Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Silver Lake Elementary School 5

Posted April 23, 2016
- a parent
Our daughter had Ms. Martinez for kindergarten and we absolutely loved her!! Sophia's reading and math improved a lot by the end of the year. Ms. Martinez always provided great communication with us, which we really appreciated.

Silver Lake Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 23, 2016
- a parent
We want to thank Ms. Martinez. She is a wonderful teachers!! Request her if you can for kindergarten!!


Silver Lake Elementary School 2

Posted February 18, 2015
- a parent
We started at Silver Lake a month and a half ago, in the middle of the school year, after moving from Louisiana. Louisiana is known for being at the bottom of the barrel for everything, so I assumed we'd have access to better schools in Washington. My 2nd grade son was in a gifted/talented classroom in Louisiana. They were doing 3rd grade work in most subjects but were in 4th and 5th grade material for reading. I'm disappointed in the curriculum at Silver Lake. I chose an apartment in Silver Lake's district because it was rated a 9 here on GreatSchools. My son said they haven't had science in over a week because a lot of the students have needed extra time on their social studies work. My son never has homework save for one math sheet a night, which takes about 5 minutes for him to complete. The math is so basic anyway! They aren't doing any writing activities. I haven't seen any tests or quizzes. He doesn't have art or music like we had in Louisiana.

Silver Lake Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2013
- a parent
We just started K, great so far. We love it. My daughter need ELL for English. She improved her English in 2 weeks just unbelievable.

Silver Lake Elementary School 5

Posted April 21, 2013
- a parent
In my experience, the teachers have been excellent for both of my kids. They have communicated well with me about my children's progress, have given them a lot of extra help to be ready for the MSP, and considering the really multi-cultural aspect of the classrooms there, I think they do a good job of balancing their teaching for the population they have. In all the years my boys have attended, there was only one teacher that I wasn't too thrilled with. And she has moved to another school.


Silver Lake Elementary School 1

Posted June 20, 2011
- a parent
My older child attended this school in 2nd - 3rd grades. She is a solid student and enjoys school, but two years at Silver Lake did a lot of damage. Teachers told us that students should learn math facts at home since they were no longer covered in class. When we moved, she was two years behind her peers in math! Her 2nd-grade teacher (now teaching kindergarten?) told her that spelling didn't matter at all, "just sound-spell!" A few years later, when my younger child was in 2nd grade at a different school, he looked at work done by his older sibling, full of incorrect spellings and punctuation, mixed upper- and lower-case, nonsensical sentences, etc. The Silver Lake teacher had written "Great Job!!" and stamped it with one of her beloved rubber stamps. As my younger one said, "If anyone in my class turned in a mess like that, we'd lose recess for three days!" Ah, but it's so much easier to use that "good job!" stamp than to actually teach those kids, isn't it? Silver Lake got my child off to a terrible first start and a few years later we're still recovering. What an absolutely horrible, horrible school.

Silver Lake Elementary School 4

Posted April 18, 2011
- a parent
I am pleased to be a parent of children attending Silver Lake Elementary. The programs that have been put in place over the recent years have allowed all students at Silver Lake to strive for greatness. I have one child in 5th grade this year that will be moving on and another getting ready to enter, I wouldn't change this. Silver Lake continues to receive recognition and awards this year which proves the dedication of the administration, staff, and volunteers!

Silver Lake Elementary School 4

Posted March 13, 2011
- a parent
School of distinction 2010; Principal of the year 2010. My child has attended Silver Lake for 4th and 5th grade with a diagnosis of Asperger's. My child is in a standard classroom with an IEP and some accomodations. Principal, Psychologist, counselor and resource teacher are excellent. My child is challenged, encouraged and held accountable within reason.


Silver Lake Elementary School 3

Posted August 26, 2008
- a parent
My son has been attending Silver Lake Elementary for several years. While there appear to be some great aspects to this school, I've been primarily disappointed with the lack of focus on improving academic performance throughout the years. Silverlake has chronically been one of the lower achieving schools from amongst surrounding schools in the context of standardized tests, with minimal improvement throughout time. There are probably many factors that contribute to this beyond the school administrator's control, but the fact that administration hasn't talked openly about its goals, plans, criteria for success, and targets; and furthermore about shortcomings that need to be overcome, leads me to believe that the school isn't committed a cohesive, well-thought plan that can be communicated to parents with the same goals in mind, nor to self-evaluation in terms of how it serves and educates students and improvement.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Silver Lake Elementary School
12815 Bothelleverett Hwy, Everett, WA  98208
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (425) 385-6900
Last modified Silver Lake Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top