Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Totem Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 197 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 3, 2014

Totem is has great staff.they also do fun stuff like spirit assemblys and spirit weeks.each grade also has their own song.totem is a great school all around


Posted November 5, 2009

The staff and students are very spirited! Everyone works together efficiently which makes for a wonderful learing experience. I am proud to be a Totem Thunderbird !!


Posted November 5, 2009

The teachers and principal genuinely care about the students and are friendly and helpful.


Posted November 5, 2009

Totem Middle School is a very diverse school with fantastic staff and administration. I am proud to work here!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 5, 2009

My daughter goes here! Ive seen her grwo and learn more things. since shes stepped into this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

I think that totem middle school is a great school because the teachers are great and know how to explain things to you right
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 5, 2009

I love Totem because even though we aren't the richest school in the District we still make the best of everything. We try our best at stuff and never seem to give up even though we never win anything. We really need the money so it would be very amazing if we won.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Totem staff and students care about each other. They have created a learning community where communication is key.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Totem Middle School provides a safe learning opportunity for all individuals in 6-8 grades. Last year we were picked to become an AVID (Advancement Via Individual Determination) demonstration school. This is a great honor for all the teachers and students. We are all proud to be a part of this wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Totem has a wonderful staff and is a great place to be. The students are working hard and show great school spirit!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

The school climate is saturated with learning. Everyone from students to staff are geared for one thing - Learning. The Districts motto of 'Every Child a Reader' is exemplified here at Totem.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 4, 2009

This school is a family! students feel cared and safe. Our principal has created a schedule so all students have the opportunity to experience different electives and we have close to 3/4's of the school in our music programs! Students are succeeding in their academics, treating each other with respect, parents are supportive and teachers work very hard to ensure a great learning community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Totem is a diverse, energetic, accepting learning environment committed to it's students. The staff care for the students and trys to provide to the best of their ability opportunities that otherwise our kids would never get based on their situation and socio-economic status. I am proud to work in a school that is really trying to make a difference in our community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Totem is a uniform school where lots of learning is taking place. There is an excellent ASB program where students help with food drives, announcements, and other school functions. There's an active after school art club whose art murals are amazing. Students are recognized monthly with a student of the month program that serves the selected students a special lunch and gives them recognition. A math club and a math Eistein club, and a homework club are some of the after school clubs offered to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

Totem has the hardest working staff and the kindest students! The entire community has pulled together to make Totem the place to be. Go Thunderbirds!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 9, 2009

ok i go to totem so i know what i'm talking about. overall i don't think the school is very good. there are a lot of kids that goof off. so kids like me who always do the work are put behind. the teachers are ok but they don't really make sure you understand what your learning they just do it. some teachers have no control over there classroom while others have way to much. inthe end they fail. well thats what i think. my parents have no problem but thats because they don't really care
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 10, 2008

The teachers and administration spend most of their time focused on petty disciplinary issues rather than motivating the kids. The band program is good, though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2008

Well it lives up to the standards of fwps district-- My daughter is a very smart girl who needs to be challenged and inspired not subjected to riducule, shame , and violence. This school just makes ends meet- my child improves their wasl scores and they destroy her spirit. How sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2005

My son attended Tomtem with mixed results. Great Science and English. The principle and VP have been approachable and strive to help the students learn in a good atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2004

Totem Middle is a great school in transition. Totem became a Middle School this year and have made many changes. Transition for the students went smoothly and my child felt supported, safe and ready for the change. Totem supports all students regardless of their ecomonical or cultural background. The staff at Totem is excellent. Parents need to be involved, stay involved and respect the hardwork and dedication that is put forth. Many things have been changed to make room for the necessities such as reading, writing, math. Some of the changes are not popular. Parents need to remember what Totems goals are and support the needs that are important.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students24%
Female30%
Male18%
Black10%
Asian48%
Asian/Pacific Islander40%
Hispanic23%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White24%
Low income20%
Not low income38%
Special education3%
Not special education28%
Limited English7%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students44%
Female54%
Male34%
Black20%
Asian72%
Asian/Pacific Islander72%
Hispanic41%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White44%
Low income40%
Not low income62%
Special education3%
Not special education53%
Limited English15%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students53%
Female55%
Male52%
Black36%
Asian76%
Asian/Pacific Islander71%
Hispanic39%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander60%
White80%
Low income43%
Not low income75%
Special education14%
Not special education59%
Limited English8%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students55%
Female62%
Male48%
Black52%
Asian71%
Asian/Pacific Islander74%
Hispanic37%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander80%
White73%
Low income52%
Not low income61%
Special education9%
Not special education61%
Limited English8%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students62%
Female76%
Male48%
Black64%
Asian62%
Asian/Pacific Islander65%
Hispanic53%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander70%
White78%
Low income60%
Not low income64%
Special education9%
Not special education69%
Limited English8%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students31%
Female34%
Male28%
Black6%
Asian63%
Asian/Pacific Islander45%
Hispanic28%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White40%
Low income32%
Not low income30%
Special education8%
Not special education35%
Limited English5%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students42%
Female53%
Male30%
Black41%
Asian63%
Asian/Pacific Islander50%
Hispanic33%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Low income38%
Not low income52%
Special education12%
Not special education47%
Limited English0%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students28%
Female36%
Male19%
Black12%
Asian50%
Asian/Pacific Islander45%
Hispanic20%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White42%
Low income24%
Not low income38%
Special education0%
Not special education33%
Limited English5%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 100% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
50%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students38%
Female51%
Male24%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander46%
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White39%
Low income42%
Not low income32%
Special educationn/a
Not special education39%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Students91%
Female100%
Male83%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low income87%
Not low incomen/a
Not special education95%

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 35% 20%
White 27% 60%
Black 14% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 7%
Two or more races 8% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 5% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 110%N/A8%
Special education 112%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 272%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 15N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 9N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 55%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

26630 40th Ave South
Kent, WA 98031
Phone: (253) 945-5100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Pacific Middle School
Des Moines, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT