the right decision to enroll our son and believe the benefits he recieves from this school environment will last a lifetime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2009

IC/OLPH was worth a move from Arlington to Everett for our family of six! It's a big family in a small school setting. Teachers and staff are responsive to students and parents, and the curriculum is thoughtful. and and current.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2009

I think this school gives their students a conscience. They strive to educate each child to their full potential. The parent involvement is tremendous and certainly helps the teachers and students in their overall success. There is a new principal on board who has great leadership and attitude. They also have many extracurricular activities to choose from. It's been a great choice for our family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2009

IC/OLPH is an incredibly positive place. All 4 of my kids have loved it. The teachers are top notch, the parents are super-involved, the kids are happy. It's a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 60%
Hispanic 11% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 7%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • First Place Mock Trial Middle School Championship (2014)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Kimberlie Kilroy
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (425) 349-7048

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Mock trial competition club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$5000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Archbishop Murphy High School
other Catholic high schools
Everett High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2508 Hoyt Ave
Everett, WA 98201
Website: Click here
Phone: (425) 349-7777

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT