Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lakota Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 268 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 2, 2014

I am beginning my 3rd year at Lakota as an 8th grader this coming fall and I truly enjoy all Lakota has to offer. I am in the Cambridge program and my teachers are very respectful, helpful and nice to us. The Cambridge program here is excellent and challenging, which is fantastic. All the events that Lakota provides is great and are sports here are good so we win district championships a lot. The music program is amazing; since in May Lakota's band won a trophy at the Music in the Parks festival at Silverwood Theme Park in Idaho. If Lakota beat out schools from different states, then clearly this is the best musical middle school in Federal Way. I love Lakota and I think it has prepared me for the future very well. Lakota overall is a great school. One of the best in the district.


Posted March 18, 2014

Horrible Prison uh I mean school. Trust me don't put your child there. Drama from teachers and admin is unreal. Pregnant teens, high teens, crazy stuff going on here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2014

Lakota is a wonderful school. The teachers send daily updates through email and I enjoy hearing about my daughters day. My child has struggled in math and her teacher Mr. Santo has made a special effort to encourage her in order to help build her confidence. she tells me he is one of the best teachers she has ever had. The campus is beautiful and well maintained. They put emphasis on educating students in technology and how to use it to learn as well as work. I think its never to early to prepare them for a life of successful employment. This school has been great for my child. she's never done better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2011

I didn't care for this school, and was quite happy to leave it. I refused to go to Decatur or Federal Way High School partially because Lakota feeds into those two schools, and I was suspicious. Many of the teachers were unfriendly and didn't care about the students, although a few were fantastic. I didn't think much of the cambridge program. It wasn't challenging at all and I honestly felt it was a complete waste of time. The teachers and staff were more focused on general academics instead of the individual student's needs. I don't know why people praise the cambridge program so much, it truly isn't worth it.


Posted May 10, 2011

I have had children at Lakota for the last 5 years and have 1 more year to go. I am impressed with the quality of the administration and staff, and my kids have received a great education. With the involved PTA, Watch DOGS program, and parent involvement it truly is a school where "Together We Win".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2010

My children have been at Lakota Middle School for 3 years now. I have seen them grow as individuals and students to heights beyond what preconcieved notions we had about middle school. All staff and administration care deeply about the success of each student. Thier motto is "Together We Win" and it couldn't be more true. Parent involvement at Lakota surpasses expectations, no longer are the days of parents only being highly involved in elementary school. Lakota is also the only middle school in Federal Way to have a WATCH D.O.G.S. (Dads of great students)program and it's in its 3rd year!! A very dedicated PTA and dedicated volunteers. It is a win, win, win for all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

Professional academic teaching and support staff is complemented by attentive and instructive athletics. Beautiful new construction is definately a positive. Security officer is adaquate, but could use better discipline and consequences for misbehaving and inappropriate language..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2010

I have just completed my third year at Lakota and I had a blast! The staff is wonderful (Ok, a few rotten eggs, but nothing substantial) There is a great classroom environment and I really have enjoyed my time there. There are some gang problems, but as long as you don't get involved, they don't affect you. I was in the Cambridge program, so maybe the genral population sees it differently, but I know that I had a great time and I'm sad to leave. Especially since we just got a new building! I took a tour and it was SO cool!


Posted April 20, 2010

We have the best staff. We are professional and all work together to benefit our students and community. Our students are super. And our PTA is the BEST! We have lots of community involvement.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 27, 2007

Through my 3 years attending this school, its has not been an expeirence i plan to look back to any time soon. First of all, there is a huge gang problem. Not only does this make learning harder by frequent disturbances but it also makes it scary to go to. Second, the teachers at the school are not very good. Dont get me wrong, i have had some great teachers at this school such as, ms. kiraly, mr. beals, and mr. howard. Anopther reason is the drug and fight problem. the very last reason is the conditrion of the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 2, 2006

My children started going to this school last year, as 6th and 7th graders... They have found it very different from thier last school in Snohomish county. The school is far more watchful of the students time, as has so far been a positive experience for my girls. They have found the teachers, and staff to be very kind and friendly, and made friends quickly. They have wanted to move back to our old home town, but contimplate only because they like this school. I mostly like that parents have the availability and access to reach all teachers, and to be able to find out about any homework at any time. It really helps you keep in touch with what your kids are doing and learning, and making sure they are up to date with homework. I would recomend this school is someone asked.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

228 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

261 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

260 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

262 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students52%
Female60%
Male45%
Black28%
Asian71%
Asian/Pacific Islander63%
Hispanic25%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander47%
White65%
Low income37%
Not low income69%
Special education26%
Not special education55%
Limited English11%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students66%
Female79%
Male54%
Black55%
Asian87%
Asian/Pacific Islander78%
Hispanic46%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander60%
White73%
Low income56%
Not low income76%
Special education26%
Not special education70%
Limited English21%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students59%
Female63%
Male55%
Black42%
Asian92%
Asian/Pacific Islander67%
Hispanic38%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander38%
White70%
Low income50%
Not low income69%
Special education12%
Not special education64%
Limited English19%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students68%
Female81%
Male57%
Black55%
Asian92%
Asian/Pacific Islander76%
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander57%
White74%
Low income62%
Not low income75%
Special education19%
Not special education74%
Limited English31%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students73%
Female79%
Male68%
Black58%
Asian92%
Asian/Pacific Islander85%
Hispanic67%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander76%
White75%
Low income69%
Not low income79%
Special education28%
Not special education79%
Limited English44%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students48%
Female52%
Male44%
Black28%
Asian81%
Asian/Pacific Islander71%
Hispanic36%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White59%
Low income35%
Not low income62%
Special education9%
Not special education53%
Limited English7%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students70%
Female76%
Male65%
Black63%
Asian88%
Asian/Pacific Islander75%
Hispanic57%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Low income61%
Not low income79%
Special education25%
Not special education76%
Limited English7%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students66%
Female62%
Male69%
Black53%
Asian88%
Asian/Pacific Islander68%
Hispanic52%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income52%
Not low income81%
Special education19%
Not special education72%
Limited English13%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 100% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
63%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
87%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students60%
Female70%
Male52%
Black42%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracial46%
Native Americann/a
White71%
Low income57%
Not low income65%
Special educationn/a
Not special education62%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Students85%
Female82%
Male86%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White84%
Low income84%
Not low income84%
Not special education84%

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 41% 60%
Hispanic 19% 20%
Black 12% 5%
Two or more races 11% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 7%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 5% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 15%N/A8%
Special education 113%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 253%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 18N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 10N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 46%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students ELL/ESL Coordinator
Computer specialist(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Pam Tuggle

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Gymnastics
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1415 SW 314th St
Federal Way, WA 98023
Phone: (253) 945-4800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Internet Academy
Federal Way, WA



Saghalie Middle School
Federal Way, WA


Sacajawea Middle School
Federal Way, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT