Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Penny Creek Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 716 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 6, 2014

Bullying isn't well regulated here. Teachers don't do anything, I hated 4th and 5th grade.


Posted July 11, 2013

My son just finished all day kindergarten and we loved his teacher. As an elementary school teacher myself, I am very impressed with the staff and the procedures that are in place. What a great school! This site is incorrect. The principal is Chad Golden and he is AWESOME!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2013

This is my kids first year at this school. I find that the two teachers I have right now do not know how to communicate. There should be more notification from the teachers in regards to what is going on with the students in the class. Ms Kee tend to be rigid and unable to adapt to kids that I feel she doesn't like.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2012

I love this school! My daughter has attended for the last 4 years and has loved it! the teachers are amazing and the music program is advanced. The music teacher not only had them sing but has them memorize choreography and play all types of instruments also! They have many programs and fun after school events too. They are caring and make sure the kids are respectful to one another. The only thing bad I have to say is they have one real grumpy lady at the front desk, everything else is stellar!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2012

Rude staff and boy are they noisy, and you would think for good reason. Kids sit on cold cement, staff get to stand or sit in chair. Very poor quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2011

Penny Creek is a great school. I am so glad my kids go there. The principal is amazing,very involved, and knows the majority of the kids by name. I have really felt like the staff has my kids best interest at heart. For one that was giving her a challenge. For the other it was making sure she had the support to be successful. The PTA also makes this school great. It is very active and they do so many fun activities for the students throughout the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2009

This was a great school for my son. Mr. Jacobson is the best teacher my son has had and he is a pleasure to work with on an adult level as well. He has taken 21st century technology and used it to benefit the children and the parents (email and pdf scans all homework so kids are able to complete at home if they pull the 'I forgot it at school' routine). A++++++ for Mr. Jacobson
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2008

I've spent six years here at Penny Creek and am excited for middle school. Penny Creek has helped me prepare for middle school and though I'm excited to gain this new responsibility I will miss Penny Creek.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 18, 2007

Two of our three children have attended Penny Creek and we were horrified to see how poorly organized and unconcerned the staff and teachers were about the progress of our children. After trying to work with the school for three years with no success we knew we had to make a change for our children's sake. I attribute our awful experience to lack of leadership, a new principal every year for the last 5 years, and poorly organized and trained staff. The WASLs scores alone don't show the whole picture but they sure are a great indicator as to whether or not the teachers are doing their jobs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2006

I have a fourth grader at Penny Creek. He qualifies for special services. I have been very pleased with the school. They work extremely well with my son. He is having the best year he has ever had.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

My daughter attended Penny Creek Elementary and my son now attends. It is a great school, great staff, great teachers. Lots of support for parents and the kids. I love Penny Creek.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2005

Penny Creek is a great place to learn! What an amazing PTA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2005

This school is one that has highly involved parents and a very active PTA. I have been impressed so far with the academic programs, as well as the music programs being done. The teachers are excellent and the bus system is well-done. There seem to be a lot of kids involved in the highly capable program as well. There will be a new principal this fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2005

This school is located on a very busy street so most kids are bused. The kids line up each day at the undercover area and walked to class by their teachers. Same goes in the afternoon. School hours are 9:30-3:25. Lot's of parents volunteer. The school holds many functions throughout the year. Even performances from each class in the spring. They offer an all day kindergarden program. There is a YMCA daycare on site. Music and PE is offered. I have seen spanish classes offered as well for a fee. the doors are always locked for security and they require parents to go down from their cars to pick up their children. Their programs seem to be very structured. They also have a nice library plus a computer lab. My kindergarder even gets to go on the computer. Over all this school is very great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2005

All I have to say is sometimes the staff is a bit rude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2004

The office staff is unprofessional and rude. We have applied for a variance for our daughter to attend Silver Fils elementary. The vice principal could care less about our concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2004

This is the best school I have seen. I love that my kids spent their elementary years with this staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students86%
Female91%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asian97%
Asian/Pacific Islander97%
Hispanic64%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Low income67%
Not low income91%
Special education56%
Not special education90%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students86%
Female97%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic55%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Low income63%
Not low income92%
Special education50%
Not special education91%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students74%
Female74%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asian86%
Asian/Pacific Islander86%
Hispanic42%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Low income56%
Not low income79%
Special education46%
Not special education78%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students86%
Female87%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asian86%
Asian/Pacific Islander86%
Hispanic67%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Low income80%
Not low income87%
Special education54%
Not special education90%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students69%
Female81%
Male57%
Blackn/a
Asian86%
Asian/Pacific Islander86%
Hispanic58%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Low income40%
Not low income77%
Special education39%
Not special education73%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students87%
Female91%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asian90%
Asian/Pacific Islander91%
Hispanic85%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Low income77%
Not low income90%
Special education46%
Not special education91%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students80%
Female90%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asian83%
Asian/Pacific Islander81%
Hispanic85%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Low income50%
Not low income90%
Special education18%
Not special education86%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students83%
Female88%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asian83%
Asian/Pacific Islander86%
Hispanic85%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Low income70%
Not low income87%
Special education36%
Not special education87%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 15% 7%
Hispanic 12% 20%
Two or more races 10% 6%
Black 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 15%N/A8%
Special education 113%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 215%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 19N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 14N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 58%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4117 132nd St SE
Everett, WA 98208
Phone: (425) 385-7200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT