Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Purdy Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 545 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 21, 2014

My kids are going here for 2nd grade and we really like the school. It's crowded, but the staff makes a huge effort to make sure the kids all get the education they need and spread out students so the class sizes are big but not un-manageable. I just wish it wasn't quite so crowded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2013

I had my daughter go through this school and I loved it. The best part though, so did she!!! The student/teacher ratio is great, I like the fact that the kids have the same teacher for grades 1/2 and 4/5, I feel it creates a better learning environment, and the teachers are mostly younger and engaging, thank you. I have a son starting this fall and am excited to have another great Purdy Panther experience!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2013

We love Purdy we moved here from one of the top school districts in California and Purdy is a much better school. The staff welcomes the children and parents every morning, the classrooms are very homey, and the staff and parents have made us feel at home. I'm very happy our children get to attend this great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2013

Great school, great teachers, very happy with curriculum, my girls love their teachers and the principal. Our third-grader's performance is outstanding, our fifth-grader is one of the few on top of her class. The principal is greeting kids almost every single morning in front of school, rain or shine, he is really interested in his students and he cares.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2013

This is a unique place. My sons have had a wonderful experience at Purdy. Teachers have tutored them before school, on their own time, for free. Teachers have come to watch my boys football and baseball games. The staff is caring and compassionate. I love this school and so do my sons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2012

I have been so terribly disappointed with this school. It starts when you walk in the door, no one greets you or smiles. This vibe extends into the classrooms and to many other staff members. While there are some staff that are really enthusiastic about getting children excited about learning, good luck if you get one of the "others". It appears that this school is rated 9/10? but I noticed there are no reviews since 2009. I think there is a reason why!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I love the staff, they're all wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2009

Purdy isthe best kept secret in the Peninsula School District. The principal and his staff are friendly and very involved with the school and the students. They are always striving for improvement. The PTA is hard-working and busy supporting the students and teachers. Many times the PTA meetings have just as many teachers as parents and the principal is nearly always there as well. My boys really love their school and it is very much a family atmosphere. There is zero tolerance for bullying and teasing on campus and I really do believe very little of that goes on. Sure, the curriculum could be more challenging, but I believe the school staff aredoing the best job they can do with what the State of Washington gives them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2008

I am proud to have my kids attend Purdy. While many teachers at Purdy are good, there are a few that are, wonderful, dedicated, - -make you want to cry - - good. Every child should have that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2008

I have had my children in the school since the start of the year. While atmosphere and teachers are nice and interactive with the students I am extremely dissapointed in the cirriculum. My children are being taught stuff they learned 1 and 2 years ago. I am honestly considering making the horrid commute to get them back in their old school in Puyallup. Thats a tough decision to make this time in the year, but I strongly feel my children are being cheated in their education. And when I have requested for a higher level of teaching there is nothing anyone can do. I recommend looking into the more accomodating and modern forms of teaching children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

I am a first year parent at Purdy. The Principal and Administrative staff are the greatest. I am very pround to be a 'Panther' mother. My daughter loves attending that she dislikes school breaks. She is excited about learning. As a parent, that says everything. The first time I met the Principal he reassured me that the child comes first. My belief is that the responsibilty of educating my child lies both on the school and the parents sholders. I am very pround to say I am a 'Panther' mother. Thank you to all the staff members for making my first year at Purdy a wonderfull expierence. My daughter loves attending school at Purdy. Thank you a dedicated parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2007

Purdy Elementary teachers put children first and extend every effort to help each child excel to their highest potential. Teachers at Purdy are dedicated and work to ensure every child feels safe, valued and respected. The academic curriculum is best-practice based. Our Art teacher is incredibly multi-faceted in her talents and degree of support. Extracurricular activities are creative and numerous. The level of parent involvement is outstanding! The school-wide Character Development program is qualitative and beneficial to all students. Thank you to the Purdy learning community for all you do.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 24, 2007

I love this school! The teachers are first rate. Many people in town think of Purdy from years ago but a lot has changed. Prinicpal is active and caring. PTA is strong and the campus is fantastic. Tons of events through the year...oh and the Art Teacher is phenomenal! First rate education and I wouldn't have my child anywhere else :-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2007

The PTA is amazing and always ready to help. The teachers at Purdy are lucky to have such great students to teach. The students families are wonderful and very supportive. The staff is great to work with. I'm lucky to teach at Purdy.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 31, 2007

First year at Purdy (06-07 school year). Teacher was very unwelcoming and made for a very difficult transition. She made my child feel like she was a new student and made her feel out of sorts all year long. Other child did great with a warmer teacher who made the transition very smooth. I would love to say it was my childs fault for the difficult transition but hardly, until I spoke with other parents with the same response...how do some of these teachers live with themselves. Anyways, the school itself is fine...the PTA gets a lot of applause from me also, movie night was so much fun. Do not attend this school looking for warm fuzzies because you wont get it...what you will get is smart kids!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2007

Purdy is an excellent school with a staff of dedicated teachers and very supportive parents. The special ed. program there is one of the best in the district. They have diverse extracurricular activities from environmental club to chess club. The building is newly remodeled with a koi pond. The administration is approachable and knowledgeable. Primary teachers, especially are warm. Incredible art program/teacher. Music program is somewhat weak compared to other schools in the district. PTA puts on tons of activities that are well attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2006

Purdy Elementary is a beautiful facility. Newly renovated in 2005-2006 it opened its doors this year new and improved. There is also a new playground built by the parents and community. The principal seems effective and kind. The staff is competent. Some teachers are warmer than others. Plays seem dependent upon the teacher and the Winter program was a bit of a let down-it was a sing along with little individuality. Office staff is nice and courteous. Art teacher is phenomenal. Parent involvement is great with the P.T.A. putting on some of the best parts of the year, including Movie nights, make it and take it Christmas gifts and Halloween Carnival. My daughter missed her old school, my son adapted better. Cancelled Talent Show-we were looking forward to it. Also only one field trip all year. My daughter's teacher was a little cold, my son's much warmer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2005

Level of parent involvement seems outstanding. My daughter is very connected with the staff and curriculum. I'm very impressed with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

the best elementary school in the district. WASL test are not accurate because all 'home school' kids take the test at purdy.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
34%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students88%
Female90%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic70%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Low income73%
Not low income91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students88%
Female93%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic80%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Low income77%
Not low income90%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students77%
Female81%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income77%
Not low income77%
Special education30%
Not special education81%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students88%
Female95%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Low income82%
Not low income89%
Special education70%
Not special education90%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students74%
Female85%
Male59%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income59%
Not low income77%
Special education30%
Not special education77%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students79%
Female80%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic80%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income67%
Not low income83%
Special education40%
Not special education83%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students83%
Female88%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic80%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Low income70%
Not low income87%
Special education60%
Not special education85%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students78%
Female81%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic70%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income53%
Not low income86%
Special education20%
Not special education83%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 60%
Two or more races 8% 6%
Hispanic 6% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 11%N/A8%
Special education 117%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 213%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 18N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 9N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 54%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13815 62nd Ave NW
Gig Harbor, WA 98332
Website: Click here
Phone: (253) 530-4600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


La Escuela de CID
Gig Harbor, WA





Olalla Elementary School
Port Orchard, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT