Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Martin Sortun Elementary School 5

Posted January 29, 2016
- a parent
Since my daughter has started at Martin Sortun she grown leaps and bounds! The teachers she has had have been so amazing and I'm so happy she is able to be there! Now we also have a daughter in Kindergarten and it's so wonderful to know she is learning so much! My oldest daughter came from a school with LOTS of bullying she didn't even want to go to school but we have not had any issues since moving to Martin Sortun!

Martin Sortun Elementary School 2

Posted December 17, 2015
- a parent
My son's 1st. year, They claim No tolerance for bullying, he's being bullied and when he speaks up he's labeled a" snitch". There's LACK OF CONTROL! it's so ridiculous having breakfast at 9:15 am and lunch is at 11:20. There are so many low income kids whose parent's don't care about their child's hygiene and clean clothes (It looks like a 3rd world country). I'm worried about getting lice and bed bugs! Won't finish the year!!


Martin Sortun Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted December 17, 2015
- a parent
I can only comment on one 1, this is the first year here she's a good teacher

Martin Sortun Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted December 17, 2015
- a parent
Aren't any of these school officials/ teachers telling these parents to wash their clothes, comb their hair and brush teeth.

Martin Sortun Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted December 17, 2015
- a parent
I'm unsure how the problem is going to be handled. I will change afterwards. Good day


Martin Sortun Elementary School 4

Posted September 05, 2013
- a parent
The principal, teachers and staff at this school are amazing. My sons are both on the Autism Spectrum, but are very high functioning, so it can be sometimes hard to meet them where they are at when they are ahead in some areas and behind in others. The teachers work SO hard for the kids and everyone at the school truly cares about the students. I am not a huge fan of the special ed teacher, but thankfully my kids are mainstreamed. Last year, my son got to join the Robotics team and go to an actual competition, and go to 5th grade camp for 3 days! It is an amazing school. We have considered moving, but are only considering houses in this school's boundaries. The thing is that very few open up because the demand for this school is so high!

Martin Sortun Elementary School 5

Posted August 21, 2013
- a community member
great school! Great teachers that help push you out of your comfort zone to succeed and meet your goals! Extra circular groups that also help keep you on your toes and focused! They also reward you for completing goals!! That will help mold you for middle school so that you're succeeding!!!

Martin Sortun Elementary School 5

Posted April 23, 2013
- a parent
My son goes to this school and he loves it. The teachers and administrative staff are highly capable and good at getting results. Before putting too much weight behind the previous 2 reviews take a second to review how their test scores compare to other schools in the Kent district. Then look at how they stack up against other schools in the state. The proof is in the pudding. Schools aren't solely responsible for churning out smart and compassionate kids. Parents/families have to take an active role in their students education.


Martin Sortun Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2013
- a parent
My so has been at Martin Sortun for 1 1/2 years, he is excelling fantastically! The teachers really take time to work with students and help them in whatever way they can. The break into small reading skill groups to work with children with similar abilities. My 1st grader surpassed his reading goal for the year by the half way mark! More than 3/4 of the students in his grade received awards for completing all 3 of their goals set at the beginning of the yer at an awards assembly in February. My Kroll, the principal, really makes learning fun for all the kids and the teachers that work there. And the biggest plus is that my son loves going to school every day.

Martin Sortun Elementary School 2

Posted May 02, 2012
- a parent
Homeschooling is greatly being considered now and should have been considered at greater depth before.

Nearby schools

Martin Sortun Elementary School
12711 SE 248th St, Kent, WA  98030
(253) 373-7314
Last modified Martin Sortun Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top