Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Panther Lake Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 412 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 18, 2014

We moved from Montana my daughter started kindergarten here and loved she moved on to 1st grade and loved it she had a little trouble with a student picking o her on the play ground who was older but the school handled super awesome and professional with the kids in mind and I couldn't be happier with this school everyone is great
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2014

When we first moved to Federal Way my Son went to another school. They didn't have room for my daughter when she needed to go to all day Kindergarten. So we found Panther Lake. My son finished his grade school years there, and my daughter has been there since the beginning. We absolutely love this school. All of the staff put the kids education, health and safety first. When you volunteer in your child's class, all of the teachers and staff welcome you and let you know how thankful they are for all of the help you do. The teachers take time to make sure the students are reaching the goals they need to, to move onto the next grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2014

The staff at Panther Lake are reliable, committed and passionate about teaching. The music program is challenging, the Highly Capable teachers are outstanding, and the principal is approachable and always putting the needs of her students first. I have been impressed with my child's education at Panther Lake and would highly recommend it to anyone in the Federal Way School District.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2014

The staff at Panther Lake is amazing, they go above and beyond to help the students and parents. They always greet you with a smile and know you by name, this is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2012

I did not have good experiences with this school. In fact, the only good times I had were in Kindergarten. Everything went downhill after first grade. I went to school here when I was younger, and one of the problems I faced was the fact that children were sometimes left unattended in a classroom for long periods of time. The classroom turned into an all-out warzone at times, and it reflected poorly on my score. One student ripped up one of my assignments and I was blamed for it. When the teacher had us line up, I was elbowed in the mouth at one point, which knocked out a tooth. The same student that knocked out my tooth had also previously elbowed a girl from another class in the eye, and he was never punished in any way. Another issue for me was the school's "reading program". It was a ridiculously long extra class, and many times I missed recess because of it. During the class, me and the other students were given 5-page long books that I was able to read in about a minute (Ex: This is my dog. The dog is big. His name is Red. etc). We were expected to read the same book several times for 30 mins-an hour. I was pulled out of this school after 1st grade. I did not like it at all.


Posted November 17, 2010

Two out of 5 of my kids went to Panther lake, in fact I still have one there currently. Mr Capp the principal there is AMAZING!! The staff there is very attentive and keeps on top of the kids not only academically but socially as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2007

My Son has been in Panther Lake since Kindergarten. Mr. Rosand is a wonderful teacher...too bad he can't have him the remaining years @ PL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2007

This is one School that delivers academically. Pantherlake gets parents involved and the result is very positive. Thanks to Mr. Rosand, Miss. Owens and Grandsprey. Parents I will ask you now to get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2006

our son was in the gate program with mr. rosand and this was an excellent experience. he was in a mixed 3/4/5th grade class, beginning in 3rd grade and will complete 5th grade this year. terrific learning experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2005

I am a mother of two african-american boys. I was pleased to find that the school has a diverse student body. Parent involvement is excellent. The parents take an active part in their child's learning. The PTA Board comes up with creative ways to assist the teachers and make learning fun. The district overall is proactive in identifying and resolving areas of concern as it relates to its students of color. I was most impressed with the District's Superintendent, Tom Murphy, in his pro-active remedy to address the disproportionality found in special education referrals, discipline, and tracking for advance placement studies. He implemented a wonderful program to ensure that ALL children receive quality education. A fatal dissatisfaction has been the implementation of the program into the actual classrooms. Excellent in theory, but lacking in practice. Teachers have not made satisfactory efforts of addressing their personal biases to ensure better education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2005

Panther Lake is a great school! The teachers are so very committed, and the staff really seems to care. It's refreshing to find a good neighborhood school these days-we couldn't be happier here.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
35%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
30%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students63%
Female62%
Male63%
Blackn/a
Asian77%
Asian/Pacific Islander63%
Hispanic44%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Low income61%
Not low income67%
Special educationn/a
Not special education69%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students76%
Female70%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asian83%
Asian/Pacific Islander80%
Hispanic75%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Low income75%
Not low income80%
Special educationn/a
Not special education83%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students64%
Female65%
Male64%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander86%
Hispanic62%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Low income58%
Not low income73%
Special education25%
Not special education72%
Limited English56%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students67%
Female74%
Male62%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander57%
Hispanic57%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income55%
Not low income82%
Special education42%
Not special education72%
Limited English19%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students48%
Female62%
Male36%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander43%
Hispanic38%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White45%
Low income48%
Not low income49%
Special education17%
Not special education54%
Limited English6%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students65%
Female69%
Male61%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Low income61%
Not low income77%
Special educationn/a
Not special education72%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students86%
Female85%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic91%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Low income86%
Not low income86%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students58%
Female56%
Male61%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic55%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White61%
Low income56%
Not low income64%
Special educationn/a
Not special education61%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 30% 60%
Hispanic 24% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 14% 7%
Black 14% 5%
Two or more races 12% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 6% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 120%N/A8%
Special education 111%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 261%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 17N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 11N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 70%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Tom Capp

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

34424 1st Av South
Federal Way, WA 98003
Phone: (253) 945-3600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Internet Academy
Federal Way, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT