Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Emerald Park Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 80 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

We are in Kindergarden this year and I am so happy we are in EP. There are so many ways parents can get involved and every staff member I have meet has been wonderful. My daughters teacher Mrs. Watson has been wonderful at communicating with me and helped me put some concerns I had about my daughter to ease. I appreciate everything she has done for my child. Even the playground teacher has been wonderful on communicating with me about some concerns and has been very supportive emotionally for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

Our school has some of the best teachers I have ever seen. They are so committed to their kids that many of them attend extra curricular activities that their students participate in like watching a soccer game, attending a birthday party, or attending a play or concert.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2014

My son is in his second year here now and we love all of the teachers and staff. I haven't found any that are unapproachable or that don't seem to like children. I do agree that the lunches could/should be better and longer, but guess what, that isn't up to the school - it's the district and the state! Get involved if you want it to be different. In the meantime, pack lunches. The staff are always trying to bring new programs to the school and to help the families help their kids succeed. My only other issue with the school is the after-school pickup, but that's because of the parents who sit in the parking lot starting 45 minutes before school gets out and who block other cars in. My advice is to walk. I sincerely do love this school and my kids are thriving there. The principal is always open to discussions/new ideas and takes the time to get to know the students. There are quite a few nationalities at this school and the staff does its best to reach out to all of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2014

This is my children's second year at this school and I am not impressed. I have found the teachers to be indifferent and unapproachable. I have tried to speak with my daughters teacher on several occasions and have been brushed off repeatedly. I agree with the poster below about the food issue. My kids come home all the time and immediately go for the fridge because they say they are "starving". When I asked them if they had lunch at school, they always say 'they ran out and I just had an apple." (or something comparable) They do need to fix the menu. Nachos or cheese sticks are NOT a lunch. There also seems to be a rough bunch of kids at this school and I have been alarmed at the things my children have seen and witnessed. I guess that is not necessarily the schools fault and has more to do with the area we live in. I think there are a few good teachers in this school, but the majority of them leave me questioning why they even got involved in teaching at all. They seem to despise kids, have little patience and take no pride in their job. They behave like the children are a burden to them and they don't want to be there. If you hate kids, please rethink your career choice...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

This school is a joke. On several occasions my children have come home hungry because they ran out of food in the lunchroom. My daughter was given salad and a plum for lunch when they ran out of food early. Do they not know how many students they need to feed daily?? Make more!! The students shouldn't have to go without a balanced meal because lunchroom staff is lazy and incompetent. The food they do serve is processed junk. (For example, my children were served nachos for lunch yesterday). They have no lunch trays so the children have to try to carry their entire meal by hand without spilling or dropping it. They are rushed through lunch with almost no time to eat. My daughter told me she waited in line to get food for almost the entire lunch period and by the time she got her food, she only had a few minutes to eat. Kids are yanked from one classroom and moved into a different classroom because of overcrowding. The teachers are rude, apathetic, and impersonal as is most of the staff there. I cannot believe the things I have heard and even witnessed myself. My kids will not return next year. Wish I would have listened to my neighbors and enrolled my kids in a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2013

My daughter went to Emerald Park for 7 years, kindergarten through 6th grade. Every teacher, every staff member has been above and beyond what we expected. They are very encouraging to the students, fair, and have an excellent educational program with some fun off site field trip learning opportunties to keep the kids interested and excited to learn. My daughter was well prepared for middle school. Thank you Emerald Park!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

I think this school and it's staff are all amazing. They do their best to help struggling students. My son had a horrible test score in his last math test and his teacher let him retake the test, with new questions of course. Now that is a dedicated teacher to give her struggling student a chance to prove that he can do the math. This school is #1 when it comes to academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

I love the organization from the top on through out the entire school! I makes it a peaceful place to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

I have 3 children that are going to Emerald Park and they like the school a lot. 1 will be completing her 6th grade there with Honor Roll. I am very happy that we have moved from Highline School District and into Kent School District. They have a lot wonderful teachers and stuffs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2008

My daughter loves this school a lot. She has many friends and is happy with them. Emerald Park has lots of great activities and my daughter loves them. She is very happy with the school. Her education is nice, and her teachers are great. This is one of thee best schools she's been into out of all the other schools she's attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

This elementary school shines. The school strives to involve parents and offers many wonderful extracuricular activities for students to get involved in. My daughter's teachers have been excellent overall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

I am very happy with the quality of education my child receives. Teachers seem to be happy with their work and accomodating to parents needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2005

Emerald Park is an exemplary school with a great staff and above average facilities. My son attend the school from its inception and had a great experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2004

My youngest child attended Emerald Park Elementary for 5 years; each year the school faculty got better and better. The programs are always loads of fun, very original and creative, and well worth any time invested. The faculty and staff are wonderfully caring, totally involved with our kids, and extremely communicative to us parents. Mr. Ficken and Ms. Balcom are the best principals I have ever known; they participate in school spirit days to the fullest measure, and are beloved by everyone. Thanks, Emerald Park!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2003

Emerald Park is a great school! The staff tries incredibly hard to educate students the best they can! Mr. Ficken is very involved with students, teachers and parents always wanting to improve. Plus, the school is in perfect condition. It is one of very little schools [that] have super clean facilities.


Posted April 24, 2003

Absolutely the best. Awesome! Dean Ficken is a gem. My son spent 3 years there and I never had a concern, a worry, a fear. The teachers and staff are bright, dedicated and fabulous. Buy a house in the school's boundaries. It is worth it.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
29%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students73%
Female74%
Male72%
Black50%
Asian94%
Asian/Pacific Islander94%
Hispanic42%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low income59%
Not low income92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education77%
Limited English61%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female89%
Male72%
Black67%
Asian94%
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanic67%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Low income77%
Not low income89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education82%
Limited English67%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students65%
Female75%
Male54%
Black36%
Asian75%
Asian/Pacific Islander77%
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Low income61%
Not low income70%
Special educationn/a
Not special education70%
Limited English33%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students72%
Female81%
Male63%
Black36%
Asian70%
Asian/Pacific Islander68%
Hispanic73%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Low income59%
Not low income93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education75%
Limited English28%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students66%
Female78%
Male53%
Black36%
Asian68%
Asian/Pacific Islander67%
Hispanic67%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Low income57%
Not low income81%
Special educationn/a
Not special education72%
Limited English24%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students70%
Female80%
Male59%
Black39%
Asian88%
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanic40%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Low income56%
Not low income84%
Special educationn/a
Not special education76%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students77%
Female80%
Male73%
Black61%
Asian88%
Asian/Pacific Islander85%
Hispanic40%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Low income64%
Not low income89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education82%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students68%
Female68%
Male68%
Black44%
Asian59%
Asian/Pacific Islander55%
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Low income49%
Not low income87%
Special educationn/a
Not special education71%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students68%
Female70%
Male66%
Black47%
Asian76%
Asian/Pacific Islander74%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Low income54%
Not low income81%
Special educationn/a
Not special education75%
Limited English27%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female87%
Male72%
Black67%
Asian80%
Asian/Pacific Islander81%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Low income70%
Not low income91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education87%
Limited English46%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 29% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 25% 7%
Black 18% 5%
Hispanic 17% 20%
Two or more races 7% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 121%N/A8%
Special education 112%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 256%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 17N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 12N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 74%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dean Ficken

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11800 SE 216th St
Kent, WA 98031
Phone: (253) 373-3850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT