Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brigadoon Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 25, 2014

The only thing I do not like about Brigadoon is that now I only have one kid there. I once had three enrolled here, and was our home away from home. The teacher, staff, PTA and community involvement is outstanding, and since it's a walk only school, all my kids' friends live close. When all three are done, I will truly miss the sense of family Brigadoon always gave us!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

Love everyone in this school!!!! They are such good teachers!!!! Ms. Moenoa and Ms. Moderelli are working very hard - our heroes!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2014

I am very happy with this school. For the most part the staff is friendly and inviting, I am thrilled with the teachers of my students. The Principal I havent really got to know or to talk to but she was borderline rude the first conversation, but my students seem to like her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

Brigadoon has always been a great school my daughter is in 1st grade now and is learning chapter books! Yay
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2011

Brigadoon is a very educated school for my child that is in fifth grade, and she is in GATE. she learns something new everyday, and she is good at passing her grades. No one bullies her, there's adults who watch the recess grounds, which makes me feel safe. well there's even GREAT teachers there that get on it. It make me feel confident that she has a good education in her life. Brigadoon is a very good school to attend to. but even though there isn't very much PTA i hope some people will join the PTA, to have good yearbooks, money for the monster-mash, even money for more field trips. But i wish there will be more teachers to watch the students just in case for inappropriate behavior. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2009

Based upon conversations with other educators and my experiences, Brigadoon has wonderful teachers who are very passionate about education and as a result boast some of the top standardized test scores in the state. The PTA leadership puts tremendous effort into making education positive at Brigadoon. Brigadoon, however, suffers from a lack of parental involvement throughout the education process. Leadership fails to adhere to best practices recommended by both governmental and non-governmental agencies geared to increasing parental involvement. Parents must reach out to teachers and the principal for information. If it were not for district and state policies there would be little communication initiated by the school. There is no effort by the school to create a learning partnership with parents. With that said, much of the problems at this school are due to leadership challenges at the district level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2008

I have two children that attend Brigadoon. I have really been impressed with the quality of education my kids have recieved at the school. Both my kids were reading fluently as they left kindergarten. The teachers they have had have been kind, and have inspired them to do there very best. The Librarian is amazing, the music teacher is very competent and the kids in every grade level have their own concert every year. I wish the PTA was a little stronger. There are many quality, caring people that work very hard for the children at this school. All in all, Brigadoon has done a great job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2008

My child has attended pre-school and is now in Kindergarten at Brigadoon. I have been impressed by the emphasis on phonics and reading and am amazed that my five year old is now an independent reader who reads newspapers and chapter books. The creative approach to writing has created an enjoyable atmosphere for my child and has made learning fun. I feel there is a well rounded program and I feel involved and up to date with what her class is doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2007

My child previously attended Brigadoon. My child was injured seriously at school twice, and I was very disappointed in the way it was handled. While I realize that accidents do happen, it was clear that the school was more concerned about whether we would sue (which we didn't) than my child's well being. As far as academics...At Brigadoon, I thought there was too much emphasis on Accelerated Reader, and they use the new funny math, rather than teachiung traditional math skills. When I expressed my concern about my child not knowing her basic multiplication facts (after 4th grade), I was told that she could use a calculator...how does that help?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2003

I have two children that go to this school. One is in special Ed and gets lots of help and support from the LRC teacher and classroom teacher. My other child's teacher is supportive and sends home extra homework so she can stay busy and increase her skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
16%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students63%
Female79%
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Low income63%
Not low income64%
Special education23%
Not special education82%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students59%
Female79%
Male41%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income59%
Not low income57%
Special education23%
Not special education75%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students89%
Female87%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Low income80%
Not low income100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female87%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Low income76%
Not low income90%
Special educationn/a
Not special education92%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students64%
Female59%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Low income52%
Not low income79%
Special educationn/a
Not special education73%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students69%
Female76%
Male64%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Low income52%
Not low income85%
Special educationn/a
Not special education78%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students67%
Female76%
Male61%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Low income52%
Not low income81%
Special educationn/a
Not special education78%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students67%
Female67%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income43%
Not low income89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education73%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 40% 60%
Hispanic 20% 20%
Two or more races 15% 6%
Black 11% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 7%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 115%N/A8%
Special education 111%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 253%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 15N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 12N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 55%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Chris Odell

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3601 SW 336th St
Federal Way, WA 98023
Phone: (253) 945-2400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Crescent Heights
Tacoma, WA



Northeast Tacoma
Tacoma, WA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT