Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Martin Sortun Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 600 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 5, 2013

The principal, teachers and staff at this school are amazing. My sons are both on the Autism Spectrum, but are very high functioning, so it can be sometimes hard to meet them where they are at when they are ahead in some areas and behind in others. The teachers work SO hard for the kids and everyone at the school truly cares about the students. I am not a huge fan of the special ed teacher, but thankfully my kids are mainstreamed. Last year, my son got to join the Robotics team and go to an actual competition, and go to 5th grade camp for 3 days! It is an amazing school. We have considered moving, but are only considering houses in this school's boundaries. The thing is that very few open up because the demand for this school is so high!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

great school! Great teachers that help push you out of your comfort zone to succeed and meet your goals! Extra circular groups that also help keep you on your toes and focused! They also reward you for completing goals!! That will help mold you for middle school so that you're succeeding!!!


Posted April 23, 2013

My son goes to this school and he loves it. The teachers and administrative staff are highly capable and good at getting results. Before putting too much weight behind the previous 2 reviews take a second to review how their test scores compare to other schools in the Kent district. Then look at how they stack up against other schools in the state. The proof is in the pudding. Schools aren't solely responsible for churning out smart and compassionate kids. Parents/families have to take an active role in their students education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

My so has been at Martin Sortun for 1 1/2 years, he is excelling fantastically! The teachers really take time to work with students and help them in whatever way they can. The break into small reading skill groups to work with children with similar abilities. My 1st grader surpassed his reading goal for the year by the half way mark! More than 3/4 of the students in his grade received awards for completing all 3 of their goals set at the beginning of the yer at an awards assembly in February. My Kroll, the principal, really makes learning fun for all the kids and the teachers that work there. And the biggest plus is that my son loves going to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2012

Homeschooling is greatly being considered now and should have been considered at greater depth before.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2011

I am in the same boat at the previous poster. They tell me all the time though that my daughter reads above grade level, but the teacher grades her at just performing? Also, everytime I ask why they don't do things like other schools do that are way more successful and could help the kids out all the teacher ever responds with is "I don't have time to do that!" Excuse me, but you decided to be a teacher, NOT ME! You don't want to go the extra mile to make these children successful? The priorities of the teachers at Martin Sortun are mixed up and they do not have the childrens best interest in mind. I don't know what is wrong with the morale in the Kent School District, but I know for sure I am getting my child out of that district before she no longer cares about learning like most of her classmates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

hello every one out there, my grandaughter goes to this school and has been there for 5yrs and the teachers are saying she still is not up to her level, well what is wrong with this picture, looks like the teachers are not on there job and do not know how do do there job, and the person over the school is not correction the prob, i am looking for a better school for my granddaughter because the mind is a terrible thing to waste


Posted November 2, 2010

Both of my children have attended Martin Sortun from Kindergarten on. The teachers take great interest in each child and help to develop and challenge them based on their personal progress. My son is now in 8th grade in honors classes. My daughter is in 5th grade in Martin Sortun and attends a 5th/6th split class to challenge her. We have stayed in our neighborhood specifically so our children could attend this elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2010

My 2 sons are enrolled in this school and are both special needs. I couldn't ask for a more attentive staff. The atmosphere of the school as a whole is upbeat and the family activities are incredible. I'm glad we're lucky enough to be at Martin Sortun!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

I'm a parent of another elementary school in Kent and I'm just curious how this school go the high rating out of all the other Kent Schools and how do they get there parents involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

My daughter went there K-6. Great PTA, just wish there can be more parents involved in the school. The Principal is a great and he truly cares about the best interest of the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2003

My children have spent 5 years at this school. The educational standards. Super PTA involvement. It is a fun place to learn with very enthusiastic teachers. Highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
20%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students92%
Female89%
Male96%
Black70%
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic88%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Low income87%
Not low income100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited English96%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female84%
Male89%
Black80%
Asian88%
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanic81%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Low income86%
Not low income89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education88%
Limited English82%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students92%
Female95%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asian96%
Asian/Pacific Islander92%
Hispanic100%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Low income84%
Not low income100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited English85%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students93%
Female100%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asian96%
Asian/Pacific Islander96%
Hispanic86%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Low income89%
Not low income97%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English69%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students73%
Female90%
Male57%
Blackn/a
Asian70%
Asian/Pacific Islander71%
Hispanic64%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income60%
Not low income87%
Special educationn/a
Not special education75%
Limited English31%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students77%
Female83%
Male71%
Black62%
Asian89%
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanic64%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Low income72%
Not low income84%
Special educationn/a
Not special education84%
Limited English77%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female86%
Male72%
Black92%
Asian79%
Asian/Pacific Islander77%
Hispanic73%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Low income70%
Not low income90%
Special educationn/a
Not special education83%
Limited English59%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students66%
Female74%
Male57%
Black62%
Asian64%
Asian/Pacific Islander60%
Hispanic46%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Low income48%
Not low income87%
Special educationn/a
Not special education72%
Limited English41%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students82%
Female84%
Male80%
Black79%
Asian89%
Asian/Pacific Islander86%
Hispanic69%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Low income78%
Not low income88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education92%
Limited English60%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students93%
Female95%
Male91%
Black100%
Asian89%
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanic88%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Low income92%
Not low income94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English90%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 32% 7%
White 29% 60%
Hispanic 16% 20%
Black 13% 5%
Two or more races 10% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 126%N/A8%
Special education 110%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 250%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 17N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 9N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 82%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Gregory Kroll

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12711 SE 248th St
Kent, WA 98030
Phone: (253) 373-7314

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT