Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Mary Magdalen Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 381 students

Our school is best known for our outstanding curriculum and supportive parents.

 
 

Living in Everett

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $240,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,070.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 25, 2013

St. Mary Magdalen School is a true gift to the community. I can say with absolute confidence, my children are being prepared for their future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2013

I have been associated with St. Mary Magdalen School both as a parent and teacher. I have had the pleasure of seeing my own children grow into committed, caring adults with a strong foundation of academics and sense of purpose to make the world a better place. I have also had the amazing opportunity to work with many wonderful staff members, students, and families. I would highly recommend our school as a place for growth in faith, education, and creativity.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 7, 2013

I have substituted in many schools both public and private. This school stands out from the rest as a community of love and support for teachers, students and parents. There is a real loving sense of acceptance and Christian charity. Besides this all classrooms look clean, uncluttered and well organized. The students receive an excellent education. I highly recommend this school over others I have worked in.


Posted October 13, 2012

Our daughter attends St. Mary Magdalen and we are very happy with the academic and spiritual environment.. SMM participates in many community service projects which we believe are key to raising socially responsible citizens. The teachers, administrators, and school families together make SMM a wonderful community. I would highly recommend SMM to families looking for a quality education for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2012

Since it's my belief that you should never hate anything I did not give SMM 1 star otherwise I would have. My family and I miss Sister she was the best very accepting and willing to communicate, a true Christian. Under the new "reign" we do not feel accepted as a family they draw conclusions which are incorrect and pass judgement on others very quickly. The reason I sent my daughter to this school in the first place was so that she could learn to not judge others and to treat others with kindness, along with having a good education of course. This is our last year at this school and I would not recommend this school to anyone unless they change things substantially which I doubt unless they replace a few staff members or rather the hierarchy. Check out St Thomas More in Lynnwood or Holy Rosary in Edmonds I've heard good things from the parents at those schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2010

I am the youngest of 5 kids. All of us went to St. Mary Magdalen. As a former student I can tell you that this school promotes family involvement with their children's education. They also have an academic program that is beyond any public schools. I currently have my daughter attending and she loves it there. The teachers are amazing and you can tell truly love their job. I strongly suggest this school to anyone with children of elementary to middle school age. It is worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

I was disappointed in St. Mary Magdalen. The administration isn't strong, high teacher turnover and some inappropriate parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2008

This school is definetly the best school I've ever attended. Even without having been baptized, I am surrounded by a wonderful religious enviroment with people that truly care about me and my fellow classmates.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2004

This school provides one of the best education foundations of all schools in Western Washington. It's fully accredited and has continually turned out students in the 95% percentile nationally. While SMM is a parochial school, there are openings for all faiths.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

This is a wonderful school and pre school for children to attend. A+
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 19% 7%
Two or more races 16% 6%
Hispanic 4% 20%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Knights of Columbus Service Awards (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Bruce J. Stewart
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Boys CYO Participation
Girls sports
  • Girls CYO Participation

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • Mock trial competition club
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$5000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Archbishop Murphy High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8615 7th Ave SE
Everett, WA 98208
Website: Click here
Phone: (425) 353-7559

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT