Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Silver Firs Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 14, 2012

My family cannot afford to live in our house anymore but we are finding every way to make it so my daughter can stay at this school. The staff is wonderful; principal, guidance counselor, teachers, etc. They all our so caring and make each and every student there fell loved and welcomed. I know if my daughter needs someone to talk to other then her parents she can meet with the amazing guidance counselor Kim Hirata. When I send my daughter to school I know she is kept in safe hands and don't need to worry about anything happening to her while she is there. The teachers there I find in every grade level do their best to make sure they find fun and exciting ways to teach our children which they bring home to share how learning is worth listening too. I applaud this school on their amazement and wish all schools are like this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2011

My 2 children attended another elementary school in the Everett School District and I am extremely pleased with this school. They were able to transfer to Silver Firs because our neighborhood school got low AYP scores. My older son needed special education and Silver Firs was right on top of it and have put a plan in motion to help him with his special needs where the last school did nothing last year to help him at all. I'm so glad we have found such a great home school and I feel very confident my kids will get the education and positive reinforcement they need to become successful adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2010

Wonderful School! My 3 children have attended starting from Kindergarten to Grade 5. When my youngest daughter needed an IEP they knew it and approached me with the special education she needed when I didn't know what to do. They have bent over backwards to help her. Mr. Minchew does a WONDERFUL job with the music program. He is so funny and has the children really love music. He's strict with the class, but a joker and makes it fun for the student. He's a joy to watch. All of the teachers my children have had were great. Very helpful, willing to give my youngest daughter the help she needed when she needed it. They support my faith when I need to take my daughter out for services, and my children really know their stuff! I've seen parents from other schools take their children out of those schools to have them come to Silver Firs because they knew how good it was!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

I love this school. I currently have two students attending, and next year will have three. The Principal takes an interest in all students, and the special education department is wonderful. The school is nestled away from the rest of the world in a peaceful, relaxing location, that gives parents a sense of security. I would recommend this school to all of those who are given a choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2006

The teachers are good even if I don't always agree with them, they get the kids to learn. The principal is always willing to listen and makes sure that bullying stops. There ware a lot of parent volunteers and we feel welcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 25, 2005

My two children attended Silver Firs from 1997 to 2001, from 1st thru 5th grade. While individual teachers varied from o.k. to excellent, our overall experience with Silver Firs was that it is just an average, traditional school, and it doesn't really offer a lot of educational options. Coming from another (better) district, we know there is a lot of room for improvement at Silver Firs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

My older daughter attended Silver Firs from 3rd-5th grade and it was a great experience. Her teachers were wonderful and her 4th & 5th grade teacher whom she looped with really prepared her for the honors program at the junior high level. My younger daughter has finished k and 1st with equally nice results. Parents are very involved and the P.R.I.D.E. program establishes a wonderfully polite and respectful community for all involved. The music and PE teachers are very loving and enthusiastic as well as being very qualified.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2005

I think Silver Firs is a fantastic school. The children are hard workers and do their best each day. They consistently do well on standardized test. We offer music, technology, gym and library to each child. We have a PRIDE program that encourages the children to take pride in themselves as well as our school. The PTA offers many other extracurricular activities and sponsors many family events. Our school offers foreign language classes and a chess club is beginning in the fall. We have a large PTA that is very supportive and involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2004

This is the best school you will ever find.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 6, 2004

Patty Gauksheim is a very hands on principal. She is out there with the kids in the lunch room, at recess, popping into the classrooms, etc. All of the teachers I've had the pleasure of working with have the best interest of their students. They have a math club where kids can join to get extra help - and it's fun. It's a positive experience, not a negative one. The PTA is highly involved with the school and seems to bend over backwards for the teachers and staff. Parental involvement is crucial to success and Silver Firs has a large share of parents who volunteer via PTA or classroom. We love our school and have had a wonderful experience for the past five years.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students76%
Female71%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asian82%
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Low income73%
Not low income76%
Special education45%
Not special education83%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students89%
Female90%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asian82%
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanic75%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Low income82%
Not low income91%
Special education65%
Not special education95%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students70%
Female64%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asian90%
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanic55%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Low income47%
Not low income75%
Special education43%
Not special education74%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female79%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asian70%
Asian/Pacific Islander70%
Hispanic70%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Low income71%
Not low income81%
Special education50%
Not special education84%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students68%
Female79%
Male59%
Blackn/a
Asian90%
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Low income41%
Not low income73%
Special education29%
Not special education74%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students80%
Female83%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Low income62%
Not low income83%
Special educationn/a
Not special education88%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students77%
Female83%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Low income54%
Not low income82%
Special educationn/a
Not special education84%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students69%
Female76%
Male62%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Low income46%
Not low income74%
Special educationn/a
Not special education77%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 13% 7%
Hispanic 13% 20%
Two or more races 11% 6%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 110%N/A8%
Special education 119%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 212%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 18N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 13N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 47%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5909 146th Place SE
Everett, WA 98208
Phone: (425) 385-6500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Totem Falls
Snohomish, WA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT