Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Kennewick, WA
Students enrolled: 1,441
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Southridge High School 4

Posted June 25, 2013
- a parent
The principal at this school is fantastic and very responsive. My daughter is enjoying her teachers and is in the honors program here as well as track. I have not regretted sending my daughter here at all! I think that Southridge is an all-around great school and they truly care about the kids. I do wish the drama and music programs were even better, and that the parents were more involved, but I believe that lack of parental involvement is becoming an epidemic all over the U.S.

Southridge High School
no rating

Posted March 12, 2010
- a parent
Great school. My daughter got a great education and after going here got a scholarship to one of the top 20 schools in the country. Her scholarship is worth 173,200 ....


Southridge High School 5

Posted March 03, 2009
- a student
This used to be a good school. But then the administration changed. Mr. LeCompte was the best thing that ever happened to this school, and now he's gone. On a side note, the Tech program is the best in the area. The only other problem is that this school seems to pride itself on sports and nothing else.

Southridge High School 5

Posted October 24, 2008
- a parent
I have never seen anything even close to these comments. The teachers and principal are the best around! They actually care about the kids and their academics. You have to want the grades to get them. I have had three children go through Southrige and would not change a thing!!!! Great school, great teachers.

Southridge High School 4

Posted January 15, 2006
- a parent
Wonderful school with great academics overall but principal is out of touch with students, he is too concerned with school's image. Athletes get a pass in regards to discipline; music and art departments are great. Physical education department is headed by incompetence. Lots of sports opportunities with great coaching. Booster club is wonderful with tremendous parent involvement and worthwhile programs. Math department needs an overhaul with a few truly excellent educators.Stay quite clear of the various academies as they do not count toward college credit and may hurt your child's chance of college accepance. I would recommend this school but in my opinion southridge is in need of a new principal and athletic director.


Southridge High School 1

Posted July 03, 2005
- a parent
An oppresive atmosphere fostered by an administrative staff over its depth. More attention to unimportant details than to substance. If possible, move your child to Kamiakin.

Southridge High School 2

Posted June 06, 2005
- a student
I definitely regret not going to Kennewick high or Hanford. I can't really compare southridge to other schools because I've never attended another high school, but I do believe that the environment and attitudes here are not conducive to learning. It is a fairly new school, and it has not had enough time to develop its academic programs. The only good class I ever had was AP Government, taught by Mr. Teals, who is also an excellent debate coach. I would not recommend Southridge if you or your child is serious about academics.

Southridge High School 3

Posted June 01, 2005
- a parent
Good qualities about this school- safe, new and modern, good athletic department, very few drugs, gangs and fights. Bad qualities - does not prepare kids for anything other than a community college, academics don't necessarily come first, leadership program is in existance, but should not be - since it is very poorly run. Great school for your average student, but if you have a child who is interested in attending a prestigious university or perhaps one of our national academies, this is not the place. There is no guidance as how to study for SATs,ACTs, or any other tests.


Southridge High School 5

Posted November 24, 2004
- a teacher
Southridge High School is not a very good school on providing students with a strong academic education in preparation for college.

Southridge High School 5

Posted October 09, 2004
- a student
Southridge is an amazing high school! It has a wide variety and level of classes offered. The administrators, yes including the athletic director, are nice to any student that shows interest and talks to them. Many of the administrators can not know every kid in the school but when a student reacts with them, they show it back. Most of the counselors at Southridge are very helpful to the students, there is only one I can count out of this. As far as athletics go at Southridge, there is a large student involvement at for example, basketball, football, volleyball and soccer. However, there is a lack of student involvement at swimmeets, cross-country and track meets and even baseball. Overall, Southridge is a wonderful school. I would recommend it to any parent or student.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Southridge High School
3320 South Union St, Kennewick, WA  99338
(509) 222-7200
Last modified Southridge High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Southridge High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top