Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pine Tree Elementary School 3

Posted February 21, 2014
- a teacher
Pine Tree is going through a lot of changes. The new principal, Diane Ellis is moving the school in the right direction. Postive things are happening.

Pine Tree Elementary School 4

Posted March 24, 2011
- a teacher
This is a pretty decent school with a good staff (mostly) and a hard-working principal who puts in extra hours. I really like the vast majority of students, but like most schools, there are a handful that everyone would be better off without. Discipline is moderate compared to other Kent Elementary schools. A walk down the hallway will let you know which classes are run efficiently, and which are wild and out of control. By my modest and VERY approximate estimate, 3/4 classes are run well. This school also has a gifted program for grades 3-6. As a guest teacher I've had nothing but good experiences here, although I've seen others struggle. PE and music teachers are both exceptional.


Pine Tree Elementary School 3

Posted October 31, 2010
- a parent
The teachers are great, the administration is less than desirable. There are good parent volunteers, but it is always the same small group of parents volunteering, creating alot of work when doing an event.

Pine Tree Elementary School 4

Posted April 14, 2010
- a parent
We love Pine Tree. The principal, LaWonda Smith, is amazing! She is incredibly involved, truly cares about the children, knows at least half of them by name... she's wonderful! The teachers are good, and extracurricular activities are at least average for elementary school and include; 5th-6th grade play, band, orchestra, choir, track team, and science fair. it is a Title I school; however it is also very racially diverse and many of the children are ESL, which has a detrimental effect on their standardized test scores. Overall, we love Pine Tree, its administration, teachers and staff!

Pine Tree Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
Pine Tree is still an old-fashioned school. We have recess, music, PE, and teachers who love the kids! It is an older school, however, and can use any extra help it gets.


Pine Tree Elementary School 5

Posted November 19, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Pine Tree Elementary School 5

Posted October 17, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Pine Tree Elementary School 4

Posted January 12, 2006
- a parent
Parents are very involved.


Pine Tree Elementary School 3

Posted October 25, 2005
- a parent
The academic programs here are great, considering they don't get much funding. There really aren't many extracurricular activities and parent involvement is low to average. the school has a hard time each year filling the Board positions.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pine Tree Elementary School
27825 118th SE, Kent, WA  98030
(253) 373-7687
Last modified Pine Tree Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pine Tree Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top