Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lowell Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 489 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 9, 2011

Horrible school. My oldest child was falling behind last year and I asked the teacher to see about extra help as he is developmentally delayed and she never followed through with my request but had no problem letting us know when he didn't "make his day". The school got a horrible AYP score that year and I chose to transfer my kids to another school in the district. Within the first month of school the teacher at the new school noticed my child's delay and had him tested for special education and he qualified. Other parents at this school have had the same problems. Now I feel like my kids are getting the education and positive reinforcement they deserve to be successful. Glad I transferred them out of Lowell. Very shocked that schools in the same district can be so different in the education they provide students. Lowell you need a major overhaul. In my opinion you FAIL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2009

The staff at Lowell care deeply for each and every student. I have taught at this school for more than 20 years and I remain proud of the students, their parents, and my fellow teachers. Lowell values the academic and social development of each child. We need more parent volunteers to better reach our goals. We are student centered and devoted to each child's success. Please come by and see for youself!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 3, 2008

I personally went to Lowell k-5 as is my daughter now. I have had no problems with the way they teach or handle the children. They encourage you as parents to get involved in your child's homework and classwork. On more than one occassion I have recieved calls from the school to make sure important information was passed on by the kids and to see if I had any questions about what was going on at school. My daughter is well above the standards for her grade and I think it has to do with the schooling she has recieved at Lowelll.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2007

We've have been pleased so far with our daughter's schooling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2006

What a pit. My kids attended this school for two years. The teachers at Lowell are uninspired and it shows in just about everything this school does. Did I mention that the only thing worse than the teachers, is the support staff? We were totally soured on the Everett School District because of what was happening at this school. We have since attended two other schools in the district and are pleased to report that both of them were outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2005

Both of my children attended this school and I was not impressed. It appeared that because there was no money for some programs, parents were discouraged form having formal plans for their child's education. I was also not kept informed of changes to my child's educational plan until after the change was implemented.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2005

Lowell is by far the worst Elementary school I have experienced and my son has attended 4. The PTA was very effective in asking for funds and organizing meetings but did little else to aid a school with deep deep issues. The were few extracuricular activites offered, at 3rd grade level, subjects covered (hula dancing for 6 weeks) were irrelavent to education in general. Lowell is geared for strong parent participation through a Co-op environ. this I feel is the only way your child would get an effective education at this school. Class sizes are large and fluctuating with children coming in and out and a large portion of low income families. I strongly recommend against anyone attending this school. Homeschool would be a more effective.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2004

Lowell hosts COMPASS co-operative School. That's what makes it great. Parents are motivated to help in their children's class rooms and in the school. COMPASS is an enrichment program that allows children more hands-on education and to see their parents take an active part in their education. You just can't beat that. Thank you Lowell Elementary for having COMPASS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2004

Lowell is a good school. My daughter is having a wonderful time in Kindergarten. She does lots of crafts, which is great! I didn't do those until 2nd or 3rd grade. The teacher she has is a great teacher, considering the amount of time she has to teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2004

When I went to lowell it was a great school and I hope it stays that way for generations to come. Thank you lowell staff for helping me reach my goals and dreams.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students64%
Female62%
Male66%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic63%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Low income54%
Not low income91%
Special education15%
Not special education72%
Limited English67%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students57%
Female64%
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic44%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Low income50%
Not low income78%
Special education8%
Not special education65%
Limited English50%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students68%
Female66%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic59%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Low income64%
Not low income75%
Special education27%
Not special education75%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students80%
Female87%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic71%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Low income72%
Not low income96%
Special education46%
Not special education87%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students54%
Female69%
Male36%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic35%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White61%
Low income40%
Not low income79%
Special education18%
Not special education60%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students54%
Female54%
Male54%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic40%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White55%
Low income54%
Not low income54%
Special educationn/a
Not special education60%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students72%
Female81%
Male64%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic73%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Low income72%
Not low income73%
Special educationn/a
Not special education76%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students75%
Female76%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Low income72%
Not low income81%
Special educationn/a
Not special education78%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 60%
Hispanic 21% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 7%
Black 5% 5%
Two or more races 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 119%N/A8%
Special education 114%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 236%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 18N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 15N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 54%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Music
  • Theory

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Colleen Welsh

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5010 View Dr
Everett, WA 98203
Phone: (425) 385-5300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Other Schools
Everett, WA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT