Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Graham Kapowsin High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 31, 2016
- a community member
The teachers are great and are doing well. The Administrators are horrible. The front desk staff are rude.

Graham Kapowsin High School 1

Posted January 31, 2016
- a community member
My daughter is a sophomore at Graham Kapowsin High School. She started the school last year at the beginning of her freshman year. If your child is Hispanic or Black, this is a horrible school to attend. 95% of the staff are white and they target minorities, especially the administrators. They are a country school and have not done well with adjusting to minorities. The white students call the minority student racial slurs and administration does nothing to correct the behavior. I have filed a race discrimination complaint with the district and will transfer to another school in the district with more minorities.


Graham Kapowsin High School 4

Posted July 05, 2013
- a parent
This has been a wonderful tool for my child both educationally and socially. I only had one problem towards the end of this school year with an unprofessional teacher, but the issue was resolved. I was busy with day to day work but, I still made myself known and was physically present when needed for functions and for my son. I absolutely love the ROTC program here. Sgt. Sydney was awesome. We communicated almost weekly about what my son was and was not doing. He kept him on task there and I kept him on task at home. I almost hate to have to move just for this reason. I want my son challenged and with ROTC he was happy and challenged.

Graham Kapowsin High School 1

Posted June 18, 2013
- a parent
Awful, awful school. I am so happy my child will not be going there anymore. DONE. Lazy and rude office staff. Unprofessional teachers and disrespectful principals. I would recommend home schooling than ever sending another child to that school.

Graham Kapowsin High School 2

Posted March 01, 2013
- a parent
I agree with the parent below that the principal only looks out for the staff and not the students. There was a problem with a teacher and just trying to get in touch with a principal is almost impossible. They also refuse to switch my child out of that class, even though I do not feel comfortable with my child being in her class. She is not professional at all and has no business teaching children. We have only been here for a year and already have had problems with two teachers that say something that is offensive.


Graham Kapowsin High School 2

Posted January 23, 2013
- a parent
Poor principal whose sole outlook is staff first student second. Such a shame. There are some great teachers, but a bad apple that has made our experience less than desirable. The counselors are wonderful, but they are limited by the principal. Who favors some staff. If you are looking for student first, this may not be the place for your child. Our first child tried this school also, but we found it to be the same so she changed schools where she flourished.

Graham Kapowsin High School 5

Posted December 16, 2012
- a parent
We were fortunate to have all our 3 children attend GK and continue on to higher education, their AP, Honor's and Band classes were commended by our children s. My son enjoyed his band trips as they were both enjoyable and dynamic. The school provided a way for them to prep and be challenged for their upcoming higher education and at the same time enjoy their time as a High School student as one should. One has graduated from University and his two other siblings are within 1 and 2 years behind him and they all say that GK was instrumental in there educations.

Graham Kapowsin High School 3

Posted April 14, 2011
- a community member
Students and Parents. Do any colleges know you exist? Are you contacting the college of your choice on a regular basis (starting grade 9)? Can your Grandmother read your twitter and Facebook? You attend a good school but if you are doing things that show poorly on you in Facebook and twitterit it does YOU and the school no good. Yes Colleges read your facebook. Please remove anything that is not in good taste by adult (grandmothers) standards. Remember Getting a quality education is not a spectator sport!


Graham Kapowsin High School
no rating

Posted October 06, 2009
- a parent
It's college bound and I like it because it's challenging and sets you apart from other schools and as students we become better, more respectful people as we transcend through the school years.

Graham Kapowsin High School
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
GKHS has a great student body. In my experiences chaperoning and on campus, these kids are great! They are motivated and college bound. The staff has been excellent to work with and they really try to keep the parents informed. They support their sports and fine arts programs. This school is an asset to our community.

Nearby schools

Graham Kapowsin High School
22100 108th Ave East, Graham, WA  98338
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (253) 683-6100
Last modified Graham Kapowsin High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top