Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Fall City, WA
Students enrolled: 407

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Chief Kanim Middle School 5

Posted May 05, 2014
- a parent
This is a great middle school! The teachers are extremely supportive and helpful, placing this school at second in the nation for 8th grade science MSP scores. The schools academics program is on par with neighboring districts, sending kids off to high school with geometry completed, critical reading, annotating, questioning abilities, and an outstanding power behind persuasive writing. The schools science program is amazing, teaching kids in depth about forces of nature, natural phenomena, basic chemistry, and astronomy all with intuitive lessons and fascinating lab experiments. The principal is extremely supportive, caring, and understanding, willing to help in a heartbeat, and entirely helpful to gifted students. My student was looking to take Pre-Calculus and AP Physics in 8th grade, and in less than a week, the principal had organized a bus transportation option to the high school for him to do his courses. The one thing the school lacks, is the option of elective courses, only offering band, choir, and technology (PLTW). All in all, CKMS is a powerful, positive learning environment, preparing students for high school, in district and out of district alike.

Chief Kanim Middle School 5

Posted July 09, 2013
- a parent
This school is outstanding! The teachers are fabolous and work well with the students. The principle, is a great leader. The teachers care about the kids and it shown through their actions.


Chief Kanim Middle School 5

Posted April 27, 2013
- a parent
We moved into the area from Dallas during the 2012 school year. We came from an area of excellent schools and feel like Chief Kanim compares very well to the school we came from with the added benefit of being a smaller, more personal environment. I have two middle schoolers at Chief Kanim and they have both really enjoyed their teachers. The principal is great and easy to communicate with. I especially love the sports programs that are open to all and have something for everyone. I enjoy being in a smaller school district and I don't feel like the schools suffer at all from the district's size.

Chief Kanim Middle School 5

Posted February 08, 2011
- a parent
Excellent principal who respects students and prepares them for high school. Many caring teachers who go the extra mile to help students of all levels.

Chief Kanim Middle School 3

Posted February 07, 2011
- a parent
CKMS is definitely the most quality middle school in the SVSD. Principal is responsive and tough but kind. My biggest issue has to do with the fact that they have little to no opportunities for students who excel. The "hi-c" program has been abandoned in the humanities with teachers insisting that they are capable of managing blended classrooms. The reality is that students who should have more expected of them are zoning out. The math there is not up to par with neighboring districts where students leave 8th grade prepared to take geometry in 9th. At ckms (and the svsd in general) taking algebra 1 in 8th is considered "highly capable" while in neighboring districts students on a "highly capable" track are taking geometry in 8th grade. The district needs to respond better to children who are excelling and have more to offer them otherwise they will continue to seek better education out of district. Of course when they get done with middle school they are stuck with Mt. Si....


Chief Kanim Middle School 5

Posted May 12, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Chief Kanim Middle School 1

Posted August 12, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Chief Kanim Middle School 5

Posted November 06, 2008
- a parent
CKMS is an inclusive, welcoming community that nurtures and inspires kids to be inquisitive and creative - and strive to do their best!! Three sons have attended - and I am grateful they had this opportunity!!


Chief Kanim Middle School 5

Posted April 19, 2007
- a student
My teacher recommendations go to : Mrs. Vanderwood - 8th grade Humanities and Language Arts. Mrs. Treadwell - 7th grade Language Arts, Drama, and Humanities. Mr.Fowler - 6th grade Math, Science, Humanities and Reading.

Chief Kanim Middle School 5

Posted April 12, 2006
- a parent
My daughter is doing incredible in this school. The teachers keep them responsible for their work, and they set the bar high. I love that they have the hi-c classes that work their brains. The only thing I would change would be to make sure that our kids have PE more often, depending on the classes they take, they can avoid PE all together.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Chief Kanim Middle School
32627 SE Redmond Fall City R, Fall City, WA  98024
(425) 831-8225
Last modified Chief Kanim Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Chief Kanim Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top