Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Green Gables Elementary School 5

Posted September 06, 2015
- a community member
The best school I've ever seen in my 15 years in education. Research-based education from emphatically caring teachers and staff.

Green Gables Elementary School 5

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
Great school with a great vision. Student-centered staff, environments, and learning. Multiage and project based. I think this school is heading into the right direction. Always keeping the whole child at the forefront. This is not the place for a traditionalist type parent or staff who wants drill and kill, memorization tasks or sit and get style of learning from the 19th and 20th century. That has been proven to be worst practice and definitely will not set-up students for the future world they will inhabit where the skill set needed is unknown because the world keeps evolving at an unprecedented pace. We need thinkers, problem solvers, and collaborators, not factory workers or robots. If students struggle in middle school it is because the antiquated teaching approaches at secondary need to evolve not the other way around (and I think they are in FWPS). Green Gables is working hard to provide research based best practices for their students. I am so happy my son attends this school.


Green Gables Elementary School 5

Posted June 07, 2013
- a parent
The very definition of a great school. Wonderful staff, fabulous PTA and lots of parent involvement.

Green Gables Elementary School 4

Posted February 05, 2013
- a parent
I have a child currently enrolled in Kindergarten at Green Gables. Beautiful school set back in a quiet neighborhood community. There is a new principal who does an AMAZING job with the children. She is positive, friendly/approachable, passionate about what she does and even calls herself the students "school mom" Teachers and staff seem great so far. My daughter is advanced and her teacher is doing a good job of challenging her with new and more difficult work. The unique thing about Green Gables and you will either love it or hate it is that the classrooms are two grades in one. K-1ST graders, 2nd-3rd graders etc.. I personally value the combined classrooms as the students who are more advanced have the opportunity to do more challenging work while the children who are behind also have the opportunity to catch up. Great involved PTA. I appreciate the WATCH DOG program. (dads come and volunteer for safety patrol duty) My only warning is not with the school but the 5-6 police you will see patrolling for speeders EVERY DAY and in every possible direction to the school. Make sure to slow down to 20 in the school zones. A camera or an officer will ticket you one way or the other.

Green Gables Elementary School 1

Posted November 12, 2011
- a parent
I think the PTA is great, but the parents must stay in tune of what is going on in your students school.


Green Gables Elementary School 5

Posted March 22, 2009
- a parent
This school has it all! Wonderful staff and superb leadership. The teachers are loving and caring and do an outstanding job. Mrs. Holt has done an exceptional job and will leave behind a legacy for all to benefit.

Green Gables Elementary School 5

Posted February 24, 2007
- a parent
I have two kids at Greengables, my oldest is sadly moving on to middle school next year. This is hands-down the best elementary school I've ever seen. At first I was concerned about the mixing of ages and grades in each class, but it has turned out to be a blessing as no child feels left out because of their size or abilities. The teachers are amazing and completely dedicated to their craft and the multi-age concept. If you spend 15 minutes in the class you see that though there is not the 'traditional' every child in a desk thing, each child is absorbed in a learning environment. This school bucks tradition and does so with exquisite results. All schools in the district should model themselves after Greengables.

Green Gables Elementary School 4

Posted May 24, 2006
- a parent
Green Gables is phenominal! My son is a kindergarten student, and I love how developmentally appropriate the staff approaches education. They hold high expectations, but also value each child as an individual, and supports those individual needs. The school is multiage, and has three grades in each class. It is wonderful to see older students support the younger ones in learning routines,showing kids how to tie shoes, and reading to the younger students. It mirrors real life! The music teacher is awesome! All the staff are friendly, inviting, and you just feel welcomed in this school. Although my son is not the age for taking the state WASL test, the scores are some of the highest in the district, which means that even though they do things differently in the classrooms,it is working! My son loves his teacher and school! That's what counts!


Green Gables Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2006
- a parent
I have a child that transferred to Green Gables this year. The PTA is wonderful and the teachers encourage parent involvement. The multi-age and openness in the classrooms take some getting used to, but overall we are very happy with the school.

Green Gables Elementary School 5

Posted April 05, 2006
- a parent
Multiage classrooms lead to great relationships between students, teachers, and parents. Quality differentiated instruction that targets the needs of each student. Amazing teachers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Green Gables Elementary School
32607 47th Ave SW, Federal Way, WA  98023
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (253) 945-2700
Last modified Green Gables Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top