Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Beaver Lake Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 296 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 5, 2014

This is a great school with great teachers. My 3rd child is now attending this school. Both my older children were well prepared and successful in High School. My son was also on a 504 plan and I found both the teachers and counselors excellent to work with. They are a big part of why he is now successful in High School. All 3 of my kids love this school. I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2013

This school is pretty good. The curriculum is challenging. The lunch is really good, and the elective classes are fun. There have been some cases of bullying, except people are mean everywhere... I think that most of the teachers are good, only a few teachers don't really teach. This is a good school.


Posted November 22, 2012

this school rocks. Im a 6th grader that goes to this school. the lunch is good, and most of the staff/students are nice. if you live in 411 with a 6th-8th grader, please send them to this school. I like anyone unless their mean to me.


Posted October 19, 2011

I have had two children go through Beaver Lake. Principal leadership is extremely weak, a lot of lip service given to things but no follow-through. Several extremely poor teachers, a few very, very good. Impersonal and I seriously doubt the principal ever knew who my children were. Overcrowded. A disappointment. The school is merely just OK.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2011

I had several of my kids go to this school and I recommend that you send your kids somewhere else. This school has a serious problem with bullies and the school doesn't resolve the problem. At this school safety of a student is not their 1st priority, they only care about their own personal image. These people are so fake in so many ways, that it scares me. The office Secretary is awesome, but My friends child has a disability and this school made it real hard for them. kids with disabilities won't do well here and I hope they make some serious changes. I have to admit that this school has several after school clubs and activities that a great for students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2011

Warning to all parents enroll your child somewhere else. This school is bad! I have close relationships with a lot of parents that had their child rolled in Beaver Lake before, and they wish they could have send their kids to a different school. My child attended this school until I pulled her out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

As the mother of a student with ADD, a learning disability and on a 504 plan I encountered many obstacles communicating effectively with the Beaver Lake Middle School staff and administrators. I was very persistent with my communication with the counselors and psychologists which typically ended at crossroads. Upon requesting implementation of approved accommodations I was frequently advised that "we don't have the space or the resources available to accommodate your son." Meetings with administrators and teachers to discuss my son's progress continually were slanted in the direction of his failures rather than his successes. If I were to do MS all over again in this area, I would look further in to Pine Lake Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2011

The Lunchroom staff are the best in the District. My child had special dietary needs and the Lunchroom staff worked with her all year to give her a great fulfilling variety of lunch choices. Teachers and mangaement her are awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2010

Great school. Very safe environment. Staff and teachers are accessible and friendly. Several after school clubs and activities are present. Good music (band/ochestra) program. Other electives are limited. Academic rigor is fine, but they can kick it up a notch because many students are sharp and could use additional opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

My high schooler loved her experience at Beaver Lake and my current middle schooler echoes her opinion. The principal does a fantastic job of communicating with parents and I couldn't say enough great things about the staff. The teachers are passionate about their subjects and keep the students engaged and well prepared for high school. I just wish my high schooler could say the same things about Skyline and PCFC, but we feel very fortunate to have our Beaver Lake experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2009

i love beaver lake middle school. it has made me want to never leave (because im a seventh grader). the only thing i would change is the home work amounts.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2009

I go to Beaver Lake and they support individuality. It is definatley one of the best!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 26, 2009

Beaver Lake Middle School is an excellent, first rate school. It has an excellent principal. The office staff are fantastic and BLMS has excellent counselers. Although Beaver Lake is overcrowded, that is not the school's fault; this occured as a result of people moving to Issaquah. Anyway, they are turning Pacific Cascade Freshman Campus into a middle school, which should solve that problem. My daughter absolutely loves this school, and my younger son (fourth grade) completely looks forward to attending BLMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2007

This school has great academics and is very challenging without the plateau over-competitiveness. It is very over-crowded with a solution years off--they will covert the Pacific Cascade 9th grade campas in a few years to a middle school. Mostly, caring and compassionate teachers with the exception of a sub-par, cranky, disappointing teacher who should have retired years ago. Facilities are nice and well-maintained. The office staff are great! Some parents feel that the principal seems very interested in test scores above all else. Electives, especially foreign language, are lacking. Also, there are simply not enough honors/humanities plus classes for those who meet requirements. There are not enough team sports offered and the spring Track team seems especially limited on how many students may compete. No football, soccer, etc. Overall, this is an excellent school, but every school has it's problems. I would still recommend it to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

Beaver Lake is overcrowded. It is very overwhelming for 6th graders. Overall the principal does his best with such a large group. The secretaries are great and there is a postive attitude about being there. The extracurricular suffers from too many students and not enough coaches or time to allow them all to participate fully or even be taught.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2005

Very nice school, I graduated from beaver lake middle school without incident.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 7, 2005

This school was not good. Poor teachers, not a lot of electives, and the overall school was just not good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2005

I hate it. It is a bad school, poorly run, and they had very poor music and arts.Very little parent involvement, and I do not like the way the school is run.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2003

This is the best. The staff is great. Everything is totally safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2003

This school is wonderful My son absolutely loves it. Would not change a thing.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

278 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

289 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

288 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

288 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

277 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students83%
Female86%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asian94%
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanic65%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Low income61%
Not low income85%
Special education33%
Not special education88%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students94%
Female96%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian97%
Asian/Pacific Islander97%
Hispanic80%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Low income89%
Not low income94%
Special education63%
Not special education97%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students90%
Female90%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian99%
Asian/Pacific Islander99%
Hispanic81%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Low income47%
Not low income93%
Special education50%
Not special education93%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students93%
Female95%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian97%
Asian/Pacific Islander97%
Hispanic82%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Low income88%
Not low income93%
Special education63%
Not special education95%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students96%
Female96%
Male96%
Blackn/a
Asian96%
Asian/Pacific Islander96%
Hispanic100%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Low income82%
Not low income97%
Special education69%
Not special education97%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students75%
Female74%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asian86%
Asian/Pacific Islander85%
Hispanic53%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Low income44%
Not low income78%
Special education13%
Not special education83%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female88%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asian90%
Asian/Pacific Islander89%
Hispanic68%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Low income52%
Not low income87%
Special education19%
Not special education92%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students85%
Female87%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asian93%
Asian/Pacific Islander91%
Hispanic63%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Low income58%
Not low income87%
Special education27%
Not special education92%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 100% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

181 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
79%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students75%
Female73%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asian86%
Asian/Pacific Islander86%
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White78%
Low income65%
Not low income76%
Special educationn/a
Not special education76%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Students99%
Female100%
Male97%
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White96%
Low incomen/a
Not low income99%
Not special education99%

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 24% 7%
Hispanic 6% 20%
Two or more races 5% 6%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 10%N/A8%
Special education 16%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 22N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 12N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 80%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

25025 SE 32nd St
Issaquah, WA 98029
Phone: (425) 837-4150

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Arbor Schools
Sammamish, WA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT