Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Clark Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 379 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 26, 2014

I am from a family of teachers and administrators. When we move to the area to enroll my daughter it took some time waiting in the office to fill out paperwork. During those few minutes I was lucky to get to see the principal of Clark in action. He was dealing with an issue respectfully with the teachers as well as with the students. I believe schools are great from the top-down, and this one has a great principal. My daughters teacher is young for a teacher. She is clearly trained and managed well. She is a good teacher learning to be a great teacher. When I am waiting in the pickup line, I can often see a fourth or fifth grade teachers class let out at the front of the school it looks like all of the children want to say good-bye to him. The man looks tired, but I noticed that he still takes the time to greet all of the parents individually. Even after the children have gotten in their cars they are eager to say goodbye again to this teacher. We also moved here from a prestigious private school overseas, but my daughter is much more excited about learning at Clark. I recommend Clark highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2013

My son is in Clark Elementary First Grade. He loves the school and the way of teaching. It has been pleasure to be in that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2013

We were rezoned to Clark and I can not say enough good things about this school. The principal is outstanding. Very hands-on and involved in all classroom and student activities. The teachers are super friendly and professional. Very impressed with this school and the staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

My son started K this year and we are very pleased for now. They have small size classes, very enthusiastic teachers and a professional and active principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

Clark Elementary school is like home for my son. One suggestion I have is to change the Maths syllabus :) . It would be good to include more activities in maths. I have refered Clark for many of my friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2012

Clark Elementary has surpassed all my expectations. My son moved to Clark from a prestigious private academy and I feel the education in the Clark Science Tech program is superior to the private program he was previously in. His teachers are enthusiastic and talented educators--I appreciate their communication regarding my son's progress. They keep me well informed on his accomplishments and opportunities along with educational tips I can use at home to supplement his learning. The administrative staff is warm and helpful and the Principal is a caring and inspiring woman. The deserve a standing applause in my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2010

We love the small class sizes, and the fact that the school is small enough that the staff greets all the kids by their name.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2010

racism and discrimination. The parents want help but some people there don't want any one supervising waht is happening inside with details. The behaivor with not american parents is very discriminating in Clark Elementary, specially administrative staff. I think they like show their against and power with some parents and they want make feel inferior. Some workers are amazing but not all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2010

I love this school and my daughter is in K. the reading program in the full day K is great. She now reads 5th grd level and most of the kids are up there with her. Parents are great as well and give their best to all the kids. The PTA always make sure everybody is taken care of
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Math curriculum is from the district and school board - so complain to them - the school can't do anything about it - and as for not getting a bracelet for your child - the solution is easy -JOIN THE PTA! PTA funds a lot of educational programs in your school, and by not being a member your child is benefitting with no cost to you. So kuddos to the PTA for showing pride in their members, and giving them rewards for caring about their school and joining. You don't have to attend meetings to be an active member!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2009

The teachers are great. But the math program stinks and I do not like my daughter being used in an experimental math program. The parents I do know are all having to teach basic math at home so their children do not fall behind. And starting in 4th grade a select 1/3 of the students are allowed into a special science intensive class. This should be offered to any student who wants, which is most of them. Science is fun. And I would love to attend PTA meetings but they occur Tuesday mornings which is unfair to parents who have to work. And I also disagree with their reward/punishment system for participating. They often make the kids feel bad by shoving in their faces that one student gets the reward and they do not. There is a lot of parental involvement and the PTA offers many great after school programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2009

My child attended Clark from grades K-2. The 1st and 2nd grade teachers were excellent, but overall, I felt the school district treats parents poorly. School is a half day on Wednesday, with limited options for activities that afternoon; the PTA meets Tuesday mornings and uses abusive techniques for fundraising - my daughter was refused a glowing bracelet at an event, because, as she was told, 'those are only for students whose parents join.' I told the offending PTA rep that I wouldn't join an organization if the meetings weren't held at a reasonable time and was told that there were 'general' meetings three times a year. School supply lists are distributed at the last minute. Transportation schedules change randomly without notice. I'm looking forward to having my child in a district where parents are considered part of the equation, rather than a nuisance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2009

I am very happy with the progress made my daughter in the 1st grade of this school in the year 2008-2009. I would like to make a special mention of her teacher who is so nice and helpful to all the kids. My daughter learnt a lot under her able guidance and care. In my opinion Clark Elementary school is the best school that I have ever come across. The environment in the school is very pleasant and students do a lot of activties other than their studies. Each student is given special attention in the class due to the presence of the teacher and the volunteers and senior 'buddies' in the class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

We have been at this school for less than a year now. Everyone has been very friendly and helpful. It is a small school which definitely has its advantages. There is strong parental involvement, volunteers make things happen here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2006

My son has been in the school for the past 3 years now.We were very skeptical about the school when we compared its results with the other school,but have been pleasantly surprised by our child's progress in the school. The teachers have lot of experience and that shows as they know each child's personality. The school being one of the smallest one in the district has its own merits. It feels like a community when almost all the people know your child's name in the school. It tells a lot about the principal too when she is able to remember all her students by their name and is there in all the functions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2006

I am new to this school. So far I am pleased with the parent involvement at Clark Elementary. I am also pleased with the social concsiousness that is introduced to the students at this school. My biggest concern is the emphasis placed on testing and how much time is taken out of the learning time to test these children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2005

My daughter attended Clark for kindergarten and first grade. I am totally impressed with the dedication and heart of the staff. Her teachers were easy to contact and very helpful. She really excelled in her studies and loved going to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2005

The principal is amazing and the school is great. They empower the students in every way teaching them not only academically but socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students85%
Female95%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Low income60%
Not low income93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students88%
Female95%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Low income70%
Not low income93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students68%
Female74%
Male59%
Blackn/a
Asian83%
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Low incomen/a
Not low income76%
Special education23%
Not special education79%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students77%
Female90%
Male59%
Blackn/a
Asian92%
Asian/Pacific Islander92%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Low incomen/a
Not low income86%
Special education39%
Not special education87%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students69%
Female87%
Male44%
Blackn/a
Asian92%
Asian/Pacific Islander92%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Low incomen/a
Not low income76%
Special education23%
Not special education81%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students85%
Female90%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asian82%
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Low incomen/a
Not low income93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female93%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asian91%
Asian/Pacific Islander91%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Low incomen/a
Not low income92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students88%
Female93%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asian91%
Asian/Pacific Islander91%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Low incomen/a
Not low income96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 63%
Asian 14% 7%
Hispanic 12% 18%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Two or more races 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 117%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 29%N/A8%
Special education 212%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 16N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 11N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 77%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MAY PELTO

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

500 2nd Ave SE
Issaquah, WA 98027
Phone: (425) 837-6300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Joseph School
Issaquah, WA





Dartmoor School
Issaquah, WA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT