Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Frontier Middle School

Public | 7-9 | 794 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 10, 2013

I think it is one of the best schools I have ever went to. They have a wide choice of extra curricular activities that you can do. From cooking to robots, yearbook to sports. So many choices. You will not be disappointed! For teacher's are also very good with the students. They do hands on work and always find a way to make it interesting. At lunch you have about five choices so you will always find something you like. You can join band and orchestra if you are in 7th grade after that you can not. If you are just starting an instrument and your in 7th grade then you can also join band and orchestra. Choir is open to anybody of any grade at any time. The school does have good discipline. If it's talking constantly then you processed. All that is, is you fill out a piece of paper and then you come back in class. If you won't stop after two times of that the you get detention. For detention you can get after school, or lunch detention. Over all it is a wonderful school. The teacher will push you till you are working at the best of your ablates. You will not be disappointed if you child(children) go there.


Posted November 2, 2009

The staff at Frontier JH is highly educated and very caring of all students. We try to make the environment inviting yet strive to make our classes rigorous and worth while.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 1, 2009

Well, FJH isnt the greatest school but i do have fun while learning. This school is full of spirit. There is a lot of disrespect from your peers that come along with going to this school though because a lot of the kids there a rude. overall, i would recomend it, but you have to be tough when it comes to the kids that go there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2008

I am currently an 8th grader at this school & the only reasons (litteraly ONLY) you should even try to rough this school out is if your dedicated to band or choir. I'm a choir student and Mrs. Huss is FANTASTIC. I've also met MR. Armstrong (band) and he is very funny but expects alot sometimes. The honors teachers are also very nice (Gapinski & Eliff) and make things fun, but also challenging. The displine program at this school is RIDICULOUS make your day is the most irrational thing ever invented. if you misbehave you go to steps one through three with no consequence but step four requires a conference. People actually try ro get on steps because it really is a joke. The hallways are also VERY rough.there are too many students and not enough staff out there to monitor. SO basically if you are going to enroll, don't.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 6, 2008

I am a student currently attending Fronteir. I'd swear, but that's a little unappropiate. See I am learning so little I can't even spell stuff rite. This school is dreadful. There are some teachers who try to make the school fun, but all their attempts are in vein. 5% of the students that attend this school can say they enjoy it. I believe most of the teachers expectaions are too high. And the 'steps' program doesn't help the disipline probelms. I have friends that TRY to get on steps, because it's a joke. Anyway this school is pretty F-ed up. I Hate It.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 27, 2007

This school has a lack of learning
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2007

The school is poor and has a bad education system
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2007

i think that fronter jr. high is an OK school only because the teachers expect so much sometimes from their students & i think it is wrong. also there are some wonderful teachers too [Diana Mann & Michael Fowler, Mrs.Schrier, they are wonderful]
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 6, 2006

Grest school, grest teachers who care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2006

Love it! Studens learning matched to individual needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2005

I love that they allow the 7th graders go to school one day earlier than the 8th and 9th graders. I wish they would have had that when I was in jr high and trying to navigate the halls, search for classrooms all while deseperately trying to avoid the bigger kids. There are way too many kids! Hallways are dangerous at this point. The principal really seems to want parents and students to feel comfortable in his school. Unfortunately, whenever I have needed assistance in the office, the same cannot be said there. Also, in more than one class my child has been pushed along, receiving very good grades for work even she said was mediocre (and can be proven when looking at the Rubric). There are lots of afterschool clubs for the kids. Jr High is rough for everyone, at least this principal is trying his best to make it easier on everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2005

This school is one of the best junior highs in the Bethel School District. The choir program is excellent; they've won 'Best of the Northwest' three years in a row now. Even the Math teachers make math fun and entertaining, and Bethel's math has greatly gone down in the past years. Frontier would be the ideal choice for your child.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 15, 2005

One of my concerns is that everytime I go Frontier Jr. High I see so many of the students in the main office work like assist. My question is why are these kids not in class learning. Those office workers are paid to work in the office. The kids are there to get an education not to assist in office functions that the office staff is hired to do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2005

My daughter has be going to this school for will be three years at the end of this school year, if we keep her at this school.I have just received info of a tongue piercing sometime during the school day. I understand that the staff cannot watch all of the students all of the time. So with disgust I am writting this note. I can't help wondering what else is going on. The school there is bullying and harrasment. I have had other children attend this school and nothing has changed through the years. I really believe there needs to be more security in the halls maybe cameras. I do not believe this school is by itself in this type of situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Fantastic admin section, teachers who really care and keep in touch with the parents, providing the parents do their part. Safe school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2003

Two of my daughters attended this school. They suffered harrassment and physical abuse from fellow students so severe that it lead to a restraining order againist one of the students. My honor student had food thrown at her,her books knocked from her hands,and was spit on. This happened on a daily basis. The principal ,assistant principal and the staff continually ignored my concerns and in the end my girls left public school for home school. As for classroom control,it is in the hands of the students at this school. The one time I volunteered to teach a craft, the kids spent the period dancing to the boom box,throwing papers and sticking each other with the sewing needles I had supplied. All the while the 'teacher' sat idle,never saying a word. The one good thing I can say about this school is that they do have an awesome choir and band program. Both of those teachers are outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2003

I thought it was a great school,i liked the sports they had good coaches.overall the school was great the teachers were nice and the people there are great and some of my friends still go there.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

268 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

269 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
51%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

266 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

267 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

267 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students66%
Female73%
Male60%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic51%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Low income53%
Not low income73%
Special education4%
Not special education72%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students67%
Female77%
Male58%
Black50%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic57%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Low income54%
Not low income73%
Special education4%
Not special education73%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students68%
Female83%
Male55%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Low income57%
Not low income74%
Special education17%
Not special education73%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students53%
Female58%
Male49%
Black55%
Asian60%
Asian/Pacific Islander59%
Hispanic43%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White56%
Low income42%
Not low income61%
Special education4%
Not special education59%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students62%
Female65%
Male59%
Black64%
Asian80%
Asian/Pacific Islander71%
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Low income43%
Not low income74%
Special education7%
Not special education68%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students57%
Female59%
Male56%
Black46%
Asian73%
Asian/Pacific Islander65%
Hispanic46%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White61%
Low income46%
Not low income65%
Special education11%
Not special education63%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 100% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
93%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
90%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 54% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
55%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 53% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 96% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students89%
Female89%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White91%
Low income92%
Not low income88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Students95%
Female86%
Male100%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White95%
Low incomen/a
Not low income94%
Not special education95%

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 60%
Hispanic 9% 20%
Black 5% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 2%
Two or more races 2% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 10%N/A8%
Special education 114%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 234%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 19N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 7N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 67%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Tom Mitchell

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

22110 108th Ave East
Graham, WA 98338
Website: Click here
Phone: (253) 683-8300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT