Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Southgate Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
My oldest is an accelerated learner, he had the opportunity to join the KOG program but as a family and along with his teachers we decided to keep him at Southgate. His teachers have always done an AMAZING job to see that he is challenged. My middle child struggles with her schooling and her teachers have always made sure she gets the extra help she needs

Southgate Elementary School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
Couldn't be happier with my kids attending Southgate! My oldest went there from kindergarten to 5th and is now in middle school, my middle child currently is in the 3rd grade and has been there since kindergarten as well, my youngest is not school age yet but she will surely be a Dragon!!


Southgate Elementary School 5

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
Southgate Elementary takes education very seriously. Each classroom is engaged and every child thrives in the environment at this school!! Great P.T.G. (Parent Teacher Group) and I cannot say enough about this place! The compassion and understanding of every child's individuality and the positive attitudes of the staff is above standards. The Principal and the Teachers always have smiles on their faces. They are doing what they love, and it shows in my child!

Southgate Elementary School 2

Posted May 09, 2012
- a parent
My daughter and son attended this school 3 years ago and it was amazing. They got a new principle and it's not quite as good. One teacher my daughter had in 2nd and 3rd grade is still there and my now 2nd grader has her as well. I wasn't impressed with her then and am really not impressed now. I'm thinking of removing my child from this school any ideas?

Southgate Elementary School 5

Posted July 18, 2008
- a parent
The educators are amazing and take time to know and properly place each child.


Southgate Elementary School 4

Posted March 11, 2006
- a parent
My son is in kindergarten at Southgate Elementary and I have been very happy with the support and caring given by the staff and Parents. Though the kindergarten curriculum leaves a little to be desired considering we came from a Montessori school. The Teacher seems overwhelmed and appears to need more support to run the different centers in the classroom. Ultimately it is a wonderful school as far as public schools go.

Southgate Elementary School 5

Posted March 07, 2006
- a parent
My daughter has attended this school for 2 years now & we are very happy with the teachers she has had & the activities that the school offers. I do wish that they had a full time art teacher though. The music department is wonderful.

Southgate Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2005
- a parent
We have had 2 children in southgate from K to 5th, and we could not be happier. They have a personal way of knowing each child and have made such a difference in their lives. We moved here from Orange County CA, for the improvement in the school system, and we couldn't have been more pleased. The children here are far beyond other children in their skills. The PTA has many great activities, their teachers are all excellent and work together well. Thanks for a great elementry school! Mr Fulfs is wonderful and knows each child by name.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Southgate Elementary School
3121 West 19th Ave, Kennewick, WA  99337
(509) 222-6489
Last modified Southgate Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Southgate Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top