Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Meadow Ridge Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 67 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 18, 2011

This school was good up untill our son's 6th grade year, and that was a nightmear, along with some other boys in our sons class. The principle that was there did nothing, she looked the other way. There are many other parents that feel the same way. There are some good teachers at this school, just don't get the wrong one like our son did, even though we sent in a request timely asking that he not have this teacher. This teacher wrecked his 6th grade year, along with some other boys. The principle did not do her job, she has since left and there is a new principle. It's sad what happened to our son and a couple other boys in his classroom on purpose. Talk to your kids every night, if they are not eating their lunches, or not wanting to go to school, or they are getting sick allot, might be more going on than you know, like in our sons case. You can't talk to your children enough, we never, knew the horrible things that our son and a couple other boys had to go through at this school in their 6th grade year, the year that the most looked foward to!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2011

My child just started kindergarten this year and I admit that I was so worried about what kind of teacher she would have. Turns out we couldnt have been luckier. The teacher she got is INCREDIBLE. My little girl is SO very excited to go to school every single day. She has learned so very much and in such a liitle amount of time. I am forever thankful to my daughters teacher and the entire staff, vice principal and principal for making this first year of school such a wonderful and educational experience and for making this year so fulfilling!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2010

It is a special school that meets the needs of everyone attending with the different learning styles and languages...


Posted September 20, 2010

The staff at Meadow Ridge cares deeply for the education of our children. They work very hard to ensure that every student has the most positive experience that they can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2007

Our kids have been in three elementary schools now. In their first school, they exceeded the 'norm' and were very excited to go to school everyday. We moved to the Meadow Ridge area and our kids hated every minute. They reported that there was little teaching going on due to all the discipline problems, the rather constant playground fights, bullying and gang type activity. We moved away to a different school district and once again our kids are engaged, excited and doing well. I doubt there is much the Principal can do to resolve this School's problems, we tried while we were there, got involved, witnessed the playground issues, saw how few kids had any respect for each other or the teachers. Principals cannot resolve these issues, it is the parent's responsibility. Worth moving away, but we miss Mr. Duckett (Teacher)!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2007

I have to agree with all the parents that are opposed to Meadow Ridge. My child came from a different school district where she was excelling in some studies. Math is not her strong point and and that is the only thing that I agree with her teacher on. Meadow Ridge and it's teacher's offer no outside help like other districts. My child is depressed everyday she comes home b/c she doesn't feel that she is learning anything and the teacher's time is spent with ESL students and kids with behavioral problems. Children with no issues are the ones 'Left behind'. If your child doesn't have an IEP or 504 you are left out on your own to find other means to educate you child properly. We need to uneducate some of our kids to re-educate them from the ways they have been thought by uneducated teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2006

My son has been a student at Meadow Ridge Elementary for 6 years. From the first day I walked into Meadow Ridge, I have felt that the teachers sincerely care about the students. It is unfortunate to hear the negative comments from some parents regarding Meadow Ridge. In my opinion, if you and your child have not had a good experience at this school, then perhaps you have not been actively involved. Angela Burks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2006

We enrolled two boys into this school for approximately 5 years before moving. One boy started kindergarden and left at the end of 4th grade, the other started in first and left at end of 5th grade. I would not recommend this school, try to get your children into Pinetree instead. The poor performance was a major reason for our move out of this school district. Although we are impressed by the Principal, many of the teachers are ineffective as they do not have the ability or resources to deal with the student body. The student body and their parents are a major problem with this school as the kids are very undisciplined and out of control. Most of the kids are way behind in their social skills, their ability to pay attention for more than thirty seconds and their ability to deal with conflict.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2006

Excellent Preschool program. Ms Bielified is amazing. Program is excellent for all children!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2005

Meadow Ridge is a great school. I am sorry to hear that some people don't think highly of it. I think that the school is making progress toward helping the students reach there goals.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 25, 2004

Zero accountability from administration. Lack of parent/student support from district and principal. My children are 'bored'. Meadow ridge lacks the resources necessary for academic growth if a student is achieving at or above grade level. Behavioral issues make for chaotic classroom environments for those that do need extra help. We are forced to waste time while the district decides our fate. This school needs serious restructuring in order to succeed. 'No child left behind' is not a part of the meadow ridge philosophy. My kids are 'left behind' every day as they daydream the school hours away. Will they learn to become proficient students? No! Uniform policy is not being followed by the school's administrators. A new color was added, so I hear. Not in writing, but hey, I guess red has unofficially been added to our uniform colors. Cari Creasia
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2004

I do not appreciate this school at all. We moved here from out of state and had issues with my 4th grader due to the move and his grandmother dying and he was labeled a bad student rather then given the time and space to adjust to the circumstances.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
30%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
38%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
6%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students44%
Female49%
Male40%
Black14%
Asian45%
Asian/Pacific Islander42%
Hispanic41%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income42%
Not low income50%
Special educationn/a
Not special education48%
Limited English29%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students44%
Female60%
Male31%
Black36%
Asian36%
Asian/Pacific Islander38%
Hispanic35%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income37%
Not low income67%
Special educationn/a
Not special education48%
Limited English24%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students61%
Female61%
Male61%
Black46%
Asian65%
Asian/Pacific Islander62%
Hispanic43%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Low income54%
Not low income92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education65%
Limited English46%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students54%
Female58%
Male50%
Black36%
Asian65%
Asian/Pacific Islander67%
Hispanic36%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Low income47%
Not low income83%
Special educationn/a
Not special education57%
Limited English46%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students52%
Female61%
Male45%
Black27%
Asian50%
Asian/Pacific Islander48%
Hispanic36%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Low income46%
Not low income83%
Special educationn/a
Not special education55%
Limited English25%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students52%
Female56%
Male47%
Black50%
Asian58%
Asian/Pacific Islander60%
Hispanic54%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White56%
Low income49%
Not low income62%
Special educationn/a
Not special education57%
Limited English47%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students63%
Female74%
Male53%
Black58%
Asian63%
Asian/Pacific Islander60%
Hispanic69%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Low income62%
Not low income69%
Special educationn/a
Not special education70%
Limited English42%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students49%
Female50%
Male47%
Black25%
Asian58%
Asian/Pacific Islander60%
Hispanic54%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Low income47%
Not low income54%
Special educationn/a
Not special education53%
Limited English37%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students46%
Female47%
Male45%
Black33%
Asian63%
Asian/Pacific Islander65%
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White43%
Low income42%
Not low income70%
Special education0%
Not special education55%
Limited English6%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students50%
Female50%
Male50%
Black33%
Asian63%
Asian/Pacific Islander65%
Hispanic43%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Low income47%
Not low income70%
Special education0%
Not special education60%
Limited English0%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 31% 60%
Hispanic 21% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 19% 7%
Black 19% 5%
Two or more races 6% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 136%N/A8%
Special education 123%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 270%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 16N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 8N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 65%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Bonnie Wong

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

27710 108th Ave SE
Kent, WA 98030
Phone: (253) 373-7870

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Thomas Academy
Auburn, WA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT