Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wildwood Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 18, 2009

I moved to Federal Way in September 2008, and I have no regrets of placing my daughter at Wildwood Elementary. My daughter is currently in Kindergarten, and her teacher(s) is (are) excellent. The office staff are always very helpful and informative, and take the time to know the children's families and various circumstances. Moreover, I am a U.S. Soldier, and chose the public school system over that of the one being offered on post, and have absolutey no regrets.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2006

I have two children at Wildwood this year (2006), one is in fifth and the other in full-time kindergarten. I've spent more time volunteering this year and really like what I've seen from the teachers, staff and volunteers. Wildwood is a diversified school with many different languages spoken. The teachers and staff make the extra effort needed to teach our kids not only the academic lessons but also to appreciate and celebrate our diversity. Since Mrs. O'Sullivan has become our principal I've noticed we don't have the congestion in the parking lot we once had when there was no procedure in place letting parents know how to drop off an pick up their child/children. My oldest son has had the same teacher for the last 3 years and has done extremely well academically, I believe due to the devotion and commitment from the teachers and staff to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2005

My son is is the autism program at Wildwood. We tranfered from the ITP, EEU at the U of W. I was very nervous, because the U of W is the best. I was heart broken at the thought of leaving. I began searching, and ended up here. I read a review from a mother whose family moved from AK because they were so impressed. I met the staff along with my son, they were so wonderful. I cried in our intial meeting and they took it all in stride-they even comforted me. By the time I saw the classroom and other facilities- I was astounded. Needless to say, Wildwood has the even the EEU beat. I can't say enough great things, if you have an autistic child, this school and program is unbeatable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2004

We were going to remove our grandson to a new school this year and decided with a new principal there would be new changes.It really has changed. Ms.O'sullivan has improved morale with teachers and parents. She is always on the go. We doubt she uses her office much. She is out in the parking lots making sure the children are safe.She has teachers helping out with traffic. We think she is awesome. The office staff is wonderful, we also can not forget mr.Springer,he knows every childs name and every childs problems. He always knows what is going on!!!!!! he goes way beyond his job as a counselor. He is one terrific guy. Guy. The school seems like a much happier place. The teacher's our grandson has had are outstanding. Mrs.Eltrich,mrs.Slagle and mrs.Ichinaga. Our grandson has health problems and anger problems and he is never treated different because he causes problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2004

This school is a good school with the usual niches. My child had a great kindergarden teacher who really made my childs experience very positive. I think they focus alittle to much on dicepline which is bothersome and not always age appropriate. This school tries very hard to get the community involved in there activites. It needs to be updated to the times. overall it is a good school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2003

In 1999, a pediatric neurologist diagnosed my two-year old son with Autism. At that time, we lived in Seward, Alaska. We found that the school district there lacked direction with pursuing promising educational practices with the treatment of Autistic Pre-School aged children. After researching various options, we choose the Federal Way School District s program in Federal Way, Washington as our new school for our child. Federal Way School District constructed a specially designed pre-school program with assistance from John Whitehead associated with Project TEEACH and the University of Washington s Autism Center at Wildwood Elementary School, Federal Way, Washington. Children there are making leaps and the distance between their disabilities and their education close. This program is state of the art with a specialist in Applied Behavioral Analysis specialist who also works one on one with the children. For this family, the move of over 2743 miles was well worth the investment.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
44%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
21%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students35%
Female41%
Male28%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander67%
Hispanic18%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Low income31%
Not low income60%
Special education0%
Not special education40%
Limited English19%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students44%
Female49%
Male39%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander67%
Hispanic31%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Low income40%
Not low income70%
Special education0%
Not special education50%
Limited English22%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students34%
Female27%
Male39%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic20%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White55%
Low income29%
Not low income64%
Special educationn/a
Not special education39%
Limited English10%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students40%
Female46%
Male36%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic29%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Low income37%
Not low income55%
Special educationn/a
Not special education44%
Limited English10%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students31%
Female35%
Male30%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic17%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White55%
Low income29%
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education33%
Limited English14%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students37%
Female37%
Male37%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander46%
Hispanic28%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander30%
White75%
Low income29%
Not low income67%
Special educationn/a
Not special education42%
Limited English7%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students43%
Female49%
Male37%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander54%
Hispanic33%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander40%
White75%
Low income36%
Not low income67%
Special educationn/a
Not special education48%
Limited English7%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students30%
Female37%
Male23%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander23%
Hispanic22%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander10%
White67%
Low income22%
Not low income60%
Special educationn/a
Not special education34%
Limited English0%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 46% 20%
White 16% 60%
Two or more races 11% 6%
Black 10% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 10% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 133%N/A8%
Special education 116%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 281%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 14N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 10N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 40%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Michael Swartz

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2405 South 300th St
Federal Way, WA 98003
Phone: (253) 945-4400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Christian Faith School
Federal Way, WA




Support School
Federal Way, WA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT