Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Christian Faith School

Private | PK-12 | 259 students

Our School is best known for our Championship Basketball & Volleyball teams

 
 

Living in Federal Way

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $159,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $940.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 19 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 19, 2014

CFS is not only committed to academic excellence and encouraging each student to be the best that they can be, but also nurturing each student's walk with Christ. We have been very pleased with our children's experience at CFS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

Christian Faith School is a fantastic blessing to my children and my family. We moved from California just to have our children in this GREAT school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

This is a top notch Christian School - where not only is the spiritual life strong, but so are the academics. The teachers are amazing and do anything they can to help each student succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

My daughter just started and has grown in the last month. I love to hear her sing songs that she has learned and show me what she has learned. At her age, one of the main goal in class is to instill love for learning - I think that is being achieved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

I enjoy working at (and sending my kids to) a school that not only requires students to excel academically, but also nurtures excellence in character.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 17, 2013

Great to see a school challenge kids so they learn. Too many public schools are just trying to get the kids through.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

Christian Faith School is an incredible organization dedicated to training up children mentally, intellectually, physically, emotionally, relationally, and spiritually. All three of my daughters have flourished under the excellent teaching staff and the leadership of a stellar principal, Tom Puddy. I have never doubted our decision to invest in our children by sending them to Christian Faith Center.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

My oldest daughter just graduated from CFS this year, and my youngest daughter is now in 8th grade. We LOVE this school. Their focus is on leadership training and growing strong and confident in the Word of God. You can find many schools with good academic programs, but we chose this school for not just for the education but also for the impartation. The class sizes are pretty small, so the kids really grow close friendships that last a lifetime. - I can say this because my husband and both of his brothers also attended and graduated from CFS! Highly highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

The school is great, my son is very advanced for his age because of the education from CFS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

Excellent at guiding my kids to be critical thinkers willing to work hard to make a positive impact on our world
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

We have two primary age children attending CFS with another one close behind. We have really noticed how far ahead they are vs. their peers who attend other schools. We really appreciate the curriculum and outstanding teachers. Physical education is great and school athletic programs are growing every year with Soccer, Basketball, Volleyball and maybe even Golf soon. I'm continually impressed with the CFS students and love hearing about the scholarships offered to graduating seniors. I know CFS is one of the most diverse schools in the state and I also really appreciate how we are raising our kids in a "color blind" environment. We have made this a priority in our family and are looking forward to having all of our children attend from Preschool through High School Graduation. I can't think of a better foundation for their long term success in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

My daughter go to CFS, she only been in school for a week and always talk about how she like her teacher , her classmate and also the school Principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

Christian Faith School has been a blessing for my daughter - excellent academics, caring and excellent teachers, and a strong principal with a vision of overall excellence for his students- which he carries through with actions. The teaching of Christian principles daily makes this school the total package. The icing on the cake is that they REALLY care about their students!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

Love the small class size, commitment of faculty, quality of spiritual instruction, strong academics. Great elementary program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

There is great support among staff and families in bringing out the God given strengths and abilities in each student. I love the freedom to speak the truth of God's Word each day and to tell the students that God is for them and loves them.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 4, 2013

We love CFS and the academic and spiritual growth that it gives to our children! Every year our child rates very high on the SAT ratings and it's all due to the high levels of academics taught at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2013

We've been really happy with the academic and Biblical foundation our child has received at Christian Faith School. Ongoing communication between parents and teachers/staff is welcomed and encouraged. Our child has a planner that is sent home every day, with his assignments listed and any notes on issues the teacher feels need to be addressed with us. That way, we can respond via planner, email, or set up a face-to-face meeting. Dropping by the classroom before or after school is also welcomed. Volunteering is encouraged, but is NOT mandatory. (Incentives are given to parents for meeting a certain number of volunteer hours if they are able to offer their time, like as chaperone on field trips or coming in and helping the teacher out in the classroom or with special events during the year.) The student body is made up of students from many different ethnic backgrounds, and there is also an international student program in place. Our child started here in preschool, and we plan to keep him in CFS until he graduates high school. We just cannot say enough good things about the school and the staff. We love the teachers and atmosphere at CFS! This is an awesome school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

This school has both a strong academic and a spiritual foundation. The leadership has a heart for God and emphasizes the importance of letting God's spirit participate in our lives on a daily basis. I love that my son and two daughters have had this influence in their lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

We have four children, two have graduated from Christian Faith School, and two to go! We have been so blessed being a part of such a great school. We are thankful for a possitive, spiritual, family like atmoshere, great teachers/staff who really care for and believe in the students now as well as for their future. I recommend our school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2013

I have children who currently attend CFS and one that graduated. I was an involved parent volunteer for years and now work for the school. I love what we provide in academics, spiritual growth, and total fitness. Our students from Kindergarten to 12th grade are getting the amazing opportunity to not only learn the basics of education, but also life lessons. We have brought into our school "The 7 habits of Highly Effective people" and Legacy Training "Biblical Blueprint for Sexual Integrity". No school is perfect. As a parent we desire the best for our kids and as a staff member I desire the best for each student. This truly is a great place for ordinary kids to become EXTRAORDINARY people!
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 36% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 30% 7%
Black 15% 5%
Two or more races 12% 6%
Hispanic 5% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Washington
Oral Roberts University
Seattle Pacific University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Korean
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Tom Puddy
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (253) 200-1335

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Service learning
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Korean
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Math club
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer at certain events
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$6000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Washington
Oral Roberts University
Seattle Pacific University
College preparation / awareness offered
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

33645 20th Ave S
Federal Way, WA 98003
Website: Click here
Phone: (253) 943-2500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Support School
Federal Way, WA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT