Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Nelson Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 672 students

WA State School of Distinction

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 28, 2013

Two of my grand children attend Nelson. Great school above all others. Love the Teachers/Principal :-)


Posted October 18, 2013

Nelson Elementary is by far the best elementary school my children have attended. From the office staff that great you upon arrival to the playground staff that keep our children safe the students are always first on their minds. As a parent volunteer it is nice to see the Principal traveling the hallways and visiting the classroom interacting with students rather than behind closed doors in his office. The teachers are by far the best we have seen through our military travels. We would recommend Nelson to any family looking to move to the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

For the most part, this school is excellent. My son's behavior since switching to this school from his last one has improved exponentially. I am usually able to communicate very easily with his teachers if a problem arises. I definitely do NOT like, however, that my some only gets 18 minutes of recess total a day. How is any kid supposed to get energy out and be able to focus in only 18 minutes? I realize they want to get as much learning in as possible, but it's not going to happen with an overworked, underplayed brain and body. I'm sure they could spare some time somewhere for a 2nd recess of at least 10-15 minutes. The only other complaint I have is that the principal can oftentimes come across as quite rude. The rest of the people I have met are awesome, including the PTA and parent volunteers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

Nelson Elementary is a WORLD CLASS School. NO DOUBT ABOUT IT! The staff at Nelson are remarkable from the principal to the support staff. They are all very approachable and have our children's best interest in mind at all times. From day 1 at orientation to the last day of school each year, they live up to their words (and then some)! I am a PROUD NELSON PARENT to two amazing students! I couldn't wish for a better school for my kids to attend. I'm thankful for Mr. Boynton, Nelson Staff and Nelson PTA. YOU GUYS ROCK!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

I am so proud to be a part of the PTA board here. I've never seen not only the PTA activity but the parent involvement with us! Our PTA steps up to raise money and the parents step up along side us to help volunteer to get that mission accomplished! As for the principle, he is so active with his students, staff and school. I love to see him walking around, conversing with students and staff with a huge smile on his face. He is so very passionate about his school and you can feel that. It is a very warm feeling knowing that he cares about our kids so much. He is very good at keeping parents informed on everything going on at school, a huge plus in my book. I am proud to have my son be a part of this school and look forward to when my second gets to join the Nelson family next year for Kindergarten. I was raised in a private school and was determined to have my kids follow suit. When I had no choice but to put them in public, I was nervous. I loved the family atmosphere that my private school offered. I am thrilled to see that Nelson offers that too! I feel very blessed to be a part of this wonderful family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

I have been very pleased with this school. This past year was my son's first year attending Nelson. At our prior residence out of state, he attended two different schools. Every school he's attended has had the children eat with their classes to keep accountability of the students. This has also been our best experience with any of the schools. I love the fact that the students have the same teacher for two years. We've had a few problems with my son adjusting to a new school and home, the teacher informed quickly that he wasn't following the rules. I was able to work with the teacher and my son to resolve the problems. We also had problems with a couple of kids bullying my son on the bus and Mr. Boynton, the principal, was swift in taking care of the problem along with the bus driver. The PTA is absolutely amazing and does so much for the school and students. I have enjoyed volunteering with the PTA and in the classroom this past year. The PTA will not hound you for help but they do put the opportunities out there for volunteering.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2013

Though the school claims they want parent involvement, this is simply not the case. I have not been welcome not volunteer this year at all, even after being told otherwise. My son also has adhd and anxiety and is regressing with his handwriting to the point that it is illegible even to him. I have been met with resistance in getting him any of the help he needs. No simple accommodations (such as moving his desk next to the teacher) are made in the classroom and he has been punished with no recess when I didn't sign and return a paper immediately the next day. My son is also given homework assignments which take 2-3 hours to complete each night with constant help - which is ridicules for a first grader! The classroom environment is actually making his medical conditions worse & he now hates school. I have also been ignored by both his teacher and other staff, and my questions and notes are never answered. The secretaries have even ignored me for up to 30min before they even acknowledge that I'm standing at the front desk. The kindergarten teachers were absolutely amazing, however I have begun to see what I've been hearing from other parents about the rest of the teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2012

This is a wonderful school and I will be sad to pull my kids out next year when we move out of state. We are on our 4th year here and every teacher my kids have had has been terrific. Every one here from the principal to the teachers is very involved in everything that goes on. The PTA is also great and provides lot of extra things to keep the kids and families involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2012

As a parent of one child with special needs and one without, I am very pleased with the individualized attention each one is receiving. I have been impressed with each teacher we have come in contact with and how they have made the curriculum reach all students without resorting to a scattered method. Any (rare) problems with the front office or administration of the school have been easily addressed. Every member of the staff has worked hard to keep this school the best available in the area. This year the PTA is working hard to involve more dads and I believe this will lead to a smoother lunch and recess time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2011

I was very hopeful that this was a great school when I first learned of it. The teacher my son has is absolutely awesome. She cares and works with him and us. The principle is great. He is understanding and I think is doing a great job. Not being from this state I definitely can tell that Washington has a low priority on education but this school is wonderful and I am very proud that my child is able to go here. I know he is learning here and is excited about learning. The only problem I have had is with the receptionists but it seemingly has been worked out. I don't know that you could get a better public school in the area... I can tell that the principle and teachers are very involved and care. My son comes home and tells me of the different fun things the principle puts on for the kids like puppet shows in spare time. The whole lunch thing the one parent commented about, not knocking it but there has to be order somewhere so things can keep under control so I completely understand the school on that because where there isn't structure there is chaos and if there was chaos parents would be having a fit and complaining about zero structure. Way to Go NELSON and its leaders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2011

Nelson Elementary is a great school. Teachers work together to see that all children are taught in their learning style. PTA and parent involvement rocks at Nelson. Kids having to eat lunch with their class and not their best buddies is a downside.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2011

This school's leaders do not care about the children, only the staff. they treat all the children as if they have behaior problems. Dr Love in the most rediculous exuse for a leader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2011

The receptionist is not doing heir job complete , is almost like she is just sitting there. she can't even check with the district that the phone numbers are updated!! great teachers and everyone who works with the kids .
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
26%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students78%
Female76%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Low income65%
Not low income86%
Special educationn/a
Not special education83%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students85%
Female85%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low income78%
Not low income90%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students83%
Female82%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low income80%
Not low income86%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students88%
Female94%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Low income82%
Not low income93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students81%
Female92%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Low income68%
Not low income91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education83%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students64%
Female66%
Male62%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Low income50%
Not low income71%
Special educationn/a
Not special education68%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students88%
Female93%
Male84%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic100%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Low income83%
Not low income91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students71%
Female68%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic70%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Low income57%
Not low income79%
Special educationn/a
Not special education73%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 60%
Hispanic 10% 20%
Black 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Two or more races 2% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 10%N/A8%
Special education 114%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 235%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 17N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 7N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 62%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Korean
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • WA State School of Distinction (2013)
  • WA State School of Distinction (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Korean
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:30 am
School end time
  • 3:35 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Kelley Boynton
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • None
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Sports thru Bethel Rec
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Sports thru Bethel Rec

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Kiwanis Kids
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Preschool
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Frontier Middle School
Graham/Kapowsin High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

22109 108th Ave East
Graham, WA 98375
Website: Click here
Phone: (253) 683-6400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT